We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for large get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon K
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for large get together”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We went as a group of 18 for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. We were given an extremely warm welcome and owners were more than happy to answer any questions/queries we had. The house is ideally located off the M1 in a lovely rural setting. The property was in excellent order with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. We went as group reunion with partners and children and loved it from the word go. Plenty of room in the living room area for everyone to relax together and the open fire added to the experience. There is a large dining table which also allows for everybody to socialise together. Plenty of mod-cons; TV, DVD, Stereos, Pool table, WiFi to keep everyone going. Would definitely recommend and we'll all be coming back next year. Many thanks Jon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern amenities and space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Dear Jon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us. We try and keep everything fully equipped to make our guests stay as easy as possible.
We are glad you had a lovely weekend and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexsFami...
Bishops Stortford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picturesque, Spacious and Welcoming”
Reviewed 4 February 2012 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We chose the House as a venue to meet with a large group of friends and their children. It was perfect with beautiful spacious rooms, Much bigger than we anticipated. It was the perfect choice for a large group of adults and kids of all ages to meet up, and also excellent value too! It worked brilliantly. It was memorable as it was something different. The well equipped kitchen was big enough for all the cooking that went on to feed everyone during the evenings. The owners were very obliging, and flexible about our requirements, which was very helpful. We got all the kids together and they slept in one of the huge reception rooms with blankets and sleeping bags and they had a fantastic time. The huge gardens are magical with secret footpaths and delightful quiet overgrown areas. The kids and the adults had a great time hiding and playing and having a picnics in the beautiful gardens. The location is close enough (10-15 mins) to the M1 to make it easy to access, but still in the Peak District. A great house and a brilliant weekend, thank you so very much, we really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel and the lovely 'Old Charm' of the house and gardens
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important to us. We use your feedback to help us to maintain and exceed a high standard of guest services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Period fetaures with modern fittings
Liked least: Temperature. It took some time to warm up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and are here to help in any way, Its was our pleasure to help book your activities and we are glad you had a fun Christmas period.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KellyS84
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Catch Up With Friends”
Reviewed 26 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends first came to Oakerthorpe in 2009, we are a group of old school friends that thought a big weekend away together would be a great way to catch up. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to come back again in 2011.
Diane made booking the property very easy, we kept regular contact and the whole booking experience was a breeze!
The house itself is a great place for large groups to stay, the house is big enough for everyone to have their own space and not be overcrowded but at the same time its homely and cosy. The bedrooms had all been decorated and freshened up since the first time we came, and we were really impressed with the work that had been done on the house so far. The welcome pack with wine and nibbles was very gratefully received and it wasn't long before we got the open fire burning. The new central heating system kept the house nice and warm and when it did turn cold the fire helped to take the chill off.
The local area is lovely for walking, and I would strongly recommend the local pub 'The Butchers Arms' for Sunday lunch. 17 of us piling in to this little pub could have been a disaster but it was great food and great service, give it a try!
I would recommed the house for family gatherings and friends meeting up, it really is a stunning property with real character and both times we have stayed there we've thoroughly enjoyed it. I have no doubt that we will be back again in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Dear Kelly,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you had a brilliant weekend and got to have a good catch up!
we like to keep on top of the decorating to make our guests feel at home.
We hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth G
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a large get together, unpretentious yet grand!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I booked this place for my 40th Birthday and celebrated with a group of friends and family at Oakerthorpe. I wanted somewhere which was bit grander than a holiday cottage and big enough for 18 people, and also affordable! It worked brilliantly, with two large reception rooms that we used in the main - the dining room and the lounge. The kitchen was big enough for all the cooking that went on to feed everyone on both evenings. Everyone loved it, especially as it was a bit different to a normal Birthday party. The owners were very obliging, and happy to be flexible about changing requirements, which was very helpful. The location is close enough (10-15 mins) to the M1 to make it easy to access, but still in the Peak District. The only thing I could possibly criticise was that there were no cleaning products in the kitchen, and perhaps a few more logs on the first evening would have been handy in late November. A great house and a brilliant weekend, thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try so hard to give you the best possible experience here, and your kind words are very comforting, knowing that we have given you complete satisfaction during your stay, please do come back and visit us again soon. We are sorry about the logs though and I assure you that on your next visit that the logs are readyly available to you.

Regards

Daniel Fox
Oakerthorpe Manor
01623 45 25 25
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in September 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Manor
Liked least: driving from heathrow airport
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try so hard to give you the best possible experience here, and your kind words are very comforting, knowing that we have given you complete satisfaction during your stay, please do come back and visit us again soon.

Regards

Daniel Fox
Oakerthorpe Manor
T: 01623 45 25 25
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large sitting room with comfortable sofas for all
Liked least: The hot water system and being accused of using the BBQ
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2011
This was a nice group of people, who wrote several emails following their stay, all stating what a wonderful house and a wonderful time had been had by all. The only mention of any problem was that some of the showers had been “temperamental”. This is from the lead guest’s email following this group’s stay: (shower) … it did seem a wee temperamental, but I fully understand the problems with caring for a house with such character, it did not spoil our stay.
I explained on arrival at the house that there had been a problem with Severn Trent Water with water pressure and that there may be problems if all the showers were used at once.
The group were clearly delighted to be meeting up without having their children with them and did not raise any issue during their stay. No one mentioned anything being dangerous, and as we spoke to the group several times during their stay, they had the opportunity to do so. To state that people were scalded is defamatory as well as untrue. I am currently seeking legal advice on this matter. If the group disagree, I would be pleased to receive copies of their hospital reports.
They did break several antique dining chairs, but as it was unclear to me that this damage was solely their fault, I did not make any charge from their deposit.
There are 5 keys and gate keys available, which is enough for most groups. 2 are usually enough. No one has ever had to act as caretaker!
No representative from this group or any other visiting group has ever made any complaint about the beds being uncomfortable. All of the beds were new 2 years ago. Bins and mirrors are in all of the bedrooms.
There were no building works being undertaken at the time of the visit. We had just completed the landscaping of the lower acre, and I completely accept that due to the hot weather, the grass had not grown as planned. This has now fully grown and provides a lovely grassy promenade with apple and pear trees either side. I did offer the group £200 off their next stay here, because of this. However, there is still another 4 acres that they enjoyed during their stay.
The place that I suggested to eat was actually a pub rather than a restaurant that caters for people on a budget and offers great food at a great price.
The interior of the house has had an immense amount of money spent and works undertaken to preserve this wonderful 1840 house. This lady infers that this is a place of faded splendour and that renovation needs to be done. This is untrue. The house is a wonderful meeting place for families and single groups and we have around 20% re-booking rate over 2 years.
There is an insinuation from this comment that the website pictures are misleading in some way, which they are not. Far from it – we have recently commissioned a video to show the house off, in response to these comments, primarily.
So why would a nice group of people leave such unwarranted comments? Simply this. The group used the BBQ and didn’t clean it afterwards. There is a charge of £25 in the contract if this occurs. Unlike the damaged chairs, I could be certain that the BBQ was used by this group and left in a very dirty condition. I explained this to the lead guest and received a total of 7 emails and 2 phone calls demanding that the £25 be returned as no-one had used it. This is the sole reason that this lady has written this review, which is very different from the feedback that they gave at the time of their stay and afterwards in their emails. It is really a little sad that this couple have decided to behave in this way.
However, we continue to improve and restore this wonderful house to its former glory and people continue to book (and re-book!) and enjoy their stay for roughly the per person cost of a Travelodge!
We have also installed a state of the art gas central heating system ready for this Winter. The grounds have been fully fenced along the railway side, so making the grounds safe for children. The Gatehouse Lodge in the grounds has been completely renovated, new central heating, new carpets, flooring, kitchen, bathroom – providing additional accommodation for 4 adults in the grounds, now also available for rental to accommodate a larger group.
I hope that you will take this into account when reading the review left by this lady. We work very, very hard to make our guests welcome and to make our house a wonderful venue for a group retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;