We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect local experience

What a great way to discover the lovely city of Faro. If you only have two or three days to... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2020
sterretheunisseb
via mobile
Wonderful tour, above and beyond!

This is the best activity you can do in the Algarve! We felt like we understood so much more about... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2019
ericostlund
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Faro
from US$36.99
More Info
from US$50.59
More Info
from US$39.53
More Info
from US$12.87
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 142 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

If you are visiting Faro the Market and Fisherman tour will provide the opportunity to learn about the Algarve region, Faro and the location of fantastic restaurants in Faro as Antonio share his passion over 6 hours of this fantastic experience.
Walking through the market learning about the important role food and drink plays in Portuguese society and how it is evolving and changing between generations and the potential impact this may have on the future.
As the tour progressed we explored some ‘out of the way’ restaurants frequented by locals who understand it is all about the food, and that decor is to serve a functional purpose and nothing else
The food was tasty having been simply prepared that allowed the food to shine. Nine different tasting experiences, from small little tasters, to plates of BBQ seafood finishing with a unique cocktail.
Antonio knew his subject matter, locations opened just for the group and they waited - (as our group spent more time eating, drinking and discussing - encouraged and facilitated by Antonio), as we fell behind schedule- this showed the respect of the community for Antonio and the value he is bringing.
A fantastic experience, highly recommend and we look forward to going back to the restaurants we visited to enjoy more time and more food.
Some advice, bring your appetite.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank KLMatsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioGuerreiro00, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

My dear, many thanks for your lovely and deep review. It was a pleasure to have met and guided you and the rest of the group in our Fisherman Food & Cultural Tour, in Faro. The tour normally lasts 5 hours, but when we engage with passion in longer discussions while eating and drinking at each location, it turns out easily in 6 hours. Glad to know the pace was perfect.
Thank you once again for recommending our Tours. And please feel free to come to some of the restaurants we visited and enjoy the Algarve´s gastronomy at its best!
Your new friend,
- Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2019

This tour is an absolute must if you are visiting Faro. Joana gave us a wonderful insight into the history of the Algarve which was enhanced by the beautiful food and drinks along the way. Joana knowledge of the area and its history, along with her rapport with the owners of the restaurants represents the allure of Faro. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody visiting the area.

Date of experience: March 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

My dear Evelyn,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words describing the experience you and Jackie had with Eating Algarve Food Tours!
It really means much to us knowing that you've enjoyed the experience that much.
It was my great pleasure to guide you both, and to learn from you as well.

Sincerely,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

I have done food tours in many places (NYC, Seattle, Lisbon, and many other cities). This was definitely one of the best. Joanna was the owner and she is super knowledgeable about the Algarve and Faro. We are at local spots in the Faro market, in the Riverside neighborhood and in the old town. She has access to spots that are quite unique and we learned so much about the food and the history. 10/10. This is a great tour and super way to spend a day in the Algarve. We look forward to another tour with Joanna the next time we are in the Algarve!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank MSPRINGCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2019

Dear Mark,
It is was a deep pleasure to guide you and your beautiful wife.
I couldn't be more pleased with your review!!!
Placing Eating Algarve Food Tours as ONE OF THE BEST among so many you´ve tried is simply priceless for us.

I´m so glad to know that our Fisherman Food Tour was the perfect way for you to experience the Algarve on this first visit.

I´ll be more than happy to have you join us again on your next visit to Portugal.
The warmest regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2019

We booked the Petisco Food Tour where Antonio provided an excellent insight of Faro with its historical and contemporary places surrounded by typical local food and drinking experiences at locations we have not identified before on our previous visits of Faro
So our expectations have been fully met we can really recommend the tour.

Date of experience: March 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Camper27726296948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioGuerreiro00, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2019

Thank you very much for your review of our Petisco Food & Cultural Tour, in Faro! I am more than happy to know we have fully met your high expectations, even more, when you had been in Faro before. It is privileged when our guests fully understand what we are doing: mixing the historical visits and local tastings at some of the best but unknown places.
Hope to have the opportunity to meet you again!
Your new friend,
- Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Wow. My sister and I went on the “Petisco Food Tour” with Joana as our guide. From start to finish we had an AMAZING time, what a great idea to combine both delicious authentic Portuguese tapas with sightseeing in Faro. The variety of food was excellent, we had cuttlefish, goats cheese, sardines on toast, tasty pastry, local crafted beer - to mention some. Oh, and an amaaazing drink at Columbus bar (the best I’ve ever tried!). And Joana was fabulous! Her knowledge, dedication and positive energy was admirable. I will definitely try the other tours next time I visit the Algarve.
THANK YOU, Joana and Eating Algarve Food Tours!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank strandsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Wowwww!!!!

Dear Susanne... THANK YOU for this beautiful, enthusiastic description of our Petisco Food Tour!

Can't wait to guide the 2 of you again.
Really looking forward!

Sincerely,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews