We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect local experience

What a great way to discover the lovely city of Faro. If you only have two or three days to... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2020
sterretheunisseb
via mobile
Wonderful tour, above and beyond!

This is the best activity you can do in the Algarve! We felt like we understood so much more about... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2019
ericostlund
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Faro
from US$37.07
More Info
from US$50.70
More Info
from US$39.62
More Info
from US$12.90
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 142 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We booked the fisherman tour and were greeted by our wonderful guide Joana at the market. We spent the next 5 hours experiencing the tastes, culture, and history of the Algarve and particularly Faro. Exploring and discovering Faro with the benefit of local knowledge and insight significantly enhanced our our understanding of the region, it's relationship with the sea, and if course the wonderful food. From the market through the streets of Faro, and into the old town this was much more significant than a food tour. It was about capturing the essence of the region and was a highlight of our visit to the Algarve. We even returned to one of the restaurants we had visited that day for dinner that evening.
Thanks Joana for a great day. Tom&Rosie

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank tommycDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Tom & Rosie,
Thank you for this great review!!!
You were a wonderful couple I had the privilege to guide...your enthusiasm and passion for food and coffee ;)
And all the experiences shared from Ireland and Italy made my day...or my tour!

I´m so glad to read that you have returned to one of the places we have been during the tour, that is what makes the local economy goes round, which is one of our main goals.

And we couldn't appreciate more than having you saying that the Fisherman Food Tour was the " highlight of our visit to the Algarve.".

Thank you once again for choosing our experiences!

Warm regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We were a group of 8 college friends (4 couples) who traveled to Portugal. We booked this tour to get a "taste" of the local culture and foods. Antonio was our guide and he was wonderful. We were worried at first that the 5 hour tour would be too long but it was perfect and didn't drag at all. It was a perfect combination of local foods/drink, history, culture and fun. It was one of the best things we did our whole trip. Antonio was epic!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bjork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Proprietário at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hello there! Thank you for your great review of our experience together! Your party were so funny and entertaining it made the 5h of our Old City Food & Cultural, in Faro, fly in a blink of an eye. Our Food Tours are way more than just food, we love to provide a balanced activity combining drinks, history, culture, and of course, good laughs! So, I´m very happy that for you it was one of the best things you did on your whole trip.
I will remember our jokes for a long time, my friends.
Take care and hope to see you at another opportunity.
Yours,
António

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Our food tour of the Algarve was hosted by the very lovely Joana. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Portugal. We visited 7 restaurants and learned much about the history of the Algarve Region. We wandered down lovely side streets and really enjoyed the ambience of Faro. Take your camera and a good pair of walking shoes. Our tour lasted about 5 hours - longer than it should as we were a chatty group. Joana ended with a wonderful suprise which I won't spoil by informing you what is was/is in the event it is on all the tours - but well worth it. If you are visiting the Algarve I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Carolyn,
It was my pleasure to have guide your beautiful group of old good friends (couples).
The four of you were amazing and funny clients!!!
It is very importante for us to know that our Petisco Food Tour was: "one of the highlights of our trip to Portugal".

Thank you for recommending the tour.
Wish you all the best in the world and a long friendship!
Warmth from the Algarve,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Our Eating Algarve Tour with Joana was fantastic! She was very informative about the region and was so pleasant. The food and beverages were delicious and there was plenty to eat and drink. I highly recommend this tour if you like to know some history and enjoy typical food and beverages of the region.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Julie,
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation!
It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet and guide you, your husband and the beautiful Hoar couple on our Petisco Food Tour, in Faro.
Present you with some of the most identitary, ancient and important ingredients and dishes of the Algarvian cusine along with heritage sites is our main goal.

Great tour with the four of you!
Hope to have you again soon!
Warmth,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Knowledgeable and charming lady Joana guided us through history, architecture, art and gastronomy of her city. It was very pleasant evening, one of the best experience during our stay in Portugal. Must doing activity in Faro. And very tasteful.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank VaclavZikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Vaclav,
Thank you so much for your kind and warm review!
I´m really glad you appreciated our heartfelt and genuine hospitality with our travellers.
Loving what we do makes every tour different and special!
And it is priceless to realize that the travellers felt that enthusiasm as if it was the very first time we were guiding.

Feel free to join us everytime you come to the Algarve! We will be here to welcome you once again!

Warmth,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews