We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Ypres”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy holidayhome in Ypres
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy holidayhome in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Cosy holidayhome in Ypres
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Kate M
1 review
“Fabulous Ypres”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

As a family with a child with food intolerances it was essential that we were able to stay and eat safely hence booking this holiday home over a b&q or hotel. The owner is accommodating as having two bedrooms both with double/king size beds he offers to place an extra bed in one of the rooms,our daughters were happy for the few nights to share so we declined his generous offer.
The home is like a home from home, it’s very comfortable and a great location. Just a short stroll to ramparts cemetery and Lille gate, with the town centre about 10 mins walk away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will/would stay again should we return to Ypres.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for the nice review. Much appreciated.. Always welcome here!

Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHemmin...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It just gets better and better”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

3rd stay with Jerry. His House is fantastic, home from home with all the amenities you could possibly want. Location right by Ramparts wall is perfect and only 10-15 minute walk to Main Square. When travelling to Ypres there is only 1 place to stay, Ramparts House!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thanks a lot Ian. Really appreciate this nice review! See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eneia01
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely house in Ypres”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Jerry's house in August for a week. There were just the two of us but we used both bedrooms. The house is lovely; in a prime location right by the Lille Gate and opposite Ramparts Cemetery, with an entrance to the Ramparts walkway right across the road.

The house is quite large - don't be deceived by the frontage. The ground floor has a large entrance hall with plenty of space under the stairs (including coat hooks and an umbrella stand). A door takes you through to the lounge / diner, with the lounge at the 'back' (in the middle of the house - think middle reception room in a british terrace) and the dining room at the front of the house. The kitchen extends back from the lounge, for half the width of the house, and a storage room and downstairs toilet makes an L at the back of the house.

Every convenience is catered for - television, DVD player and selection of films, hifi, fully equipped kitchen with plenty of crockery and glassware, a large fridge/freezer and oven, microwave, kettle, toaster etc. To the back of the house is a terrace, and around the corner of the extension / utility is a lovely grassed area. Fully enclosed and secure - we kept our 2 bikes on the terrace while we were there.

Upstairs on the first floor is one enormous double bedroom with wardrobe, drawers and seating area, and the bathroom. The bathroom is a full bathroom with a roll top bath, large shower cubicle, toilet, basin and storage. Towels are provided (although there were only 2 bath towels for the pair of us, that's reasonable given you dont have to take your own!).

Up a further flight of stairs to the bedroom in the attic. Enormous. Large double bed, table and chairs, drawers, wardrobe and two velux windows with blackout blinds. A door at the bottom of the stairs shuts the attic room off from the landing and gives privacy.

The house was brilliant. Most of the windows have shutters as well as blinds. The beds are really comfortable and there would be plenty of room for a cot if you chose to take a child (we may take our daughter in the future). The outside space was lovely and much larger than expected.

The house is decorated to a wonderful standard, with natural wooden floors everywhere except the entrance hall and kitchen/utility.

Jerry lives next door and although we only saw him on the day we were leaving, he was helpful and couldnt have done more to help us.

We really didnt do the house justice - we were out all day everyday cycling the battlefields and out all evening in the town (a 15-20 minute walk away, pizza is still just warm when you get back if you walk quick enough). We didnt use a glass or a plate all week I dont think, although we did fill the recycling bins up with water bottles and beer! Recycling is strict in Belgium and Jerry provides clear instructions of what to put in each bin.

Can't recommend the house enough; a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for the nicely detailled review and recommendation for future guests.
Till the next visit.
Regards,
Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ypres Ramparts house is in a perfect location. Just a short walk from the local amenities, also centrally located for all the historical sites we wanted to visit. The house is very relaxing, beautifully furnished and very well equipped.Jerry is a great host. We hope to return again soon. Ypres itself is beautiful, and very welcoming. The last post ceremony is very moving, and a visit to the Passchendaele Museum is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear guests, thank you for your kind words. Always welcome in Ypres Ramparts House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chips M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fantastic time staying here for 4 nights. Very spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear guests,
thank you for the review. Always welcome in Ypres Ramparts House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O1238NKmi...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ypres Ramparts House is more than whit you see on line. We in Ypres to see the Menin gate ceremony and surrounding WW1 sites. Those were moving and what we had expected. But the house was also a highlight and Gerry could not have been more helpful. Thank you!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear guests,
thank you for your kind words, hope to meet you again some day.
Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab place - even in a heatwave”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived early to avoid the heat on what was the hottest day in 40 years and Jerry very kindly let is us in to the house which meant we could unpack and relax after getting up so early in the UK.
The house is beautifully kitted out and maintained and has everything you could need. We enjoyed eating breakfast and our meal in the evening at the table and chairs on the patio next to the kitchen.
The beds were comfortable and the shutters certainly worked at keeping out the early morning light (we were here on the longest day)
Perfect base for seeing the area/battlefields tours

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear guests,
thank you for the nice review.
Always welcome in Ypres Ramparts House!
Regards,
Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing