We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

An elegant hotel with an outstanding canal-side location. The historic town centre was only ten to fifteen minutes walk away, mostly alongside picturesque canals. The owners and staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. An excellent continental breakfast was served in an elegant dining room. Getting there by car was easy and parking was available at a very reasonable price in lock-up garages just two minutes walk away.

All in all, just about the nicest hotel I have stayed in, and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarehamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    357
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
341
1,305
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Don't walk passed this hotel. Step inside and you need look no further. You will receive excellent personal service and be treated to a delicious breakfast in the elegant dining room. A beautiful courtyard garden is another feature. Our room, though smallish, was clean, well equipped and had a lovely view of the canal. It is only a 10 minute walk into the main square and also has a bus stop outside (much cheaper than the taxi we took from the station!). We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_smith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Hotel Ter Duinen is a small family-run hotel overlooking one of the quieter canals in Bruges, and only a 10 minute walk along canals and cobbled streets to the city centre. The owners have given great attention to their guests' comfort as well as delightful details to please the eye in the lounge, conservatory and dining room. All the staff were charming and courteous, answering our enquiries before and during the trip clearly and patiently. Their recommendations for places to visit were inspired. I really cannot fault this hotel.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank petros_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Myself, my partner and his brother and sister-in-law stayed at the Hotel Ter Duinen for 3 nights recently. I have stayed at this hotel once before with other family members and was so impressed that I booked it for this current trip. We were not disappointed. We stayed in rooms at the back of the hotel which were lovely and quiet with views of the Courtyard. Breakfasts were once again a joy with as much as you can eat on offer and the hotel retains the same charm and ambience of a couple of years ago. The proprieters and staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. They even went as far as to ensure they had gluten-free bread for one of our party. I would without a doubt recommend Hotel Ter Duinen to friends and family. It's only a short 10 minute walk into the centre of Bruges - and after a day's sightseeing it's lovely to retire back to the tranquility of Hotel Ter Duinen.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Smello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Had a fabulous stay here, the hotel overlooks a canal and is in a nice location walkable to all the sights but far enough away to feel away from the crowds (some of the pictures online don't do it enough justice, its a beautifully kept place with gorgeous common areas). We were astonished at how friendly and helpful the proprietors were compared to hoteliers in the UK,nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast overlooking the canal accompanied by gentle classical music was an added treat.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgate
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed in a lovely room on the top floor. Each morning breakwast was served downstairs in a beautiful room with a fireplace, flowers, and lots of terrific breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, coffee, chocolate..........We really thought the courtyard/patio was beautiful as was the sitting room. We loved Bruges, and we loved Hotel Ter Duinen.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This was our fourth trip to Europe. When possible, we stay at boutique hotels that add a unique charm and character the overall experience. This charmer is definitely "the" one to stay in when in Brugges. The owners are there to provide insight and good advice on what to do and see. The breakfast is a great start to the day and has a staff that waits on each person to make sure you are comfortable and well fed.

The decor is warm and inviting. The location is quiet and not too out of the way. It is a short few minutes by foot to the village center for your day's activities.

There were two families in our group with younger children and teenagers. There was plenty to do for all age levels. We all give the Hotel Ter Duinen and their staff a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howmuchlongerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 km away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.1 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing