We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very romantic hotel”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This hotel was quite a surprise - we booked through the Bruges tourist information site and hadn't expected such quality to be available on their 3 for 2 offer. The hotel itself is peaceful with a relaxed feel. The staff were very helpful. Our room was in the back of the building, accessible through the courtyard and contrasted beautifully with the modern glass lift. The room had an old fashioned feel to it and the bathroom was luxurious. For some tourists the hotel may be a few minutes walk too far from the main shopping streets but it really isn't more than a few minutes walk. This hotel was well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jono-ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2008

Our first stay in this hotel. Stayed for three nights. Staff very good - helpful when required but not obtrusive. Stayed in Room 3 which was a bit small and overlooking the front street was subject to traffic noise - thankfully not a busy street.

Blankets on the beds in this day and age! but to be fair housekeeping was excellent and the starched sheets and pillows were not too hard.

Breakfast room was lovely and the buffet had all that one could desire. Nice garden at the back where one could relax. Having stayed recently at the Prisenhof I could not help making comparisons and the Jan Brito would probably rate one star less inmy opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auldscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We enjoyed Jan Brito so much the first time that we returned again.
Last time we had a more expensive room but, this time, because we were travelling with our 17 year old niece we opted for '2 knights rooms.'
The rooms were a bit of a lottery. (28 and 29).
Our room, up a flight of stairs from the courtyard, was spacious with high beamed celings and a lovely modern bathroom. The beds were spongey though and my husband and I both experienced sore backs.
My niece's room was tiny. The whole space being taken up by the bed. Barely any natural light either. As we had asked for 2 rooms close together, we didn't complain, but it wouldn't have been adequate for 2 adults staying longer than one night.
The breakfasts were great and it was lovely to sit in the gardens. Typical Europe, no tea and coffee in the room; just downstairs at 3 Euros a shot.
Great location and nice feeling to the place.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maythorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Stayed with husband on Baroness De Guiy package plus extra night. We were shown to our room and was really disappointed I had wanted an attic room with beams. No problem the receptionist went to check availability and we moved into the attic, complete with a sitting room one window of which overlooked the Bell Tower. Found all the staff very helpful and friendly. Loved the garden and the breakfast excellent.
As to negative reviews on Trip Advisor in past. Apparently new owners took over in January.
Expect we will go back to Bruges and will definately stay at Jan Brito

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

3rd visit to the Jan Brito and they more than exceeded expectations. We booked a junior suite (Room 1) which was probably the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in and it totally lived up to the photos and description. As ever service was first class with everyone very friendly and welcoming. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Stayed for 2 nights for our 1st Wedding anniversary and booked an 'In Bruges Package which consisted of a Marquis suite room, Private taxi to and from the station. A 4 course evening meal, Mini bus excursion around brugge, Canal trip and discount voucers off different museums sights etc.
From the start everything was perfect. Check in was smooth and we were shown to a lovely room (Room 1) which was huge with a bathroom also big.
The staff were friendly and spoke very good english. The hotel bar was a little poor, we sat for quite a while waiting to be served but to be honest it really wasnt a problem.
The breakfast was very good serving english fare along with continental items. The restaurant they booked for us was just a 2 minute walk and called The Park, It was superb. The service food everythng was excellent.
Brugge itself it such a great place. Its so quaint and laid back. The weather was glorious while we were there resulting in very suntanned faces on our return.
Everything about it made it the most memorable anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I chose this hotel through Eurostar - it was on there list of hotels in deals. Upgraded to Baroness room ( double ) Also checked with trip advisor reviews. Lovely hotel good welcome at reception- room very large and lovely- bathroom to die for - large bath and shower ! Just remember to close blind while sitting on loo as looks directly into bakers shop - not a problem for us but may not be nice for folks buying bread and croissents !
Quiet and peaceful location - very central to all sights- canal at end of road. Breakfasts lovely plenty of choice both hot and cold.
It was unusually hot for this time of year when we arrived ! lovely for us but room very warm - saying this it did have air-conditioning. Dining room very warm at breakfast time , and why oh why dont they seem to open windows in this part of the world ! I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to other travellers , and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doodlebops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.2 km away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,327 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#33 of 97 in Bruges
1,116 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $120 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing