We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As Advertised”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Monte Dourado

Breakfast on the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast on the terrace
The best table in Carvoeiro Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breakfast on the terrace
The best table in Carvoeiro
Terrace
Twin Room
Walkway to the village
Kitchen
Entrance to resort
Fireside
Boardwalk Along the cliffs at Carvoeiro
Tennis courts
Sunset on the terrace!!
Kitchen
Walkway to apartment
Dining area
Double bedroom
Boat trips to caves
Relaxing time
Sittingroom
Hallway
Our Pool
Cocktail time on the terrace
Village square and beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Torontogo...
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As Advertised”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

So nice to find that when you arrive, the condo is exactly as advertised and what you anticipated. Perfect location, fantastic view of the village and the sea and all the comforts of home. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and easy access to the pool and a myriad of local restaurants.

Thanks Delores ... wouldn't hesitate to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Nice to learn that you all enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you back again. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanD196...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned from a week in monte dourado. Fantastic resort in a good location near to lots of restaurants and bars ... albeit you need to climb the hill to get home, but that's pretty much everywhere in carvoeiro. Apartments nice and spacious and there is a policy at the pools that you can't reserve a sunbed which is great as it takes away that annoyance when you can't get a sun bed as someone has got there early in the morning and "booked" their place . Would definitely go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Carvoeiro and look forward to welcoming you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning View”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous 10 night stay in this apartment, what a find. We have been to Carvoeiro a few times before but didn't know about Monte Dourado and its apartments with the most amazing views. This apartment in particular is lovely, it's homely & comfortable (master bed is so comfy).

The treat for us was the view, every day we would sit and just gaze at the stunning view of the sea, it's not to be missed! It's a special treat if you travel with children as once they are settled you can just relax and soak it up-perfect.

The other great thing is its proximity to the pool, it's right outside your front door but a safe enough distance for the children. The pool is also heated although only when the management dream it necessary so if your in doubt make sure you ask them to switch it on.

I have no doubt we will be returning.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & comfy bed!
Liked least: Arrival and departure not managed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
1 review
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great week at Monte Dourado. The apartment is fantastic with great access to the main Pool. would love to go back. well recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel O
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The best apartment in Portugal or Spain that we've stayed in!”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've rented apartments in Lagos, Albufeira, Mallorca and Ibiza over the past number of years and the quality of this apartment surpassed them all. We wouldn't call it a holiday apartment, we'd call it a holiday home with the emphasis on "home"! You can see that the owner has looked after this very well and has put a lot of careful thought into the decoration and furnishings. This is a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with a large ensuite, a fully equipped kitchen and a beautiful view of the sea from the balcony.
The apartment complex has 2 tennis courts and 5 swimming pools with kiddies pools also. The largest of the pools is just outside your front door. My daughters (aged 6 and 8) loved the pool, but also liked the idea of trying out some of the other pools too.
This apartment complex is set on a hill, so this might not suit people with mobility problems, but everyone else should jump at the chance of booking this beautiful holiday home.
Carvoeiro, itself, is a really nice family friendly town with a beautiful square beside a beautiful beach. A bouncy castle is set up at 8pm every evening in the summer on the beach which allows you to have a quiet drink while watching the kids wearing themselves on the bouncy castle.
We will go back to Carvoeiro again and, hopefully, this apartment will be available when we do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the apartment.
Liked least: The hill, but it does mean that you get a great view from your apartment balcony.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaandMa...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent apartment with a view in lovely location”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely 10 days in Dolores apartment which was perfect for our family (four of us, our boys are aged 7 and 16). The view from the patio of the apartment was exactly as I had hoped, and we didn't tire of looking out to the sea and cove below. Our weather was mixed but this did not hinder our holiday (April can be changeable, and we had a couple of wet days, a thunder storm but then plenty of dry sunny hot weather too).
The apartment is very near to the pool on the site that is heated so we made good use of that.
The best things about staying here were
1. the view
2. the daily maid service keeping everything clean during your stay,
3. easy access to the pool,
4.plenty of room (I wondered if it was going to be a bit small, but it really wasn't, the rooms are all large and the two bathrooms were great, kitchen well stocked),
5. towels and swimming towels provided
6. a steep but short walk down to Carvoeiro where there are lots and lots of options to eat and drink out, lovely service from the staff in all of the restaurants and bars.
7. The beach / cove is lovely and we walked along the coast where there are some stunning views.
8. We didn't need to hire a car, it was nice to stay around Carvoeiro but we did venture out on the bus to other places on some of the days. The bus services are not all that frequent or cheap but were okay and once or twice we took a taxi to get out and about.
9. Our boys were both delighted to find Sky Sports 1 amongst the television channels!
10. The Monte Dourado reception staff were helpful and helped to arrange our transfers for us. We made use of the tennis court.

The only thing that was slightly annoying was that although there was wifi in the apartment, it 'dropped out' a lot meaning that you had to keep logging back in, but this was a minor niggle.

Previous reviews have mentioned the fact that the walk up from the town is very steep - it is true but necessary in order to get that wonderful view!

Would fully recommend this place, we had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely place
Liked least: wifi problem a minor irritation
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smartforc...
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this little gem. Perfect sea views of Carvoeiro. lovely hand painted pictures on the walls and tasteful furniture. Comfy beds and a short stroll down the hill to eat/drink.We could have had better weather but that was out of dolores control. She was very helpful to us with advise etc.My love affair with carvoeiro continues.If you are thinking of booking you wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing