We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Brugge(Bruges)
US$113
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof(Bruges)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Patritius(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
360
571
157
32
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
571
157
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose redgreat locationbelgian beersmarket squareno elevatorscrambled eggs and baconrooms are smallquiet streetstar hotelfirst flooryogurtclose to the main squarewould definitely stay here againbreadshort staylovely little hotelspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

A girlfriend and I spent several days here in September. Just off the market square, it's a wonderful place for exploring the city by foot. Rooms are very basic (ours very small but functional and clean). Agree that the pillows are horrible. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Though located on a quiet back street we did experience noise from the Red Rose Café below us; However, as it closes at 11:00, it did not disturb us. Be aware there is no elevator to the upper floors, so be ready to haul luggage. Breakfast is plentiful, including scrambled eggs. We were somewhat disappointed that no significant food is available in the café (it is really more of a bar - known for its great beer selection) - but, there are plenty of eating options in the square and immediate area to choose from. There are hairdryers available at the front desk. Would definitely stay here again due to the great value in such a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for main floor if you can not handle stairs, including handling luggage. No elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank one2safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Great little hotel, with the jewel being the Rose Red Cafe, which is like your image of a perfect Belgian cafe bar!

The hotel rooms are nice and breakfast is good. The beers in the cafe bar are amazing, so many to choose from and all the ones we had were delicious.

Location is superb -- 5 minutes' walk from the Markt, which is absolutely stunning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Athene27Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

We first stayed at the Hotel Cordoeanier eight years ago and it was just what we wanted. Two blocks from the central market area, but on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. And two blocks from some good restaurants in the other direction. It’s a two-star hotel and should be judged as such. The room is small and Spartan – bed, couple of nightstands, closet, and small table. No desk for a laptop. The bathroom is tiny, but adequate. Our only real complaint is the pillows – they are flat and lumpy. The room was warm – I wish European hotels without air conditioning would discover screens to keep out the mosquitoes. Breakfast is good – scrambled eggs and bacon, some breads, good fruit and juice selection. The staff we very helpful and friendly. All in all, an above average small hotel in a medieval area with good access to sites and food, away from the tourist hordes.

So, why my hesitancy. The hotel has branched out into the nightspot business. Their pride and joy is the co-located Cafe Rose Red, a well-reviewed beer and light meal business. But this is a review of the hotel, not the Café. Our room was directly over the inner courtyard (room 32) and this created our problem. By Friday, the noise was really loud – especially the singing that started at 11 PM. Early in the week this was not a problem, but it grew as the week went on. The singing did not go on long, fortunately.

We wanted a quiet room, something more restful. We aren’t young exactly. But if you are more into the evening scene this might be ideal. No driving, just go upstairs and go to bed.

Room Tip: Room 32 overlooks the courtyard, but can be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingSequimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Let me begin by saying my 5 stars are for the unbeatable location and the lovely staff.

We spent two nights here, one in a twin room and one in a basic room, the latter being smaller than the former. The rooms are clean but too tiny and crammed so if you spend time in hotel rooms I would not recommend it. Bruges has too much to offer in every sense of the word so the time you spend in the room is likely to be negligible. The mattress was not comfortable, nor were the pillows I am afraid. The stairs lack lighting, but are not difficult negotiating, especially as we were on the first floor and had two smallish suitcases (as opposed to the huge cases we see people hauling around which only make life difficult).

There is a wonderful bar downstairs, the much talked about Rose Red. My husband adored it (being the beer drinker as opposed to me the teetotaller) and the truth is I found it very pleasant and convenient to relax in especially since the rooms are not for spending time in.

Breakfast was more than adequate. Lovely fresh pineapple and orange, good variety of tea, filtered coffee, various breads, cheese, meat, yogurt, jam, butter. No complaints there.

There is a superb restaurant called Assiette Blanche a short walk away. Expensive but a wonderful experience.

Public transport (the only time we needed it was to get to and from the hotel) literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel. All the sites are a few minutes walk away. The Markt and Burg are literally at hand.
Smashing location.

Overall, it's a good choice because of the location and I guess pricewise.

Room Tip: The "luxury" rooms are on the ground floor. I guess though the luxury lies in that there are no steps to haul your luggage up.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

The hotel is set back from the main marketplace. It has a bar area and a number of rooms. We had a small double on the top floor (not recommended for those less fortunate in the mobility stakes). The room although small was adequate as we spent most of the time visiting this fascinating city. The breakfast is served downsatirs in the bar area from 8 till 10. Very accomodating if on holiday. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly and will give advice if asked. As with most European countries their English was probably better than ours. One small downside. The breakfast room gets very warm even though the double dorrs were open. Very good selection of beers some of which are 12 % beware!

Room Tip: Those with immobility issues should choose a lower than second floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maudlin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews