We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Restaurant in Three Countries (or more)”
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Reserve with
de Bocarme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 796 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Better than any restaurant where we have ever dined even in Paris, and yes, we always try to dine well wherever we go--on at least five previous vacations to Switzerland, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, and four other countries, even including Liechtenstein (and that does not include at least three other working trips I made as a network TV journalist). de Bocarme is that good. It's hidden a few steps away from the city center and then down the stairs to what was once a 14th century cellar with the bricks holding up the ceiling still visible. This was a magical evening. A wonderful (and original) amuse bouche. Warm, soft goat cheese--melting in one's mouth. An entrée of baby scallops (truly tiny) from the nearby North Sea, Crème brulee at the end of the evening. A good Loire wine. Perfect service, professional and friendly at the same time. Easily better than any of the three fine restaurants in which we dined in Paris this trip. Noses out my best meal in Amsterdam at that excellent brasserie. Worth a trip to Europe just to dine at de Bocarme. I would give this review 10 stars if I could.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking some time to write this wonderful review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to meet again on your next visit to Europe.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Great meal, lovely food and great wine. Dennis our host was a wealth of knowledge. I would recommend he set menu as it’s well worth the price you pay.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Simon,
Thank you very much for this very nice review, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Kind regards from
Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Delightfully quiet when we visited. Excellent food and good value fixed price menu. Great service from the very welcoming and friendly host. Looking forward to returning when we are next in Bruges.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AWA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear AWA,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your evening with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to Bruges.

Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Lovely food and excellent service. One major draw back is the special 3 course menu is per table and not per person so didn't get to sample more of the food

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank paulahY6171TQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Paulah,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is our policy to serve our suggestion menu only by table.

Kind regards
Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

A very fine restaurant. Friendly service and the food is excellent. Our starter was the best goats cheese we’ve ever had. The monks fish main was also first class. And all in an amazing setting: a vaulted 12th century cellar

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bn3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear BN,

Thank you for taking some time to write this wonderful review, we are pleased to read that you both enjoyed your evening with us and that the food was to your liking.

Kind regards from
Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing