We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent all round hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just had 8 days end of may/June, superb hotel with excellent facilities, beautiful position right on a loveley private beach, good food, outstanding friendly staff the best I have come across in any hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard so unless you want to be sitting looking at the beach rather than sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darioBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate all reviews, but the most rewarding ones are of course the reviews like yours. Thank you so much, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and motivating words. We are very proud that you even consider our staff to be the best in the world! Thank you once again and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália soon. To avoid misunderstandings and disappointment, we would just like to add a small note regarding the beach, which is not private, but a public beach as all beaches in Portugal are.

Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    662
    232
    69
    30
See reviews for
796
852
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment as we were staying with a toddler. When we arrived we were shown to our studio room. We explained that it is not what we booked and eventually, after being shown 2 more studio apartments, we were "ugraded" to a one bedroom apartment. No - this is what we booked. We were told this happens often so beware!

The layout of the room was great and very clean. Lots of space and a kitchenette which was useful with a toddler. The decor is very old fashioned and the rooms are very basic. The beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. Not what I would expect in a 5* hotel by any stretch.

The hotel is fine but I cannot praise it more than that. There was only the seafood restaurant open at night so all of the other restaurants mentioned on the website were closed. If this is the case, they should make that clear. Not all of the pools were heated. It felt like they were trying to cut costs as there was just something missing.

We had a pleasant stay but would not recommend the hotel or return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holiday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay, which apparently went wrong just from the very beginning. Unfortunately, we do not have your name or details in order to be able to check what exactly happened. There might have been a miscommunication or some kind of misunderstanding with your booking, but it is certainly not true that this happens often and it is unfair to allege that this was done on purpose.
Regarding the other points mentioned by you, we would like to note that the opening times of our restaurants and facilities are indeed stated in our website as you will be able to confirm through the following link http://www.realhotelsgroup.com/GrandeRealSantaEulalia/outrosservicos.aspx?sflang=en
It would have also been a pleasure to prepare your bed with mattress toppers or with other pillows if you would have informed us while staying with us that you were not satisfied with the comfort of the beds.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel did not wow it certainly didn't t disappoint. We were here on a short girls getaway, and the hotel ticked all the boxes. Breakfast was great , we enjoyed lunch at cafe by the sea everyday. Overall service was good throughout. We used the spa which was fine as unfortunate we had no sun!! Was impressed we could shower in the spa before leaving as had a late departure. Taxis prices reasonable 20 euro to villamoura. Hotel seems popular for weddings as they had one everyday, but it didn't t affect us.. Pools are not for swimming as small but still a pleasant area to relax. If you are considering this hotel I'm sure you won t be disappointed but be aware it is not a particularly lively hotel. If you ve booked enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay, our services and facilities, but regret that we were not abe to “wow” you.
We hope that we still be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A really good hotel thoroughly recommended. Brilliant facilities, private beach, a choice of restaurants. The hotel is a little way from the tourist area but as we had a car this wasn't a problem. The hotel offered a bus service into town

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Your feedback is really appreciated and it is indeed very rewarding for us that you have had a perfect stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We would just like to add a small note to what seems to be a recurring misconception. There are no private beaches in Portugal and the Santa Eulália Beach is, as any other beach, public. The services offered at the beach are also not run by the Hotel, but by the beach concessionaire.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel with my husband and 2 year old. I can honestly confirm that this resort is practically faultless.
We enjoyed a lovely week long family holiday with large buffet breakfast, spacious rooms, situated on beach, children’s pool, heated larger pool, wonderful spa area and several restaurants on site for lunch and dinner.
Staff were truly amazing and absolutely nothing was too much trouble – In fact, I have never come across staff who were so consistently helpful and accommodating – Everything in the hotel was so easily accessible.
Even with a toddler the holiday was relaxing as everything was on site and the facilities were terrific.
For those who may be afraid that the hotel is a little out of town, taxis are very reasonably priced. (approx €5 to €7 each way) and taxis are available all the time. There is a free shuttle which runs a couple of times during the day.
We will be going back without a doubt.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and can only conclude that those who have posted negative comments are pernickety and very hard to please.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review.
It is really gratifying to read that you and your family have had a wonderful stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and that you were especially impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. Thank you on behalf of them for your recognition and appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed for one week at the end of May, taking advantage of a decent deal via Secret Escapes. We had a garden view room which looked out over the main entrance to the hotel so it could be a little bit noisy, but not really problematic. The room itself was fairly standard but very clean with a nice little balcony, air conditioning wasn't that effective but it did work. We came to relax and knew before we booked that it wasn't really in a particularly central location. However, it is only a ten minute walk into the outskirts of Albufeira and we found a couple of nice restaurants (Despite the name, we thought Netto was good; reasonably priced and tasty). We took advantage of the free bus from the hotel into Albufeira (it stops at the strip and the Old Town so you can get off where you like). Despite recent reviews, the bus wasn't at all busy and we found it really straightforward. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel that I believe only costs a couple of Euros. The grounds of the hotel and the pool area area are immaculate and we found all the staff friendly. It would be fairly impossible to swim in the pools as they are small and only for children to splash about in or to cool off; but this is obvious from the hotel website so we weren't expecting anything else and it was perfectly fine. We could always get a sun lounger at the pool. We went to the beach a couple of times which wasn't at all busy, and whilst it isn't completely private for guests of the hotel, I don't think it suffered for this. I personally thought the breakfast buffet was pretty amazing! It was the same each day but there was so much choice that I don't think you could get bored with it; I've personally never seen bottles of champagne next to the cornflakes at breakfast! We ate at the buffet barbecue once and the food was lovely, but the explanation of the pricing was a bit confusing! We ate at Cafe Bar Atlantico a couple of times for lunch and that was fine too. My husband used the gym most days and found the equipment better than average for a hotel. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday and we were more than satisfied with the facilities it had to offer.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms overlook the main entrance, if you like to leave your balcony doors open at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália.
We are glad that have spent an enjoyable and relaxing time with us and that the facilities and services offered corresponded or even exceeded your expectations, especially the Breakfast Buffet and the friendliness of our staff.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We are staying at the hotel in May 2012. It's our fifth day here. I had quite high expectations as per so many good reviews but I'm quite disappointed with the way the hotel is run. Some people said that hotel has so much to offer: quite frankly, it offers nothing. The last two days the weather was, so there's no much you can do on the beach with a 2 year old baby: very windy, the water is too cold, the waves are too high, so no swimming in the ocean. The three pools that they have in the main hotel are fine, but I'd say too small for so many people: couple of kids jumping or playing around and that is it, you can't really swim there. It would be ok if you could swim in the beach but we can't, nobody swims in the sea, the water is too colc. One would have thought that if the weather is not nice, then the hotel would try to cheer you up in some way, but no, there is no music, no entertainment.

The beach is not private: there is a car park just outside the hotel gates and anybody can come, park their car and use the beach the same way as anybody from the hotel.

The breakfast is very limited and every day the same things. Haven't tried to dine in as i feel it's a bit too expensive. There are plenty restaurants around Albufeira town, but I didn't like any of them as it seems to me they all have the same politic: all the effort goes into getting people into the place and there's not much effort into the service or food: nobody makes you feel like you want to return. We once walked out of one restaurant as the waiter and the chef were shouting at each other like crazy.

The free shuttle bus from the hotel runs just 5 times a day and is limited to 27 places - when it gets full, anyone left out has to find their own way to town. We took it a couple of times but noticed that some people didn't care about queueing: whoever pushed their way into the bus when the door opened got in and took as many seats as their party would require. On the first day a couple with a little baby who had been waiting since an early hour were left behind just because they didn't push and shove like everyone else. We were quite shocked but not much we could do, no point to complain as nobody is going to do anything about it.

We have a sea view suite, two rooms, two bathrooms. Cleaned every day, to a good standard, but the replacement of finished toilettries doesn't seem to be policy. We ran out of soap, bath salt and vanity set in both bathrooms and it hasn't been replaced in any of them. I have to keep asking the lady for anything that we miss.

We did request a kettle which we've ben given immediately by the cleaning lady. We brought our tea bags as people advised before on the site, and we bought one cup in the nearest InterMarche supermarket ( you can get anything from the super, fruits and veggies are quite cheap, but Sun cream is overly expensive here - around 20 euros per bottle - so be prepared).

Well, it the end: compairing this to the hotel in Menorca we stayed last September, a 4* Sol Melia, this hotel is lower quality and less value for money. I would not return to this hotel, or to Albufeira on the strength of what I've seen.

Be free to ask me questions.

Room Tip: We had a sea view but on the first floor so unless you stand you don't see anything. Not worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maslyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and were actually bored. Although the weather is usually very nice, inMay it might still be unsteady and there may not always be sunny beach weather.
Unfortunately, you did not find that much to do apart from the beach, which by the way is not private but public, but we believe that we offer a diversified selection, even if the weather is not as nice as usual. We do have a Spa, three distinct pool areas with three or two pools each, and although the size is the same, there is always an option for those looking for a more livelier atmosphere, which would be the Hotel pool, or for a more quiet atmosphere, which would be the Resort pools.
Apart from these facilities, we offer an entertainment program with many activities like, walks, excursions, sports activities, etc and there are plenty of water parks, theme parks, boat rides, excursions, etc available, which can be booked through our reception. Also Albufeira offers a wide range of activities, restaurants and bars and we regret that none of them corresponded to your expectations.
We took note of your comments regarding the Shuttle Bus and regret the incident with the young family mentioned and if the guests behaviour was not as civilised as usual. We were not aware of such a behaviour, nor has any other guest mentioned it, but if it would be as bad, we could have of course reacted someway.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we assure you that we will take all measures within our reach the improve the overall quality of our services .

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.2 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.6 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.7 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.3 km away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.8 km away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing