We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a very pleasant stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
141 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 141 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
richard g
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“a very pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved the picturesque and quiet location, within easy walking (and cycling) distance of the centre. The night-time view from the top bedroom of the floodlit windmill and church is beautiful.
The accommodation is very well appointed, clean and comfortable (2 sofas means one each for watching some excellent DVDs at night). There is a valuable option of a garage for parking a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being part of a charming city
Liked least: the top flight of stairs- rather steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danesy
Guildford, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely little house just a few minutes walk from the centre of Bruges.

We were very impressed with the photos we saw and the reviews we read on tripadvisor. Once I spoke to the owner Richard on the phone I knew that it would be a great place to stay.

We would have liked to stay for 2 nights but as we booked last minute we could only stay for one night but we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Bruges and recommend it to family and friends.

The place was very clean and welcoming. Richard had already provided us with a lot of info via tripadvisor including all the info about the house.

We took advantage of the parking garage round the corner which was great. Next time I will drive in and leave the car in for the duration. Bikes and walking are what Bruges is about.

On arrival we had a cup of tea and let our 18 month old daughter, who had been out all day, chill in front of Shrek 2, one of the many DVDs kindly left there for visitors to enjoy.

The whole house was very nice but the downstairs was especially lovely, with a very nice open plan kitchen/lounge/dining area.

The stairs were fine to manouvre with our 18 month old daughter but I am sure if I had tucked into a few more belgian beers then they might have been a bit tricky.

I loved it here and only wished that we had booked for a few more nights and didnt have to leave. I think next time we might visit as a couple or with friends as Bruges is a very pretty, medieval city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teens74
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Bruges”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at the Red House during May when my husband and I travelled with my mum and her partner. It was our first trip abroad and I booked the house based on the reviews on trip advisor. As soon as we gained access we could see how lovely the house was - perfect size for our party, with all the amenities we could need. The garage parking was ideal - just around the corner and meant we didn't have to worry about the car once. The house was really comfortable, and the location was fantastic. About 10 - 15 mins to the central Burg and Markt. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Bruges - why would you need to? And we definitely gope to come back - I have already recommended to anyone who will listen. Thanks so much Richard for helping make such a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and garage parking
Liked least: open staircase which meant sound travelled to top bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tourist info & DVDs
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CR176
Buxton UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As excellent as always.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at The Red House. As always it was spotlessly clean, well equipped and communications with the owner were as easy as ever. This is the first time we made use of the garage which is just around the corner and very secure. The house is within easy walking distance of everything the city has to offer but is in a quiet area that also allows you to sample life off the tourist route. We also always enjoy a walk to Damme along the canal, which is also a lovely cycle route. Bruges is a beautiful, friendly city whatever time of year you visit and The Red House is the perfect home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
959John
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A relaxing stay in Brugge.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Red house is a comfortable and well located place to stay with just a ten minute walk into the centre of Brugge. We booked the garage as well and on arrival dropped of the luggage and parked the car in the garage protected by electronic gates, where it stayed until the day we left. Previous tenants have mentioned about the lack of internet access being a let down but if you go out of the house turn left and left again about 150 metres down the road is a local bar with free internet access. The plus side to this is you get to try different beers while you are sending e-mails etc. The house itself is very well equipped and if you did not want to eat out ,everything is there to cook for yourself. There are reasonable places to eat if you look round, though the Market Square tends to be more expensive. Although we did not get to use the bikes(we chose to walk as we had really good weather) they look in good condition and will save on the cost of hiring them. The owner Richard was really helpful from the very first e-mail and he has a lot of information in the house on sightseeing in Brugge. I have already reccomended the house to friends and I am sure we will be back there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kajoseph
Regensburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location....”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at the red house for one night and it was perfect. Everything in Bruges was within walking distance. The house itself is well equipped, bright, and comfortable. Only downside was that there was no internet inside the house. Otherwise, everything you would need on a holiday is available. The guide books were particularly useful. Plenty of books and DVDs too. If you have a car, make sure to reserve their garage! We are so glad we did! And don't forget to get directions to the garage, or if you forget (like we did), just look at the details in their information handbook. I have to mention that the information handbook was extremely useful. And do store the entry code to the house on your mobile phone/s!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing