We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! Very good value for money”
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very nice and cheap 3 star hotel. Nice swiming pool, good location, friendly and helpfull staff, we got a upgrade for a villa instead the studio room. These rooms are brand new, very nice decoration, clean and comfortable, you get more than you are paying for! Only downside is a bad smell coming from the drains, but I don't know if they can do something about it. Wi fi is free, but is terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigofazmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Topazio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just returned from a great break in the algarve, we stayed at the Topazio for 1 week, rooms where of a ok standard, few minor issues (no shower head, strange smell from the drains, and the maids didnt clean to a high standard), also we arrived at 1pm and was told we could only check in at 4pm as where the other guest who had arrived earlier than us. I was a bit envious looking out my balcony at the 4 star apartments across the way,

On a postive note we couldnt hear the Kiss night club opposite and we had free wifi which componsated a little,

Deffinatley would retrun to the algarve but not at this hotel,

If you would like my opinion ... i would advise you paid the extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on a self catering basis, apartment was decorated to a good standard. The apartment was cleaned daily and sheets and towels changed. The only couple of things which were not good was the beds they were very uncomfortable and travel cot! The travel cot had ridges in it and our 5mnth old had real difficulty sleeping in it. We ended up having to put the cushions from the sofa in it. The kitchen was also finished to a good standard however there was a very limited supply of basic utensils ( no toaster, only 2 huge saucepans, no oven or grill). This was fine for us as we ate out quite a bit but could be difficult if you were wanting to prepare meals yourself.

The hotel is in a good location and within easy walking distance to the old town and strip. There are numerous restaurants and bars close by and the beach is a short distance.

There is a night club opposite the hotel however we never heard it during our stay as we were at the back of the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel areas were all very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here from 20th to 27th May 2012 and could not have asked for a more modern, clean, immaculate hotel!
We had a 1 bedroom room only in the hotel itself which cost £154 for the week
Reception is manned 24hours and the staff all speak excellent English and are extremely helpful.
Wi-Fi is free which is a tremendous bonus.
Topazio is only about 300m from the Strip which is great for nightlife and a taxi to the old town only costs between 4 and 5 euros or you could take the bus from the top of the road. The wee train also goes regularly to the old town but leaves and comes back to the very top end of the strip so is not as accessible.
Pool was beautifully clean (if a little cold still, altho hardly the hotel's fault) and lovely modern, newish sunbeds.
Restaurant in the Topazio serves breakfast and snacks only, however there is a MASSIVE selection of eateries all competing for your business so shop around!
Beds in the rooms were very hard and rather uncomfortable to sleep on. Room had a stocked fridge (cost extra) but you could put your own stuff in it too.
Bit disappointing not to have a safe in the room, however you could hire one if you wanted.

KISS nightclub is directly across the road and we were room 108 which was on the same level as reception and the room nearest reception, however we could not hear any noise from KISS on any night, far less lots of people sleeping in each other's rooms! In fact there is a very burly security guard doing night duty on reception and the main hotel doors are not open to anyone other than hotel guests during the night!
My tip would be - if you are worried about potential noise from the nightclub, email the hotel at the booking stage and ask for a room at the opposite side of the hotel! Problem solved (which is what we did)

Hotel bar/restaurant is reasonably priced in comparison to the other bars n restaurants around which was a pleasant surprise. There is a mini-supermarket and a big supermarket at the opposite side of the street selling beer and fizzy drinks much cheaper than the hotel though which is a better option than the minibar!

'HotSpot' Restaurant at the top of Rue Vasco Da Gama on the same side as the hotel is a must for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Service is always with a smile and the owners are ageing Solvenians running a thoroughly modern eatery with fantastic wit and great advice on which attractions are best to go to.

On average:- small beer 1.50eu, Large beer 2.00eu, Cocktails approx 5eu (during Happy Hours)
and there's something to suit everyone's tastes :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Areias Villas Appartments (sun shines right on your balcony afternoon and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank younglau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I recently returned from a stag, five of us stayed in Hotel Topazio. It wasn't busy with lots of stags and hens which was a good thing. Hotel was clean & friendly, staff were excellent. Myself and a friend booked the one bedroom apartments which are lovely and big with a living room, kitchen and television. Location is ideal, 5-10min cab to old town, 2min walk round the corner onto strip. Good stuff.

I was on the ground floor and that is where there were issues, I was facing the road outside which has Kiss nightclub on, when I was trying to sleep I could hear the clubs bass untill around 6am and then there was the crowsd at kickout time, this was all with my windows and doors closed and the sleep shutters down. My oither friend didn't have this issue as he wasn't facing the road. So there is my hint: If you choose an apartment, make sure it is not facing the road!

Breakfast was ok, the usual. Staff were friendly in ALL areas of the hotel, cannpt speak highly enough and gave me good restaurant tips. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel, just don't face the road!

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the road.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gforce77i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is based on a couple staying in a one bed apartment in May and having paid just over £30 a night.

Location wise this is great. Two minute walk to bottom of "the strip" and about 25 minute stroll mainly downhill (or flat along beach) into the old town (€4.50 cab ride back). Nearest beach a 5 minute stroll downhill

Firstly yes Kiss nightclub is right opposite the main entrance and I would imagine if staying in the main hotel especially in one of the rooms actually facing the clubs entrance you would be in for a noisy time espcially in high season. Satying where we were in the apartment blocks behind the pool and hidden from the club we had pretty much zero noise directly from the club in Friday or Saturday but you could hear drunken people coming out at various times in night if a light sleeper. Also some noise from other apartments depending on your neighbours bearing in mind the marble floors everywhere.

That aside the aprtment itself was huge with a hallway area, leading to a nicely done marble bathroom with decent shower over the bath, a large lounge area with table and chairs for dining and TV, open to a kitchenette with fridge with freezer compartment, two ring hob and microwave and storage cupboards with plenty of pots pans and crockery. Bedroom decent size, hard bed as mentioned in other reviews but decent storage with safe (ask for key) and dressing table and leading onto balcony with views over pool. For the money no complaints whatsoever

Pool decent enough size but freezing cold and bar lounge area just off with a covered terrace area as well. basic bar meals served for resonable price and drinks average price. Reception helpful and efficient and comfy seating area if waiting. Small mini golf area nad play are for kids just in fromnt of the 5 detached "bungalows" which are new and would be nice and quiet from neighbours, but they do back onto the road at front of hotel so are also pretty close to Kiss

Mini market opposite hotel and slightly larger mini supermarket 2 minutes back up same road near top junction. you can get all you need for a weeks stay at these places and prices reasonable.

All in all a pleasnat stay for good value hence good overall score, I would seriously think about whether to stay in the main hotel however unless you are purely clubbing in which case you won't care!

Room Tip: Go for apratments not hotel rooms as quieter location
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PE1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

i stayed in the hotel topazio for a week the hotel is nice clean staff were nice but from 8pm to 11pm and from 02.30am to 06.00am you couldnt sleep with all the knocking on doors shouting banging, and poeple not booked in the hotel staying in the rooms were they was young females so yeah it was like a knocking shop ok for the young dont take your kids they or if you want a holiday to chill i will never go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: just dont go to this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ant b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
5.3 km away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,021 reviews
0.6 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
0.9 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.8 km away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $49 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing