We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
112
115
37
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
115
37
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new building hooge crater front line amusement park modern block menin road main building hotel grounds preserved trenches excellent belgian beers short drive steeped in history interesting hotel bike storage boiled eggs bread an easy drive
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 271 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2018

A character property with a very friendly and really helpful owner and a small but moving war memorial attached. Lovely breakfast, very clean, modern rooms in the new annexe building. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the hotel is just off a main road albeit apparently a fairly quiet one. They seem to keep 4 incredibly pretty and fluffy sheep and a deer!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank viewsandopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

We had one night here last year and enjoyed it so much we came back for 2 nights. With aged parents with us, getting ground floor rooms was not a problem. We discovered the hotel has trenches in the grounds that were open to view, which was very interesting. Breakfast is good, the staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Also a great hotel for cyclists as they have safe bike storage in the ‘new ‘ house, so ask for rooms there if you’re on your bike.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brenstax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

An interesting hotel, especially the older part, and in an excellent location if you want to tour the area visiting the sites of World War 1 battles and Ypres town. Our first room was of a suitable size, furnishings were good and comfortable. Unfortunately there was a fault with the water heater, this could not be repaired and we were re allocated another room as soon as one was available - well done the staff. We were on a bed and breakfast basis, breakfast was enjoyable, for me a normal Continental meal, fresh rolls, cheeses and cold meats, with boiled eggs and cereals if wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful and the evening bar was open for beers, wines ,coffees etc. An interesting site, the front of the Hotel was an area fought over in WW 1 and the "pond" is actually the Hooge Crater, detonated in WW 1. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geordiethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We were located in the modern adjacent block. The rooms were well furnished and the bathroom was all that was required. Walls a little thin and sound carried easily but otherwise fine. Breakfast was continental and served in the older building near the crater. A good location for the battlefield tours and Ypres and the Hooge Museum is next door. A very limited menu for evening meals and we ate out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnAshtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Stayed here as part of a large group. My room was in the main building, not very welcoming, dark corridors to the dated rooms. I heard from colleagues that the rooms in the annexe were much newer and better. The small choice of breakfast is available only from 7.15 am, not convenient when you need to be at work for 8 oclock. Our large group of work colleagues only get the chance to catch up once or twice per year so disappointing to find that the bar closes at 11 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for room in annexe
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasteelhof, Eigenaar at Kasteelhof 't Hooghe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017
Google Translation

dank u voor u verblijf
Iedereen is hier welkom
Het hoofdgebouw was het kasteel waar baron senator de Vinck vanaf 1920 woonde en we proberen de mooie gezellige Engelse stijl de behouden.Als het donker wordt in de gangen kunt u natuurlijk altijd met een schakelaar de lampen aansteken
De annex is een nieuwbouw en heeft een hedendaagse stijl.
Het ontbijt bestaat uit een ontbijtbuffet met keuze van pistolets , broodsoorten , croissants , chocoladekoeken ,soorten kaas en fijne vleeswaren , ook confituursoorten , eitjes , yoghurts , cornflakes en muesli soorten zijn beschikbaar , we proberen voor ieder wat wils te geven
bedankt en tot ziens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews