We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alfagar Village(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Petra Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velamar Boutique Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$187
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$127
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$177
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
59
17
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
17
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalgarve getawayswelcome packbeautiful apartmentorganised transferssecurity guardminute walkold townsteep walkdouble sofa bedblock dlarge balconywithin walking distancepatio doorslocation is greatkids poolplenty of sun loungerskeys
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 82 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Firstly, and most importantly, I'd like to state that this is a factual review of a recent stay at this penthouse (2a, I think it was block 1? It's certainly the first block of apartments you come too when you go through the main gate) (12-19th September 2015) and reflects our own experience, including supporting photos. I am not interested in any flowered up response with empty apologies by Viktoria or anyone from Home Away.
This is our fourth stay in 3 different penthouses within this complex; the first 2 stays were with a private owner and we only stopped staying in this particular penthouse because the owners sold it, and the new owners weren't renting it out.
Our third stay was with Algave Getaways and their customer service was absolutely awful, hence our refusal to use them, or stay in any of their properties again.

Having looked through the Home Away website listing for this penthouse we contacted its owner/manager Viktoria and decided to go ahead with the booking.
The only thing going for these penthouses are their large living space and large 180 degree balconies.
Most of the listings about this complex mention its position up on a steep hill; yes this gives the views of the sea, hills and harbour. However, it is a particularly long and steep hill. And the incline starts from the second you come out of the tunnel near the beach. Having stayed at this complex before we knew what the hill was like, and the effort needed to return home after any time in the Old Town.
The problems with this particular penthouse, and its owner/manager started from the second we got out of our transfer to the complex!
Viktoria had sent her dad to do the 'meet & greet' - what a rude, distrespectful and unhelpful man! He greeted us with a scowl, didn't offer/attempt to help with any of our luggage, let us struggle through the small main gate, through several doors, upstairs and into the penthouse! He then simply handed us the keys and walked away!!
With no welcome pack in the penthouse whatsoever we had to guess how to use everything from the microwave, washing machine, dishwasher, air conditioning, tv, etc.
There were no manuals, no advice, no leaflets etc!
The Home Away listing states Satelite and Cable TV. However, there was only cable TV, which left us flicking through countless foreign channels and with only BBC News and the History channel with English speaking. When I texted Viktoria to query this she just text back "cable not sat"!!
When I queried the free wifi viktoria just texted back saying that there was a notice near the front door with wifi information - this stated that it was €30 per week for Internet access!!
Apologies for the long list of problems we encountered (below) but it will at least arm you with all the information you'll need to realise that the photos on the Home Away website are years out of date, and that you are fully aware of the actual state of the penthouse should you still decide to stay here.

Dirty shower curtain
All cupboard doors and handles were dirty and sticky
One dirty tea towel
No cleaning products whatsoever (washing up liquid, bleach, toilet cleaner etc)
No Satelite TV (satellite tv is advertised on the Home Away listing)
No free wifi (Internet is advertised on the Home Away listing)
Broken fridge shelves
Kitchen had 90% empty cupboards
Fitted oven but no internal shelves to cook anything on
Several doors and windows didn't lock!
Bathroom door didn't lock!
Plug sockets and door handles not fixed properly to the wall/door, only fixed with 'no more nails' which hadn't worked but the handles and sockets were just left broken
Wall pictures hung up on matchsticks! One picture fell off the wall whilst we were in bed!
Broken iron board
Most of the wardrobe space was taken up with extra duvets and 2 folding beds!
No beach towels
Dirty/stained bath towels
Not enough pegs for the airer
Dirty, rusty, unusable barbecue
Dirty windows
No washing up liquid
Dishwasher but no dishwasher tabs
Washing machine but no washing tabs
No toilet roll
Broken/dirty small kitchen bin
Broken and unravelled wicker outside chairs

I hope that this detailed listing and photos helps you to fully understand the standard of this particular penthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank glen0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2015

We spent 11 wonderful days here relax in the hot sunshine. Great pool and nice and quite. Only 15 minutes walk into the middle of the old town. Lots of great places to eat and lots of bars for all ages. Great value food and drink.....

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

We booked this through Algarve Getaways which I have to say were superb from start to finish.
We were met by Daniel and shown to the accommodation which was block H first floor. The apartment was superb, clean,well presented and modern with a huge balcony with fantastic views.
Daniel explained all the need to knows of the apartment and the area in a short but detailed manner.
The complex is spotless and very secure, the air con was the best we have ever had in an apartment. We took advantage of the mobile wifi which at 25 euros for the week was great and very fast.
The welcome pack Algarve Getaways supplied was also a nice touch which you don't often get.Towels were changed during our stay once which was sufficient.
The complex is situated on a hill and is steep coming back from the Old town area but if you know this before booking it shouldn't be a problem.It takes about 15 mins to get to the main area of the Old town from the complex.
The only slight gripe were the sun loungers, although you don't need to reserve them like usual!!they are very uncomfortable and sag!!These need replacing and soon.Pool was clean but was a bit chilly even in August!!
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to book here and Definitely use Algarve Getaways.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank FiremanSam37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2015

Encosta da Orada was built in 2008 and is a development of 100 or so apartments based around sub tropical gardens and secure perimeter walling.
Each block has it's own identity, some have great views across the marina, the countryside or the town, others have glimpses in all directions, however each apartment appears to have the same high quality finish in the fully fitted kitchen, designer jacuzzi bathroom or beautifully appointed terraces.
From personal experience, block A is incredibly convenient. It has a pedestrian gate to the main road, which effects easy access to restaurants, bars and a small supermarket in Patéo (via the Dolphin Roundabout) and it's also furthest from the pool, meaning less noisy children in summer months.
Access is via a security door with intercom, or if you're driving, most apartments have secure private undercroft parking.
Apartments are spacious, from 66M2 to over 120M2 - but size isn't everything. Most are nicely furnished and don't forget to check out the views, particularly from the far end of the block.

The condominium isn't a hotel. People live and work from here. Don't expect a 'kids club' or 'karaoke bar', as there simply isn't anything other than a great garden, pool and your own bit of paradise for your holiday. It's refreshing to see so many fellow visitors, locals and residents getting on and respecting others' privacy and quality of life.

The development also doesn't have a 'reception' so Caveat Emptor and check with your booking agent first as to keys, access and other property management matters. Security have been really helpful at preventing 'sun-bed-blocking' and unauthorised access, but they don't have keys to the apartments.

Overall, this place is heavenly. Atop a hill, far enough from the madding crowds, but close enough to dive in to the Albufeira scene when required. There are plenty of diversions all within 15 minutes walk, if you can tear yourself away from your own slice of the perfect holiday destination.

Most apartments don't really need air conditioning, as the security shutters are designed to keep out the sun's rays during the day, but let trickle ventilation through at night.

Finally, my advice is clear, don't book here is you're looking for activities and holiday hand-holding. Enjoy the Portuguese lifestyle. Switch off, relax or find a local five-star hotel.

Room Tip: Get advice from your agent before travel. Block A for it's views and being away from the pool, but there's good options in all blocks.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Penguinofdunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Do not book through Travel Republic or anyone that supplies the property through Garvetur. We were told someone would meet us at the property with keys (having read other reviews I knew to make this enquiry before I travelled).

We arrived at a back gate with very smelly bins beside it and were not able to gain access to the complex.
Eventually a man let us through the gate. We spoke to security who was unable to help us. Telephoned Travel Republic and the emergency number and after about an hour we had the situation resolved, someone was on their way to meet us.

NO AIR CON
Only booked as this is advertised as having air con, apartment 2C in block J was not. Contacted travel republic yet again and we were provided with fans which only blew hot air around.

The living conditions were poor. Stained, broken furniture. The only parts of the apartment which were nice were the parts that came as standard...the kitchen. This apartment was very different from any photos which I viewed prior to travelling.

Complex itself is nice and very secure although I have questions about the cleaniness of the pool area as the same grit and debris remained for our whole 10 day stay. Appalled at pool toilets as I saw mouse droppings in these everyday...unsure if they were fresh each day or simply not cleaned. Property owners need to be asking questions about what their maintenance fees are being spent on!

Based on other reviews I do believe that some apartments here are top class but to acquire one of these i suggest booking privately with the owner and not through any generic booking site where you could end up with a similiar terrible experience to ours!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ms L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews