We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only just all inclusive”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 8 April 2012

firstly do not use Shuttle Direct for transfers ! `special` price turned out to mean they dropped you off at hotel but would only pick you up from nearest town 5 miles away !!
Hotel was a mixture of good and poor.The room was massive with separate double bedroom a kitchen although no tea making facility. TV with several english channels inc sport. spare blankets etcFree air con !.Meals were ok, limited choice but mainly decent standard and plenty of room in restaurant.Bar service for us was excellent however we found out that spirits on AI were only available between 6pm-8.30pm which coincided with dinner times ! There were 2 pools and plenty of sunbeds and no `towel booking` ! Packed lunches were not available if you were on a trip which most hotels do.Entertainment was on most nights with usual fare i.e.reptile show,parrot show, karaoke etc.Beach was a 20min walk but was a lovely sandy beach that went on for miles.A few shops nearby but generally not much to do. Trips were decent value but no info on anything in hotel.We had mixed weather but hotel might seem better in height of summer.Definitely nothing for children here.

Room Tip: pick a high floor and ask for one that gets sun in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've have just returned from a week's stay in this hotel and despite the poor weather we had a good holiday. The accommodation itself was excellent. We were expecting the typical bedroom/bathroom layout but were very pleased to be allocated a one bedroom apartment that included a fully fitted kitchen/diner with adjoining lounge and large balcony. The only downside was the lack of view but you can't have everything. The place was spotless and the staff could not have more helpful. We were on an all inclusive package and we were satisifed with the choice and quality of the food. We arrived at the end of the winter season so we didn't expect too much by way of children/adult entertainment; we just kept ourselves amused. The hotel is about a 10 minute to the beach and there are also a few shops/restaurants within 2 minutes walk. The hotel offers a courtesy bus service to Albufeira which offers much more in the way of shopping and entertainment. Acoteias is halfway between Albufeira and Vilamoura and taxi fares to both are around 15 Euro. The bus to Albufeira can be got at the front of the hotel; the fare was 3.40 euro per person. Next time we would hire a car to get out and about. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to any family or couple.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seanchai59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was travelling with two other adults. This was a cheapie holiday. My room turned out to be a massive one bedroom apartment with separate bedroom living room kitchen bathroom and balcony. The bathroom had a bath. The room was cleaned every day and there were lots of towels. The all inclusive food and drink was fine. The food and especially the salad was very fresh. The drinks are local ones but if you're sticking to beer wine soft drinks or coffee it is fine. The bar closes at 11pm which was fine for us. The beach is. 25 minute walk away which may be a problem if you have small children. There is a free bus twice a day into albufeira. The two pools are very nice but at this time of year it was too cold. It would be nice in warmer weather. It is twelve euros in a taxi to Vilamoura which is beautiful and worth a day trip.
Suggestions for improvement. Install a gym, make tea available at lunch and dinner. We Irish like a cup of tea with dinner and not after. Training for staff in customer service. We Irish and im sure this applies to the British expect to be greeted with a simple hello. The reception staff seemed abrupt on occasions and I'm not sure if this was an attitude or maybe a language thing. I'm assuming it was a language thing. A hello and a smile would help greatly. They need information on church services and Mass times.
I have had a lovely restful week in good company in a great hotel which offers excellent value for money. I would recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLIODOIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were there in March.The weather,beaches,landscape are perfect.All inclusive program was from 6pm till 8pm,so it is not all inclusive is well. The food is good.rooms are cleaning every day.Rooms are very big and nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went to the Aplinus as a family group with young children and this hotel is definatly NOT child friendly. there was nothin for the kids to do and when they got bored and run about the lobby n bar area staff became very unpleasant and made un feel very unwelcome. the rooms were fantastic but the staff n customer service was shockin. the beaches were lovely but had to walk along way to get to them as the hotel location not as close as they make out especialy if you have kids and can't take a short cut through the golf course as other people did.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline71westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at Alpinus. e had booked an apartment but had no idea what it would be like and were pleasantly surprised. The apartment had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living area, fully equiped kitchen and dining table. Also had two balconies one off the main bedroom and one off the living room which is great if you have children you can put them in the other bedrrom knowing they cannot get directly on to a balcony. There was also a small TV which recieved BBC and ITV and a small Hi Fi unit. The apartment was very clean, the staff very pleasant. On the down side since it was low season only one swimming pool was open but it was too cold to use anyway, they only serve spirits between 1800-2030hrs which is quite strange, the rest of the time it is soft drinks or wine/bear in very small glasses. The food was a very good standard but it is the usual breakfast of see through bacon and spict sausage but this is what you expect.
The hotel is about 8km out of the main town but there is abus which costs 3.20 euro or a taxi is about 10 euro. The beach is about 15 mins walk but is via quite a hill but nice when there.
Overall very good and we would certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a two bedroom apartment if there is one, we had one and there was just two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We selected the Luna Alpinus apartments on the basis of generally favourable reviews here and elswhere. I can confirm that this establishment is excellent value for money, it is clean and well run. The staff are friendly and helpful. The apartment was spotless, spacious and comfortable. Great value in a low season break, the indoor pool was closed for this reason, but at the cost, this was no privation. Easily warrants 4 Star rating.
We will certainly return, and I have no difficulty in recommending the Luna Alpinus to others.

Peter Anderson
Cavan
Ireland

Room Tip: We chose a i bedroom apartment with balcony, slightly larger than the studio apartment and worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pgaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
10.6 km away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,047 reviews
1.8 km away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
705 reviews
12.7 km away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
797 reviews
4.7 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,380 reviews
1.0 km away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $56 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing