We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Encosta da Orada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Encosta da Orada
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We booked this apartment through low cost holidays and we were really pleased. Apartment was spotless and kitchen was really well kitted out. We made breakfast every day. Balcony was big and we got the sun all afternoon in block b. I have to say that there is slight road noise but not that bad in block B. Use of two pools again spotless and as hardly anyone there we often had pool to ourselves. Be aware that there is no shop or pool bar on the complex. My only complaint, the hard, hard bed. Did I mention the bed was hard? You get the picture. It is a 15 min walk into town two ways to go really. But again be aware the walk back is a steep incline. This did our calves the world of good but sometimes we could not face it and treated ourselves to a taxi 5 or6 euros. I will certainly consider these apartments again.

Room Tip: Blocks c or d F G are best.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariemacLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Encosta da Orada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2015

Secure apartments, 20 min walk down hill to the Old Town, nothing immediate area of apartments. We use Algarve Getaways, apartment Or-IA, we have used about 5 times normally over the New Yer period, and it is so quiet. The service we get from this company is excellent, they arrange transfer for us and it is nice to see a friendly face waiting for us at the Airport. This year we had to cancel our New Year trip, due to a family bereavement, and they were most helpful, and allowed us to reschedule our break 4 weeks later, this was much appreciated, and was not expected.

Room Tip: OR-IA Apartment
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granmasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Block F 1A Just come back and had an amazing time in this beautiful apartment and have just booked it again for later in the year with Jackie and Mark Frampton who could not of been more helpful. The apartment is in block F and this is important as you are away from the noisy dual carriageway at the top end of the complex. It's a great location and had obviously just been redecorated so felt like brand new. My wife loved that during the day one of the three balconies was always in the sun and we could keep an eye on our lads in the pool from one of the balconies. In the evening we like to sit on the main balcony and have a glass of wine while watching the fishing boats out in the ocean and the luxury yachts sail by. We loved to have our breakfast every morning on the balcony before it got too hot and there was plenty of room for all five of us . As the complex is on a hill the views are amazing both during the day and at night. It's downhill into town and the walk back in the evening kept us fit. My mother who is in her 80's would walk into town but get a taxi back and the cost was very reasonable. As she can get quite hot it was great to have air con through out the apartment There are some great restaurants and quite a few average ones and our favourite was 'Cabana' which is on Fishermans Beach. Great food and amazing views great both at lunch time and in the evening. We have been to Portugal many times before as we love the different beaches and the food and this is by far the best apartment we have stayed at. We also really like the Marina in Albufeira during the day. It nothing like the busy marina of Vilamoura which is also definitely worth a visit as it is much quieter with just a hand full of restaurants and bars but very relaxing. There are some great boat trips from there and my boys loved hiring the segways from the marina and bringing bread down for the fish to eat. The fish in the marina are a good foot long and when you start feeding them scores appear, it is quite a site !!! Must say a special thank you to Liz who cleans and looks after the apartment on site for coming to our rescue when we locked ourselves out one night. When we called her she was there within ten minutes. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Keep way from the top end near the busy noisy road. Block F is ideal
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

This is a top class complex with apartments finished to a high spec. but unfortunately we stayed in block A which is next to a motorway. Although the bedroom window had shutters we still found it difficult to sleep at night due to road noise. The one bedroom penthouse apartment had a large lounge area with wall to floor windows and a wrap around balcony which was marvelous, with a large wooden table, five chairs, four sun loungers and lovely views down to the Marina. The kitchen was very well equipped with cooker,oven,dishwasher,microwave, washer.dryer and fridge/freezer. The large bathroom was fully tiled with bath and shower. Compared to another apartment we looked at on the complex the furnishings were pretty minimal, but I suppose some owners are reluctant to spend on rental accommodation. The gated complex is very clean and tidy with a nice waterfall feature and two pools, one for children. Would definitely go back to this complex but to another apartment away from road noise.

Room Tip: Avoid block A if road noise annoys you.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank romanboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Apartment C2B

The apartment was excellent. Very spacious for a one bedroomed apartment, spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings…..except the bed. My golly, the double bed has the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever tried to sleep on. We put 2 duvets under the bottom sheet to try and give a bit of padding but it was still extremely hard with no give at all so that each time my partner turned over it nearly pinged me off the other side like a seesaw!

Pool area is very nice and utterly relaxing - perhaps it was because we were just out of season but sometimes we had the whole pool area to ourselves - bliss.

Apartments are at the top of a hill and unfortunately they did seem to attract the clouds. On a number of occasions when it was raining on us it was bright sunshine down in the old town. It takes about 15 mins to walk into the centre of the old town. There aren't any very good maps or explanations of routes into town (or to the supermarkets) in the apartment so for guidance, if you go out the gate, go straight ahead beside the tennis courts, turn immediately right, follow the cobbled road then path in straight line, cross the road and keep heading straight ahead and it will bring you into town. No other route is as quick or direct - but it is probably the steepest route.

There is a small supermarket slightly further up the hill - about 5 mins(go out the back gate, turn right. Cross the road and just before the roundabout go up the steps on your left - follow the road round to the supermarket) but a much better one down the hill (turn right out of the main gate, turn first right then immediately left just before the Hotel Cerro do Mar. Head up towards the windmill. At the end of the terrace look down and you will see some steps that seem to be going underground. Work your way down through the steps, cross the road, down through more steps, turn left then right and you come out opposite the graveyard near the Alisupermarket.

We booked through Algarve Getaways and they couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely recommend them.

Final tip - you have to leave both sets of keys in the apartment when you leave - so memorise the code for the vehicle gate or you will be locked in!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This is a wonderful apartment, great location, quiet area, great views over the marina. Very spacious, beautifully decorated, large balcony doors from bedroom, kitchen and lounge lead onto it. Found this on Owners Direct site No P5806, would highly recommend it. It was a pleasure dealing with the owners Karen and Mark, emails answered promptly. We had a wonderful holiday and felt very safe as the complex is secure, keys to enter gates, doors etc. Great pool, plenty sun loungers. Albufeira is built on 7 hills so expect the streets to be steep, not for anyone with mobility problems. But fine for others.

Room Tip: Find apartment on Owners direct No P5806
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mazie241242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Hi

We have just come back from spending two weeks in a penthouse apartment in block A the apartment was lovely, the pictures on Algarve Getaways does not do it justice. The balcony's wrap around two sides of the apartment and gets the sun till around 15:30. As said before its close to the road but for us not an issue and yes the bed is not very comfortable but Algarve getaways did but a mattress topper on there when we asked. The transfers with Algarve getaways were very good and with a rep being there to greet us and lets up in and tell us where bars and supermarkets are was an added bonus.
Yes the apartment is up an hill but there are plenty of places to stop on the way down and back up from old town.
I would defiantly recommend Algarve getaways and this apartment to anyone interested in going to Alburferia.

wolf7

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 km away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.6 km away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
321 reviews
0.5 km away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#98 of 154 in Albufeira
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
305 reviews
0.5 km away
Sol a Sul Apartments
Sol a Sul Apartments
#44 of 133 in Albufeira
106 reviews
4.3 km away
No photo provided
Quinta do Paraiso
#62 of 133 in Albufeira
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encosta da Orada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encosta da Orada

Address: Cerro do Piedade, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encosta da Orada 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Encosta da Orada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encosta Da Orada Hotel Albufeira
Encosta Da Orada Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing