We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpfull staff and owner in an interesting and beautiful building, near to town centre.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden tree hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Golden tree hotel
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpfull staff and owner in an interesting and beautiful building, near to town centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked the Golden Tree for a 4 day break to Bruges for the Christmas markets. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and a stones throw from the bus station and tourist information building, and many excellent restaurants and local; attractions. The hotel does not have an evening restaurant but this did not matter too much, as the selection of restaurants within a 5 minute walk was very good. A good breakfast started our day well. The beds were comfortable and the room we had although small was well fitted out , with an excellent bath/shower room.

Room Tip: A busy commuter road is in front of the hotel but it was very quiet after about seven thirty until t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    172
    70
    28
    19
See reviews for
84
195
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

A wonderful building situated 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bruges. We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and had a lovely time there. Breakfast was great and a good variety. Room was lovely, comfy beds and clean. The lady who owns the hotel is just lovely and really helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have been visiting Bruges for sixteen years and the last ten years have stayed at the Golden Tree (Formally The Inter Hotel). We have just returned from a fantastic Long Weekend spent in this beautiful city. Anyone having visited Bruges will understand that walking around the cobbles all day can take it out of your legs. So it is nice to be able to come back to a place were you can just unwind before you 'Hit the town'. We always stay in the courtyard rooms rather than in the main hotel which means you can come and go as you please without disturbing other guests. Francine will go that extra mile in helping anyone no matter what the problem. We had to catch an early crossing meaning we would miss the normal breakfast time of 08:30. Francine opened the breakfast room early and did not skimp on the choices of food available. See you same time next year.

Room Tip: We choose the courtyard room (2) not as modern as the main part of the hotel but it is on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We came as part of a 48 party coach trip with our sports and social club and arrived 2 hrs earlier than expected, and despite the chaos that this caused Francine the owner, they dealt with it efficiently. Almost everyone had a room within half an hr. Because of being part of such a big group I saw several of the rooms and they are very varied. We were across the courtyard at the back, our room was massive and very quiet. However, some of the upper rooms were quite small in the main building. There is a fantastic "honeymoon suite" in the gatehouse with a mood lighting bathroom for any romantics!

The previous reviewer who moaned about the lack of a kettle should realise that this is common in mainland European hotels and Betterware do a very good travel kettle with cups!

I can only reiterate what the poor people who were robbed said about the owners. We had a member who left their medication on the coach which was now parked overnight in the coach park and the owner's son picked the driver up in his own car and took the guests back to get their tablets which is really going the extra mile.

The breakfast room has a magnificent ceiling but can get a bit chaotic when everyone is queuing up together. That said there is a very good choice of continental meats, cheeses and breads.

The hotel is a great base to explore the city and the owners will recommend some good value for money restaurants. A tip is don't eat on the main square the drinks prices there are double that on the side streets. It is only a ten minute walk from the hotel to the centre and just on the corner of Z'and Square is a new Italian called Le Bistro it's upstairs on top of the bar and does great pizza and pasta and is very reasonable. All in all Golden Tree is a family run hotel in a fantastically convenient location and has a friendly charm that the big chains often lack,

Room Tip: quiet rooms are on the back or across courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debraphillips2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Just spent 4 nights at this delightful hotel in Brges. approx. 8 minute walk from the Market Place. Warm rooms good continental breakfast and a warn welcome from the owners. The only downside was that three didn't appear to be a communal room / lounge whiuch would have been nice

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the main road but were not too noisy. There are some at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived in Bruges to do a few hours of shopping, eat chocolate, drink a few beers and head on our way. But found ourselves having to stay overnight due to the fact that our luggage was stolen out of our car. Everyone in Bruges was very surprised to hear that, since the crime rate is low there. Our friends who we were traveling with us are from England, and all of her very important medicines and lap top were stolen as well. We had nothing but the clothes on our backs. It was getting late on and we needed a hotel, we happened to come across the Golden Tree. Francine the owner was the nicest and most helpful person. Not only did she make a way for us to have a room, but provided night clothes, extra pillows and such, great parking, and provided an excellent breakfast. She went way beyond the call of duty, helped our friends get the medication they needed from the UK, and helped us get into her other hotel across the city center. Both of the hotels (the other The Academy) are excellent, clean, comfortable, convenient, and the breakfasts are wonderful. We will stay again with Francine and either of these hotels in the future if we ever find ourselves in Bruges again. Also the charity shops especially the Sue Ryder (I believe) were awesome to help out with clothes and shoes. We had a wonderful time and experience, everyone friendly and helpful, besides the fact that we were robbed. We decided that whoever did such a crime could not have been from Bruges!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Had a delightful stay, nice breakfasts, rooms clean and comfortable. Some traffic noise if sleeping on main road as rooms are not double glazed. Beautiful hotel with original features

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxspida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.9 km away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.1 km away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#58 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 km away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#68 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
1.1 km away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 km away
Maraboe Hotel
Maraboe Hotel
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden tree hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden tree hotel

Property: The Golden tree hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden tree hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small familyhotel that is beautifully located in Bruges. Our beautiful building has 20 rooms with are double/twin, triple and family rooms. People from all ages are welcome with us! See you soon in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Golden tree hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tree Hotel Bruges
Golden Tree Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing