We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of a condominium lifestyle - in Albufeira.”
Review of Encosta da Orada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Encosta da Orada
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Encosta da Orada was built in 2008 and is a development of 100 or so apartments based around sub tropical gardens and secure perimeter walling.
Each block has it's own identity, some have great views across the marina, the countryside or the town, others have glimpses in all directions, however each apartment appears to have the same high quality finish in the fully fitted kitchen, designer jacuzzi bathroom or beautifully appointed terraces.
From personal experience, block A is incredibly convenient. It has a pedestrian gate to the main road, which effects easy access to restaurants, bars and a small supermarket in Patéo (via the Dolphin Roundabout) and it's also furthest from the pool, meaning less noisy children in summer months.
Access is via a security door with intercom, or if you're driving, most apartments have secure private undercroft parking.
Apartments are spacious, from 66M2 to over 120M2 - but size isn't everything. Most are nicely furnished and don't forget to check out the views, particularly from the far end of the block.

The condominium isn't a hotel. People live and work from here. Don't expect a 'kids club' or 'karaoke bar', as there simply isn't anything other than a great garden, pool and your own bit of paradise for your holiday. It's refreshing to see so many fellow visitors, locals and residents getting on and respecting others' privacy and quality of life.

The development also doesn't have a 'reception' so Caveat Emptor and check with your booking agent first as to keys, access and other property management matters. Security have been really helpful at preventing 'sun-bed-blocking' and unauthorised access, but they don't have keys to the apartments.

Overall, this place is heavenly. Atop a hill, far enough from the madding crowds, but close enough to dive in to the Albufeira scene when required. There are plenty of diversions all within 15 minutes walk, if you can tear yourself away from your own slice of the perfect holiday destination.

Most apartments don't really need air conditioning, as the security shutters are designed to keep out the sun's rays during the day, but let trickle ventilation through at night.

Finally, my advice is clear, don't book here is you're looking for activities and holiday hand-holding. Enjoy the Portuguese lifestyle. Switch off, relax or find a local five-star hotel.

Room Tip: Get advice from your agent before travel. Block A for it's views and being away from the pool, b...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Penguinofdunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Encosta da Orada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Do not book through Travel Republic or anyone that supplies the property through Garvetur. We were told someone would meet us at the property with keys (having read other reviews I knew to make this enquiry before I travelled).

We arrived at a back gate with very smelly bins beside it and were not able to gain access to the complex.
Eventually a man let us through the gate. We spoke to security who was unable to help us. Telephoned Travel Republic and the emergency number and after about an hour we had the situation resolved, someone was on their way to meet us.

NO AIR CON
Only booked as this is advertised as having air con, apartment 2C in block J was not. Contacted travel republic yet again and we were provided with fans which only blew hot air around.

The living conditions were poor. Stained, broken furniture. The only parts of the apartment which were nice were the parts that came as standard...the kitchen. This apartment was very different from any photos which I viewed prior to travelling.

Complex itself is nice and very secure although I have questions about the cleaniness of the pool area as the same grit and debris remained for our whole 10 day stay. Appalled at pool toilets as I saw mouse droppings in these everyday...unsure if they were fresh each day or simply not cleaned. Property owners need to be asking questions about what their maintenance fees are being spent on!

Based on other reviews I do believe that some apartments here are top class but to acquire one of these i suggest booking privately with the owner and not through any generic booking site where you could end up with a similiar terrible experience to ours!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ms L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Returned from these apartments yesterday, after a 2 week stay. There was 3 couples & we rented 3 one bed apartments with OC Villas. They are all part of modern condominium, which consists of around 20 three story blocks on an oval around 2 large pools and lovely gardens. Our apartments consisted of a lounge, fully fitted kitchen, bathroom & separate bedroom. All very modern, with air conditioning in lounge & bedroom. Our apartment had 2 large balconies front & back. All patio doors have also electrical steel security shutters, so very safe. Also underground parking. We have had a great time, only downside is that they are situated on top of a hill above Albufeira old town, so about a 20 minute walk & unless you are feeling fit, a taxi ride home, which in town can sometimes be a very long wait. Still we had a great time.. First time in Portugal, but will certainly go back again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here from June 12th to 19th and the overall experience was great.

Firstly, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, these apartments differ greatly depending on which block you are in. Fortunately we had a first floor apartment in block d. The finish was immaculate. Fantastic kitchen and tons of room overall. We had a balcony that ran the length of the place meaning you could walk outside from the living area past the kitchen and inside to the bedroom. Other blocks had tiny balconies or else none at all so we got lucky.

We had zero road noise unlike blocks a b and c as we were on the other side of the pool.

The pool itself was great and it hadn't been all that busy.

The apartment itself is also very secure with numerous gates and doors to get through.

There were some drawbacks however. No bar, nowhere to get food and no shops nearby. Also, the walk uphill every evening to get back was horrific. It's like a hard, half hour slog in the gym every evening but if you don't mind shelling out 5 or 6 euros for a taxi you can avoid it.

By far the biggest issue was checking in. As there is no reception, there is noone there to greet you with keys. We actually had to ring Travel Republic when we got there. They in turn had to call the property company for someone to come meet us with the keys. Get this, this particular company only accept check ins after 5pm!? Seeing as we got there at around 2 this was no bueno. Luckily we were only outside sitting on the ground like hobos for an hour before a lady turned up with keys.

I would love to stay here again however only if I could he positive of a good block, and keys an arrival.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We booked this apartment through low cost holidays and we were really pleased. Apartment was spotless and kitchen was really well kitted out. We made breakfast every day. Balcony was big and we got the sun all afternoon in block b. I have to say that there is slight road noise but not that bad in block B. Use of two pools again spotless and as hardly anyone there we often had pool to ourselves. Be aware that there is no shop or pool bar on the complex. My only complaint, the hard, hard bed. Did I mention the bed was hard? You get the picture. It is a 15 min walk into town two ways to go really. But again be aware the walk back is a steep incline. This did our calves the world of good but sometimes we could not face it and treated ourselves to a taxi 5 or6 euros. I will certainly consider these apartments again.

Room Tip: Blocks c or d F G are best.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariemacLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Secure apartments, 20 min walk down hill to the Old Town, nothing immediate area of apartments. We use Algarve Getaways, apartment Or-IA, we have used about 5 times normally over the New Yer period, and it is so quiet. The service we get from this company is excellent, they arrange transfer for us and it is nice to see a friendly face waiting for us at the Airport. This year we had to cancel our New Year trip, due to a family bereavement, and they were most helpful, and allowed us to reschedule our break 4 weeks later, this was much appreciated, and was not expected.

Room Tip: OR-IA Apartment
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granmasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Block F 1A Just come back and had an amazing time in this beautiful apartment and have just booked it again for later in the year with Jackie and Mark Frampton who could not of been more helpful. The apartment is in block F and this is important as you are away from the noisy dual carriageway at the top end of the complex. It's a great location and had obviously just been redecorated so felt like brand new. My wife loved that during the day one of the three balconies was always in the sun and we could keep an eye on our lads in the pool from one of the balconies. In the evening we like to sit on the main balcony and have a glass of wine while watching the fishing boats out in the ocean and the luxury yachts sail by. We loved to have our breakfast every morning on the balcony before it got too hot and there was plenty of room for all five of us . As the complex is on a hill the views are amazing both during the day and at night. It's downhill into town and the walk back in the evening kept us fit. My mother who is in her 80's would walk into town but get a taxi back and the cost was very reasonable. As she can get quite hot it was great to have air con through out the apartment There are some great restaurants and quite a few average ones and our favourite was 'Cabana' which is on Fishermans Beach. Great food and amazing views great both at lunch time and in the evening. We have been to Portugal many times before as we love the different beaches and the food and this is by far the best apartment we have stayed at. We also really like the Marina in Albufeira during the day. It nothing like the busy marina of Vilamoura which is also definitely worth a visit as it is much quieter with just a hand full of restaurants and bars but very relaxing. There are some great boat trips from there and my boys loved hiring the segways from the marina and bringing bread down for the fish to eat. The fish in the marina are a good foot long and when you start feeding them scores appear, it is quite a site !!! Must say a special thank you to Liz who cleans and looks after the apartment on site for coming to our rescue when we locked ourselves out one night. When we called her she was there within ten minutes. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Keep way from the top end near the busy noisy road. Block F is ideal
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 km away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.6 km away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
321 reviews
0.5 km away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#98 of 154 in Albufeira
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Cerro da Marina Hotel
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
305 reviews
0.5 km away
Sol a Sul Apartments
Sol a Sul Apartments
#45 of 133 in Albufeira
106 reviews
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Julieta
Apartamentos Julieta
#55 of 133 in Albufeira
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encosta da Orada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encosta da Orada

Address: Cerro do Piedade, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $84 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encosta da Orada 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Encosta da Orada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encosta Da Orada Hotel Albufeira
Encosta Da Orada Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing