We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay great people and great staff :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Alpinus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Alpinus
Ranked #52 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay great people and great staff :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Dont know what people are moaning about just got back after a week and had a fantastic time. Reception staff are all helpful, what some people need to realize is our sense of humor and culture is totally different to Portuguese we go on holiday and expect far to much i and my partner found all the Portuguese people very warm and welcoming and that is not just in the hotel. As for the pavements well yes welcome to the Algarve this is how they construct the side walks and in some places do need some attention as do ours here in the UK possibly more so.

Accommodation was lovely and clean linen regularly, Food was good and found no reason to complain we had a fantastic time at a price which we was well happy with. Would say to anyone read your small print and checkout where the hotel is located ( google earth great tool ) then you wont be disappointed if you think you should have had more :)

Met some fantastic people Mike, Pete, Harry and Barbara hope you guys read this had a great time in your company A1 people .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonKim2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    386
    227
    98
    52
See reviews for
430
274
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolves
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Well where to start to review this hotel!!!!!!!!

Got to be overall one of the worst places I have stayed. Reading other reviews I do think people must either have stayed at a different place or their expectations they have of a holiday is very low.

This hotel is supposed to be a 4star. I really cannot disagree more.
I and my family went to the Luna Alpinus for 10 days. The weather did dampen our spirits to begin with as it rained from the moment we stepped off the plane but you make the holiday the best it can be.
ARRIVAL
Getting off the coach we heard someone say "I’m glad this isn’t our hotel" but on entering the reception area were surprised at how nice it did look. Went to reception to be told we couldn't get into our rooms until 2pm. As we had 3 rooms in total and a 3 year old with us we asked if maybe just one room could be made available so we could get changed after getting wet. The receptionist gave the impression she would do this and told us to go for a drink in the bar and she would come and find us. We were given our wrist bands for all inclusive but told no information about anything. We purchased a safe for 2euro 20cent per day.
On getting to the bar we realised we couldn’t have a drink as it was 10:45am and the bar opens at 11am (why send us there if it wasn't open) anyway we waited around finally got a drink, asked reception again about rooms to be told "well check in isn't till 2pm" (if she hadn’t of raised our hopes we could have gone for a walk or something) so we ended up going for dinner.
ACCOMODATION
After dinner we were given our room keys and we went to unpack. We were given 3 rooms next to each other which were handy and were what we had asked for. The rooms were fantastic they were huge. There was a big kitchen with appliances. (I didn't have a kettle but I only had to ask for one if I wanted it), bathroom with bath and lovely shower, big living area with English TV and stereo (although the room above my sister's decided to use this for a private party one night but reception did sort it out), large bedroom plenty of storage space and lovely beds even though they were 2 singles pushed together. Rooms were well decorated and clean and tidy and looked after as well as air conditioning or heating.
FOOD
Food is a very low standard. Soup always tasted like potato water when the potatoes have boiled in the water along with some slight flavouring which seemed to be sometimes made up of what was on the menu the previous meal time. 1 meat and 1 fish dish which was either very overcooked or occasionally well under cooked. Meals were always very cold but what I managed to pick out I enjoyed. Meals were accompanied by pasta, spaghetti; rice and chips. Deserts were very repetitive and poor. Each night was very weak jelly, 4 different types of ice-cream, piece of cake and then a mousse or rice pudding and melon chopped up. Presentation was poor.
Breakfast had many choices from the bacon, sausage, egg, beans, tomato to toast and continental to fruit and yoghurt. Drinks were available, wine, beer and soft drinks and water as well as hot drinks. Some of these were restricted at certain meals. I think food was recycled.
First meal gave a bad impression when we waited 30 minutes for a table. We were told there was no space but the biggest area was empty then as we were waiting a large party of around 60 Portuguese came past and were seated. Hotel very much looks after their own kind as they had preference.
POOLS
On knowing that there were 2 pools me and my mom went to look at the second pool (the north pool). difficult to find at first as you had to go up a lift walk round a corridor to go down a lift to then go up a steep slope and through a games room. Whilst going up the slope my mom got went paint all over her hand from the banister as there was no sign to warn of wet paint. Floor was slippy but was worked on whilst we were there.
When the weather finally picked up we went to sun bathe by the pool. Went to get a drink at 11am to find the bar wasn’t open. Went to reception to enquire to find they only open one bar each day in the winter season. So we had to trek to the north pool and bring drinks back. Seemed a bit stupid really when no one was around this pool. Reception told us to make things easier for us to send one person the long way and for them to open the fire escape for the rest of us to get in this meant we only had the slope to contend with. Finally after everyone asking reception they used their logic and opened the nearest bar.
Facilities not very good. Beds very worn and dirty, tables full of ground in dirt, chairs had got cracks in them and once again dirty. Pools rarely used as absolutely freezing all week. Reception hired towels out which looked good quality. Not sure how much though.
ALL INCLUSIVE
What a JOKE!!
On reading reviews before we went we had a feeling that spirits were going to be limited. I really disagreed with this as I have never experienced this before and thought that Low Cost Holidays should tell their customers this rule exists. What was even worse was we especially asked them before booking and was told all Inclusive was 11am-11pm no mention of restrictions. Time of spirits was 6pm to 8:30 coincides with dinner time. What happened though was people were necking drinks in this time and then ended up in bed early. Wine was disgusting which I reckon was watered down. Booking showed ice cream and snacks were included. Half way through our stay when weather improved my 3 year old niece wanted an ice cream. Went to get one to be told it was 2euros for 1 scoop of ice cream which was the same ice cream that was free at dinner and lunch. we let it slide until we saw another child have a massive bowl of ice cream for free (Portuguese child) Me and my sister went to reception to see a child having a blue band changed to orange which the receptionist tried to deny. We asked what the hell was going on to be told we had blue bands not orange which entitled the ice cream, spirits all the while and snacks this was because Low cost holidays did a deal with the hotel to get a lower priced holiday but are not telling their customers. We asked to upgrade but it would cost 12euros 50cents per person per night. This felt like a made up answer as no one seemed to know really. We asked to speak to the manager and after another family spoke to him and complained too, the manager decided to change the rules and for the last few days of our holiday we had proper all inclusive. I respect the manager for what he did there.
LOCATION
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere a couple of shops and bars and supermarket within walking distance. Very uneven pavements around. Beach around 20 minutes walk away but loads of steps to get down to it.
Free courtesy bus from the hotel to Albruferia however only available twice a day If you go in the morning you miss lunch and there is no mention of packed lunch. You have to book the bus so I don’t know what happens when there is no space.
ENTERTAINMENT
Very rubbish entertainment. Cheap entertainment is what I call it.
Karaoke was on 3 times during our stay which is fine but the entertainment guy Celio couldn't sing himself which didn't set the tone very good.
First night abruptly ended at 11:05pm by lights being switched off in extension area even though someone was sitting in there. No warning.
Toni on the guitar was entertaining but couldn't really sing.
Portuguese folk night was quite good and they got the audience up and the atmosphere was good.
Music quiz one night consisted of Celio trying to sing songs from musicals and asked questions about it. Although he kept changing his mind on what answer he wanted.
Another night we had a parrot show which was good but seemed to focus more on selling photos at 10euros a piece, this was true also on another night when we had a reptile show which was 3 reptiles, a snake, an iguana and a tortoise as again photos 10 euros each with no offer for buying more than one. What a rip off. Also saw this show twice in the 10 days so was very boring. Other entertainment was more quizzes. Entertainment room was not big enough for everyone there so I really don’t know what would happen in main season.
Entertainment never started on time and didn’t last very long. Once main thing was over nothing else happened just a tiny bit of background music apart from the times the Portuguese were present and then the evening lasted longer and lots of music was playing.
STAFF
Very rude, moody, unhelpful, sarcastic, information books at reception not correct.
OVERALL
We had a good enough time as you have to make the holiday yourself but the hotel wasn’t up to my standards and definitely not a 4 star regardless how much you pay for it. I think this hotel may be slightly better in the summer as both bars and pools would be open and there would be entertainment in the day but still not as good as it should be.

Room Tip: Some sides of the hotel had more sun than others as mine didn't have a view other than a tree bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzaGWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

mablethorpe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

upon arriving at the hotel we was told our room would not be ready until 2 oclock and was advised that low cost holidays hadnt even paid for our stay. We went to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks to be told that spirits were only available from 6 till 8.30 wine and beer all day what a rip off when you pay for all inclusive. There was no entertainment much at night what they did put on was rubbish. We went to get the table tennis bats from reception to be told that they are in the pool bar that was closed all week. The room was very clean and big 2 bedroom apt. The staff need to learn to be a bit more happy and smile a bit. The beach is about 15 to 20 min walk and is up hill and down hill all the way. Spent a fortune on taxis to get anywere. overall this hotel is not what i paid for and would never go back again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here for a week late March-all inclusive.
The location of the hotel is a bit isolated. It's definitely a taxi ride to Albufeira or Vilamoura. Approx 10-12 euros each way. However, the hotel does provide a free bus service twice a day to Albufeira.
The beautiful Falesia beach is within walking distance- I'd say about 20-25 mins and is well sign posted. There are lots of uneven pavements, steps and steep hills though- may be a bit challenging for those who struggle walking.
Once on the beach if you turn left, Vilamoura is about 1 hr 15 mins walk. Definitely worth a visit though. Beautiful marina.
The rooms in the hotel are spotless and spacious. There is a tv with itv1 and bbc2. The rooms have a bath/shower however we only ever had enough hot water for one hot shower. I had to turn it off to put shampoo on and then turn it back on so my husband could have hot water. Hardly relaxing!!
We also did not have a kettle in the kitchen-disappointing for a tea lover! Tea is available however at the bar and at breakfast.
The food was generally ok. Often the hot dishes were a bit cold. One choice of fish and one choice of meat. There was plenty of salad to choose from but I agree with previous reviews, it did get a bit repetitive. We went out of season and the one dining room was always incredibly busy. Often with very rude people who didn't know how to wait their turn. I can't imagine what it gets like in summer.
There was only one toaster at breakfast which was annoying and the juice was so dilute it tasted like water.
Luckily there is an excellent seafood restaurant at the end of the road and there is plenty of choice in Vilamoura if you fancy a change & to relax over your meals rather than the hustle of the dining room. There are no snacks available between meals but there is a nearby supermarket if needs be.
The bar is only open until 11pm which was a bit disappointing. I would have thought 12 would have been more acceptable for a holiday hotel since there isn't anything else nearby.
The pool area was very clean. There are two pools. The larger pool bar was never open during our stay & it's a bit of a treck to the other smaller pool at the other side of the hotel- up lifts across the hotel & down lifts again.
We attempted to play a game of pool one afternoon however the hotel said they had NO change & didn't keep change !?!
When we eventually managed to find 2 euro & put it in ....there was no cue ball!
Made us chuckle though!
I agree with the previous review that staff could be abrupt at times, particularly on reception. A few lessons in customer service wouldn't go amiss- even just the odd smile would be good. Our friend broke a tumbler in the apartment & the miserable receptionist charged him 2.50.

Overall, this was a nice holiday for the money paid. Good value. The rooms exceeded our expectations for a cheapie gettaway & it was always spotlessly clean which I always look for.









  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrybellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halesowen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

firstly do not use Shuttle Direct for transfers ! `special` price turned out to mean they dropped you off at hotel but would only pick you up from nearest town 5 miles away !!
Hotel was a mixture of good and poor.The room was massive with separate double bedroom a kitchen although no tea making facility. TV with several english channels inc sport. spare blankets etcFree air con !.Meals were ok, limited choice but mainly decent standard and plenty of room in restaurant.Bar service for us was excellent however we found out that spirits on AI were only available between 6pm-8.30pm which coincided with dinner times ! There were 2 pools and plenty of sunbeds and no `towel booking` ! Packed lunches were not available if you were on a trip which most hotels do.Entertainment was on most nights with usual fare i.e.reptile show,parrot show, karaoke etc.Beach was a 20min walk but was a lovely sandy beach that went on for miles.A few shops nearby but generally not much to do. Trips were decent value but no info on anything in hotel.We had mixed weather but hotel might seem better in height of summer.Definitely nothing for children here.

Room Tip: pick a high floor and ask for one that gets sun in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've have just returned from a week's stay in this hotel and despite the poor weather we had a good holiday. The accommodation itself was excellent. We were expecting the typical bedroom/bathroom layout but were very pleased to be allocated a one bedroom apartment that included a fully fitted kitchen/diner with adjoining lounge and large balcony. The only downside was the lack of view but you can't have everything. The place was spotless and the staff could not have more helpful. We were on an all inclusive package and we were satisifed with the choice and quality of the food. We arrived at the end of the winter season so we didn't expect too much by way of children/adult entertainment; we just kept ourselves amused. The hotel is about a 10 minute to the beach and there are also a few shops/restaurants within 2 minutes walk. The hotel offers a courtesy bus service to Albufeira which offers much more in the way of shopping and entertainment. Acoteias is halfway between Albufeira and Vilamoura and taxi fares to both are around 15 Euro. The bus to Albufeira can be got at the front of the hotel; the fare was 3.40 euro per person. Next time we would hire a car to get out and about. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to any family or couple.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seanchai59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was travelling with two other adults. This was a cheapie holiday. My room turned out to be a massive one bedroom apartment with separate bedroom living room kitchen bathroom and balcony. The bathroom had a bath. The room was cleaned every day and there were lots of towels. The all inclusive food and drink was fine. The food and especially the salad was very fresh. The drinks are local ones but if you're sticking to beer wine soft drinks or coffee it is fine. The bar closes at 11pm which was fine for us. The beach is. 25 minute walk away which may be a problem if you have small children. There is a free bus twice a day into albufeira. The two pools are very nice but at this time of year it was too cold. It would be nice in warmer weather. It is twelve euros in a taxi to Vilamoura which is beautiful and worth a day trip.
Suggestions for improvement. Install a gym, make tea available at lunch and dinner. We Irish like a cup of tea with dinner and not after. Training for staff in customer service. We Irish and im sure this applies to the British expect to be greeted with a simple hello. The reception staff seemed abrupt on occasions and I'm not sure if this was an attitude or maybe a language thing. I'm assuming it was a language thing. A hello and a smile would help greatly. They need information on church services and Mass times.
I have had a lovely restful week in good company in a great hotel which offers excellent value for money. I would recommend it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLIODOIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
6.0 km away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#54 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
6.1 km away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#64 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.1 km away
Luna Falesia Mar
Luna Falesia Mar
#5 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#97 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
5.9 km away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#131 of 161 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
1.6 km away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alpinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alpinus

Property: Luna Alpinus
Address: Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alpinus 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Luna Alpinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing