We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It was like walking into a movie! Don't be afraid to explore. We stumbled upon the old OTIS elevator in the tower. The bathroom floor was heated! I felt like royalty in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieVanDamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

What a place!

This is/looks like an old castle and I think it is the only 5star hotel in Brugges.

Although the rooms are somehow small and the hotel is situated 5 minutes by walking from the central square in Brugges (other hotels are closer), this is the best hotel option in terms of luxury/experience in Brugges.

Service is just ok though. Spa is good.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try getting a "bigger" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We used the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. The dinner service was very average and it was clear that some of the staff were in training. While training is important it should not reflect through to the customer but unfortunately it did and a fish dish was ruined -not the special birthday dinner I had expected for my wife. This was not the fault of the waitress but management who expose them poorly trained to their customer.
Breakfast service was totally haphazard and erratic on both days we used it, again nobody seemed in control and some staff were in training.
The restaurant service did not reflect a 5 star hotel. - disappointing!
We did eat in the bistro that was good.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are great,but beware the restaurant if you are looking for a 5 star service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank b_cooper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We came to Bruges for NYE and this was an ideal hotel to stay at. A central location five star hotel with a nice spa and rooms. The rooms were sizeable and the spa was great with gym and pool albeit a very strange location in the hotel that required walking down a service stair well!!

The location is very central and so everything in Bruges was within walking distance. Staff there were great and there was a really nice feel to the place with a relaxing lounge (unlike a number of hotels where the lounges are a bit too stuffy) and a bar with nice views over the adjoining gardens).

My only recommendation is that If possible ask for a garden view room.

Room Tip: My only recommendation is that If possible ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SulaMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in room 602/603 and really enjoyed it. It was a self contained cottage across the garden from the bar, so it felt like a private house. The garden is great and a nice place for drinks, and the bar is really nice too. The rooms were comfortable and had everything you would expect. The staff and service was great. The staff were professional with a smile. Breakfast was great - tons of choice and quality in the buffet.
We would stay here again, although staying in one of the small B&Bs right on a canal could be fun too. The garden more than made up for the fact that the hotel isn't right on a canal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

It is impossible to consider this a 5-star hotel. The location is great, and the rooms are comfortable, but the management and service are terrible. To begin: a hotel that has no concierge cannot be ranked as 5-star. The reception area consists of two desks, which are staffed much of the time by one person. That one person is responsible for answering the outside line (on a cell phone), answering the inside line, checking people in, checking people out, and carrying out the usual concierge duties (like booking a restaurant). As a result, people are lined up, waiting to be helped.

On our arrival, shortly before noon, we asked the very friendly young man who was acting as receptionist/concierge if he could recommend a restaurant for lunch. He told us to go to Petit Grand, a relatively short walk away. We did so. The restaurant was closed. Two days later, I mentioned this to the young man, who looked at his colleague (on this occasion, both desks were staffed), who told him that the Petit Grand is always closed for lunch on Saturday. A concierge at a 5-star hotel would not make this mistake. And if he did, he would apologize. Is "I'm sorry" too much to ask? Apparently it was for this young man.

The shower - beware! When you finally manage to get a suitable temperature, you will suddenly be treated to an ice cold blast, followed by a scalding blast. Apparently whenever anyone flushes a toilet or turns on a shower elsewhere in the hotel, your own shower is affected. This is a 5-star hotel? What a joke!

Then there is breakfast. On the first day, I ordered an omelette with herbs and mushrooms. I was given a ham omelette, which was scorched and inedible. I tried again the next day, and got the correct omelette, but again scorched almost to the point of charring.

Room lighting: acceptable if you do not read in bed. There is a floor lamp with the dimmest bulb I have ever seen (15 watt?), and no overhead lamp. The only bright light in the room was in the entry, which is the one spot in the room where you never need a bright light.

The tissue (Kleenex) box was empty and we had to call reception to ask for a new box. The turn-down service occurred in my room at 9:30 p.m. the first night. I asked the front desk if I could have earlier service the next night, and was told that I could, but the service for the entire hotel is apparently carried out by one person, and she arrived the next night at 9:45.

The walls in the bedroom are so thin that I could hear the phone ringing in the next room and the conversation of the person who answered it.

On checking in to our rooms, there was no water, no fruit, no chocolate -- no welcome gift of any kind. A minor point, perhaps, but I can't remember ever staying in a 5-star hotel where there was not some little amenity to welcome the guests. (The room rate was 329 Euro per night. By way of comparison, on this same trip, we stayed at the Sofitel Grand in Amsterdam (340 per night) , the Hilton in Cologne (225 Euro), Le Royal in Luxembourg (185 Euro), and the Amigo in Brussels (212 Euro) -- and all of them had fruit or chocolate in the rooms when we arrived. And all had concierges who knew their cities. And for the price, there is simply no comparison between the quality of our experience at Dukes' Palace compared to those other hotels.)

The building itself is lovely, and the rooms are well appointed. But the management of this hotel leaves a great deal to be desired. This is NOT a 5-star hotel.

My advice: stay at Die Swaene or one of the other hotels in central Bruges.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Clackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great classy hotel. Wonderful decor with spacious rooms. Set in a quiet cul de sac right in the centre of Bruge. 5 minutes walk to the market square. Excellent friendly helpful staff. Has a nice small spa and pool. Has a lovely large garden which is ideal on a sunny day alas it rained on my visit. Highly recommend this hotel for its peaceful , elegant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinksBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,286 reviews
0.6 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $225 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing