We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildwood Bunkhouse - Fisherman's Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denbigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildwood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our first experience with Wildwood B&B happened 2 years ago on the way back home from one of our fishing trips up north. We stayed in the South room and would highly recommend it for a romantic couple`s getaway.
This year we came back (TWICE!!!) to stay in the Bunkhouse - a detached cottage-like house on the B&B property, for yet another one of our yearly fishing trips. We picked Denbigh for its many accesses to various lakes and Madawaska river slightly north of Denbigh in Griffith. Staying at the Bunkhouse, we could come and go at any hour, so we were able to fish at various locations late at night for some great walleye. The bunkhouse is equipped with a small refrigerator which helped keep the catch fresh. A kettle and some utensils were also provided to make the stay comfortable and memorable. I've fished in this area for many years and stayed at different facilities/cabins etc. The Bunkhouse at WIldwood is by far the best choice for any fisherman. It is very convenient, and is the cleanest place around. That was important for us as we could comfortably relax after a long day out fishing.
Wildwood will continue to be our annual stop for some great fishing, swims, peace and conversations with George (very knowledgeable in the history of Denbigh) and Joan.
PS: IMPORTANT: The stay at the Bunkhouse includes complimentary breakfast at the 41 Stop Restaurant about 2 mins (or less) from Wildwood. MUST TRY THE WESTERN SANDWICH..... you will never forget it! It is worth the drive up from Toronto just for this sandwich and more!

Room Tip: Romantic stay: South room at the B&B Fishing/Outdoors experience: The Bunkhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I contacted the owners of this B&B on very short notice on a Saturday night, and they took me in as if I was an old friend. Very nice piece of property, a comfortable room with en suite bathroom and a delicious bacon and eggs breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Recommended for anyone looking for a quiet setting in the country.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank 1Carts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. Our hosts George and Joan were very hospitable. We enjoyed walking on the trails on the property and sitting on the deck by the lake. Breakfasts were excellent and included homemade maple syrup (tapped from trees on their property) as well as blueberries and pears from their garden. Couldn't have asked for more. Good location to explore Bon Echo from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_and_Erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We are a couple in the mid thirties with a 4yr old boy and stayed there for the Victoria Day weekend.
The house is on a 100 acre land and there are trails and a lake. The place is off the highway and very peaceful.
The hosts were very nice to let us use their kitchen and barbecue and during our stay we barely met them in the house.
The breakfast was full and delicious and the house is very neat and well maintained.
We had a room with a bathroom and felt like on a hotel.
Originally we wanted to stay at Bon Echo park but we have absolutely no regrets enjoying even more wildlife around this place (bluejays and hummingbirds and rabbits) than at the crowded park.
The only minor drawback is that there is no close by grocery or pharmacy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The boys on a 5 day ATV trip through ontario, One of the places we visited was this B&B, excellent hosts and top notch service, I highly recommend for all ATV enthusiasts. The breakfast was the best!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Excellent accommodation, with incredible hosts.
We wanted to spend a day at Bon Echo Provincial Park, but it is a long drive from Toronto to do the round trip in one day so we choose The Wildwood for staying one night. The place worked perfect for our purpose but it is well worth a visit in itself.
The property (100 acres) has trails a lovely pond and beautiful lake for fishing, or just sitting and relaxing on the wooden deck right at the lakeshore.
Chipmunks and blue jays among other animals are around every morning waiting to be fed by George. I just sat on the back deck of the house and enjoyed them.
Room was cozy and extremely clean with lot of windows and a nice view of the surrounding woods.
George and Joan are incredible welcoming and friendly. They will provide you with any info you need and good conversation too.
Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be back again.
Thank you George and Joan.

Madel and Raudel

Room Tip: South Room is the best choice, is comfortable and has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raudel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had the pleasure to stay at Wildwood B & B this long labout weekend, as we attented the annual large family get together in Denbigh, Ontario. The property is huge (100 acres) with a newly built house. There is a lovely pond a few hundred feet away, and an entire lake, ...for the more adventurous, who like to take a good hike in the woods.

There are 3 bedrooms available (with 2 washrooms) in the "visitor's wing" of the house. Everything is very recently built, perfectly clean and the views of the countryside from the windows are just gorgous. Beds are comfortable, decoration is lovely.

Breakfast was perfect, and superfluous. Our host, George and Joan, were most gracious and pleasant. They are very detailed and attentive to all your needs. We had great conversations and exhanged stories with them. This is a great place to stay, and we will not hesitate to return next year! I'll take the hike to the lake next year, for sure! (The only suggestion I would make, would be to improve the size and quality of of the pillows, as they are a little small and lean, for my taste anyways.

Happy camper!

Cheers.

Jacques Berthiaume & Beth Williams - Aylmer Quebec.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBerthiaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wildwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 371 Chatson Dr | Ontario, Denbigh, Ontario K0H 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lennox and Addington County > Denbigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Wildwood B & B" is located 1.5 hrs north of Belleville, 1.5 hrs west of Ottawa and 20 minutes north of Bon Echo Park. Please check out "Land O' Lakes" tourist region for outdoor attractions and activities. "Wildwood" is set on 100 acres of natural, quiet wilderness. Relax on a deck beside a private secluded lake or walk along nature trails. Check in/out anytime on day of arrival or departure. Free use of kitchen or BBQ for preparing lunch, supper, snacks. For a peaceful relaxing overnight stop or a mini-holiday it's all in our backyard! Free high speed wi fi and phone to U.S. & Canada.Rooms & bathrooms are on a separate floor for privacy. There is a living room for guests only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing