We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's best fish restaurant”
Review of A Ruina

A Ruina
Ranked #320 of 919 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: US$40 - US$170
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the website of Restaurant A Ruina, located in Albufeira, in the charismatic Praia dos Pescadores. To meet us is like tasting the best in the Typical Algarvian Gastronomy. • Using the wall structure from the Tower wich defended Sant'Ana's Door, the restaurant A Ruina is open since 1971 - with Joao and Salome Lazaro: the art of good hospitality, always - associated with the development of Albufeira. With four interior rooms, being one of them an ancient well room, in the Summer you can enjoy the terrace and the esplanada at the beach.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Yes it is expensive, very expensive but such is the price for real fish, caught by fishermen in the high seas and not harvested by farmers barely offshore. Just go there and taste the difference before such fish will have disappeared from earth. The way it's cooked is simply marvelous as well. For those who don't mind paying for quality. The house wine "Vino Verde" at 12 Euro a bottle is to die. And please don't say that is too expensive too.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 580 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have visited Ruina many times over the last ten years and often mention it to others as our favourite fish restaurant in Europe.

The setting and atmosphere of the restaurant are lovely and perfect for a romantic meal or if you want to make an impression, but unfortunately it is now too expensive and not moving with the times.

On this occasion were ordered sea bream for three which came to £89 euros just for the fish. At 30 euros a head for a main course I would expect it to be perfect. Unfortunately our fish was quite dry and served with carrots and brocolli instead of the usual salad - no choice.

Having visited Casa Da fonte and eating outstanding fish at 15 euros a head I don't think we will be visiting Ruina again.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank htravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We went for lunch on 6.6.11 and had four indifferent salads and and four small drinks. Total cost 94 euros!!! There was no displayed menu and no prices on show. Needless to say we would never eat there again so please don't make the same mistake we did.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DaveF043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2011

If you want a nice experience, you must try this place .

Date of visit: June 2011
Thank Nuno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We did have a good meal at this restaurant but it is more expensive than others which we visited. The menu is a chalk board with fish names and prices per weight. The fish names are in porchagese so they are hard to understand. We had the calamari for starters which was nice and the sea bass for main.
The sea bass was a large fillet which was de- boned (most restaurants do not do this). The fish was cooked well and it was really tasty. Like other reviews we only got 2 potatoes but the veg was fine. The location is good but if you want to check anything before you order or query the prices then I would ask before you order.
We did enjoy our meal and we did receive good serviced.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Ruina also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Sesmarias, Albufeira
 

Been to A Ruina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing