We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Velamar Boutique Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$179
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$310
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$248
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$372
US$348
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$776
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
230
471
251
108
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
471
251
108
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth poolhollywood barself cateringcd playerfalesia beachold towncourtesy busone bedroom apartmentquiet arealarger poolgreat holidaysun terracenearest beachanimation teamthe hotel offerslocal beachbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Large clean and comfortable 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. Pool area clean. All inclusive food of a high quality but we felt that it was a bit repetitive having stopped at the hotel 10 days so started to eat out locally once a day for the last 5 days. Bar service was generally quick even during the evening entertainment but a quieter bar away from the entertainment at night time would have been good.

Room Tip: Rooms serviced daily. Great pillows.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Guest Relations Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear Eugene W.,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This hotel is very good. It is located in a nice city of a nice country in Europe - just a two hour flight from the United Kingdom. The hotel rooms were nice and spacious and the campus (on which the hotel stood) was very big - providing us with lots to do: in pools and on the sides.

When deciding to come here - please note - breakfast is NOT complimentary. But apart from that I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwsswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Guest Relations Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

My partner and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of August, in a self catering apartment. It was very spacious, with a big balcony overlooking lots of trees towards the sea. Air conditioning was great, and the rooms were cleaned and towels replaced every day or two. No bugs, ants or cockroaches seen at all during our stay in any part of the hotel. Comfy bed. Quite area.

We found that most people staying were families and all inclusive. We used the restaurant that on two nights and each night there was a good choice of local food and "regular" food (always veg and things like chicken nuggets and chips). The menu for the day is displayed in the reception area. We were seated immediately when we went to eat but at 8:30PM it seemed like people had to wait for ten minutes or so - but the restaurant area never seemed over crowded or too loud.

The two pool areas are great. North pool is bigger with more sun loungers and grass, this is where the daily activities take place. There is a small pool suitable for toddlers and young (under 10) kids. Then there is the big pool, also child friendly pool, but is classed as one of the two adult pools - shallow at one end and deep at the other. Lots of children with inflatables - but not too busy. This was always busy and crowded. We could never get a bed as there were always towels lying out from 9:30am onwards it seemed. We preferred the South pool. This too had a small toddlers/8 year olds pool but also a bigger adult one. This one rarely had children as the edges were shallow and the middle deep. Sun loungers were again always covered in towels so it was hard to get a lounger. I asked the reception staff to move the towels as there are signs that say it is not allowed but they said they could not, so I moved the towels, folded them up and put them on the tables beside the sun lounger, and nobody said anything (because they obviously knew they were in the wrong!). Have seen reviews that pools are a maze to get to... It's not! Just have to go up and over the restaurant to get to the north pool. Don't let this turn you off. South pool doesn't get sun after 2PM while we were there and only half the sunbeds get it after 12PM. North pool, only half sun loungers get the sun after 2PM and it's gone by 6PM.

The reception staff were nice and as helpful as they could be... Though I was really annoyed they didn't do anything about the sun loungers! One guy helped us with maps and bus timetables and helped us navigate our way to the Wednesday morning Gypsy Market in Quartiera. It's a 15 minute walk from the hotel to a bus stop and a 30 minute bus ride into Quartiera (the driver told us when to get off!).

Every day they had games and activities for kids and adults. Stretching each morning, with an activity every hour or so. Dutch Shuffleboard (for kids), Archery (with suckers not metal, for kids), Darts (plastic, but adults joined in), Pool Games (kids and adults), Water Polo (kids and adults), Table Tennis (free to play at all times but I think they held a tournament), Aqua Zumba (I loved this, kids and adults, guys and girls), Aqua Gym, Birds of Prey presentation, think that's all of them. There is also two pool tables, one at each pool, that costs 3 Euros for a game.

In the evening there is always a Kid's mini disco at 9pm and then evening entertainment at 9.30PM for 90 mins - two hours. The nights we were there they had a Reptile Show, Karaoke, Family Games Night, Couple Games, Sketch Show, Interactive Quiz, and a musical performance.

There is a free shuttle bus that runs from the hotel door to both Praia de Falesia (the nearby beach) and the town centre of Albufeira. I agree with other reviews that it would have been better if this was more frequent - and it's true that you need to book the day before or maybe two days before. A taxi to Albufeira cost us 12 Euros each way. The bus to the beach leaves at 10, 10:30, 11, 12:40, 16:40, 18:20 and 18:50, and returns are at 10:15, 10:45, 11:15, 12:50, 16:45, 18:35 and 19:00. The bus to Albufiera (either the Strip or the old town) leaves the hotel at 9AM, 12 noon or 7:20PM and returns at 9:20AM, 12:20, 6PM and 7:40PM. I would recommend visiting the old town. A beautiful big square with lots of tourist shops, loads of restaurants and bars (loads), lots of live music, beautiful beach, history etc.

The gypsy market in Quartiera was fantastic. It is filled with fake Ray Bans - Koko Bems and Roy Boms etc! Loads of fake clothing and shoe brands: Lacoste, Nike, Adidas, Polo Ralph Lauren, Fred Perry, you name it. Same with bags - they have bags sitting without the logo and then you can choose the logo and they super glue it on! Or they have the Louis Vuitton print. I got a pair of sunglasses on sale for 15E for 5E. I suggested 5E, and he said no, 12, but I stuck to 5E until he gave up at 8E. I then left and he came chasing after me to give them to me for 5E! Also got a lovely leather "Louis Vuitton" for 12E instead of 30E. Don't feel cheeky haggling - they expect this! They will laugh if you if you take it for the for sale price. We used this opportunity to get some nice baked goods from Lidl too!

Loads of cafes, shops, bars and restaurants nearby - we ate at Restaurante Olympico and Tri Costa or something - both SUPERB. Really nice. This mixed land/sea kebabs were my favourite. And the fresh fish (lots of bones).

We booked a sea cruise around the coast with caves and swimming. There is a booking office near the hotel - we paid 29 Euros each for shuttle transfer to Albufeira marina, and a glass of wine on the boat. Really loved this and would have done it again in the same week if my partner was keen! So many companies with boats so easy to get - should book two days in advance but some might have space for the day in advance.

Hope I've not missed anything...! Any questions please contact me.

I would say this hotel is great for families and older couples, terrible for young couples. I wouldn't stay here again unless with my family and kids (we are 26 years old). But really nice hotel!

Room Tip: No sea view - only trees. Pool might be nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HazelXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Guest Relations Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear Hazel,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed with the size of the apartment it slept 5 comfortably. We had a lovely view and a extra large terrace. There were always sun beds available and the hotel opened the pool at 9am which is a sensible time to get your sun loungers. The food was ok but found paying all inclusive the snacks were limited. I thought chips and a burger would of been part of all inclusive but it's not if your a chip loving family you will have to pay for them or have them at lunch or dinner. The cocktails could be more adventurous just one cocktail is all and no other choice. I wouldn't recommend this place if you have teenage children as the entertainment is aimed more for children aged 9 and under. The evening entertainment was disappointing and the queuing at the bar was bad most nights so we went to a bar over the road just to get a drink. This was disappointing as we paid all inclusive! The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are a large family you will need to get a mini bus to the old town that cost us 20 euros each way. We found it a bit remote here and not a lot to do in the evenings. The beach is lovely 20 minutes walk at a normal pass for adults (longer with young kids. I hope my review helps people choose their holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank allaboutmesamsbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Guest Relations Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your preference and for your comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We have taken good note of your suggestions for the organization of future seasons
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

With our previous couple of overseas All Inclusive holidays being ones surrounded by fellow Brits, this hotel made a refreshing change! There were people of many nationalities and if you are put off by the "Brits abroad" idea, this is a more sedate affair! It suits both families and couples and there was a good mixture of both.

We travelled with our 2 children (9 & 6), had a lovely spacious apartment with a very good sized kitchen and lounge area. The beds and pillows were really comfy and a maid came in every day to tidy round, make the beds etc. We liked the addition of a little hi-fi system, it was tuned into a station playing lots of summer holiday type tunes! There was a TV with plenty of channels, but we didn't need to make use of it.

This hotel do All Inclusive really sensibly, some of the reviews on here are suggesting more of a choice for snacks at the pool bar, but to chuck on a t-shirt and head to the main restaurant is easy for lunch. I would actually say there was too much choice at lunchtime, we would pop in for a salad and a small something to go with it... and have too much to choose from, not so great for the waistline! The grilled meats at lunch and dinner in particular were very good. The ice-creams also were the best we'd had on All Inclusive, not the tiny tubs you usually get but decent sized tubs in the restaurant and scoops of good quality ice cream in the snack bar.

Breakfast was good but we found the choice was the same every day. The only difference we saw was alternating a boiled egg with a fried egg. Maybe bringing in something such as weekly pancakes, waffles, omelettes etc. would add a bit of variation. There was a Spanish style omelette for one of the main meals, that would be lovely at breakfast for a change! So if you like a daily fry-up you may get a little bored but luckily we liked to try the other things, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, lovely selection of breads and rolls. And delicious cakes and doughnuts! Bearing in mind that the hotel cater for lots of nationalities, they do a great job in providing food to suit all tastes. Top Marks to Paula on the door, by far the friendliest member of staff who had unlimited smiles for everyone despite being constantly busy seating everyone.

It took us a couple of days to work out the children's club! We were used to the system of British Tour Operators running their own clubs, signing children in and out and having set times eg drop off 10am pick up at midday. This hotel is much more ad-hoc and we actually enjoyed how they do it, the children could come and go as they pleased, so we made sure one of us was by the pool for when they wanted a drink etc. and the children would come and find us. There is a tent at the side of the North Pool where you could pop along in the morning or in the afternoon, join in the colouring-in at the tables and the children could decide whether to join in the activity at the side of the tent. The activities were the traditional sort, archery, boules, darts. The entertainers were friendly, once we'd got over the "how does this work?" and realised you can just say Hi and can my child join in, they will welcome them and chat along with them. There is also a Polish Kids club running alongside the hotel one, generally the Polish entertainer and a hotel entertainer would do an activity together so that all children are welcome to join in. Adults could also join in some of the activities, there was mixed table tennis for example. And the Aqua Zumba was very popular in the afternoons, lots of children joining in with the grown ups for that one.

The mini disco had a good turn out, despite the later start time of 9pm. Our previous experiences have involved being 1st down to dinner to rush over for a 7pm-ish mini disco, so we enjoyed the later time as we didn't have to be down for dinner as soon as the restaurant opened! The bar is a little small for the evening rush and a queue would form quite quickly, not too much to complain about being on All Inclusive, that's often the case, but if you are on Self Catering and wanting to buy a drink this might put you off. The drinks themselves were of good quality, the local beers and wines tasted ok as did the local spirits. The children liked the "children's cocktail", very popular!

The Entertainers did a good job considering they are having to communicate in at least 3 languages, the sketch show wasn't too bad (although if you are there for 2 weeks it is the same the 2nd week). The quiz was good as it was interactive with a press button machine for each team and the karaoke was popular. All traditional evening entertainment, not to everyone's taste but it suited us having young-but-growing-up children who wanted to stay up a bit later as we were on holiday.

In the daytime we used the Courtesy bus and took a few trips into Albufeira and to the beach. The bus was clean and punctual. We made a plan a couple of days in advance so that we could get the bus booked as it would tend to have most or all of the seats booked up by evening the day before.

The pools were lovely, not too big to keep an eye on the children playing. Even the "noisier" pool wasn't too noisy, there was a speaker playing music when the entertainers were on duty but it wasn't played at a really high volume, you could still hear yourself speak or listen to your own music on headphones without trouble. There was some reserving of sunbeds going on, but it's the best hotel we have stayed in for people actually taking towels with them when heading in for lunch etc. & we always found at least 1 sunbed. If you are a big family you probably wouldn't get a big group of beds together all the time, but my husband and I only needed 2 as the children rarely sat down and never had trouble finding a couple of beds in the whole of the 2 weeks we were there.

So overall a lovely hotel, a great choice for All Inclusive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Gerente de relações com clientes at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear Julie C.,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews