We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect local experience

What a great way to discover the lovely city of Faro. If you only have two or three days to... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2020
sterretheunisseb
via mobile
Wonderful tour, above and beyond!

This is the best activity you can do in the Algarve! We felt like we understood so much more about... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2019
ericostlund
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Faro
from US$36.99
More Info
from US$50.59
More Info
from US$39.53
More Info
from US$12.87
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 142 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous culinary tour around Faro with my wife. Starting with a delicious (and non-seafood) Bifana sandwich in the fascinating Faro food market, the tour progressed to several hidden gems located around the cobbled streets. Friendly locals and belly filling seafood made the time pass by quickly, and a delicious cocktail in the sumptuous Colombus bar rounded things off beautifully. Above all, we found Antonio a superb guide: amusing, informative and passionate about both the Algarve and, of course, his food and drink. A recommended day out!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Devil_Ray73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioGuerreiro00, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

My dear, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Fisherman Food & Cultural Tour, in Faro. We love when we are able to amaze our guests and providing them with a great day out! Glad to know you have enjoyed meeting our partners, that range from local hidden and humble gems to sumptuous places. I took great pleasure to have met and guided you!
Hope to see you at another opportunity.
Your new friend,
- António

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I have been on many food tours over the years, and this one tops the list! Johanna was our guide and her passion for history, food and culture brought this tour to life. The food and beverage tastings were amazing, the walking tour was very informative and extremely interesting. This was a great way to get introduced to the wonderful country of Portugal. I highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Faldo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear Kim Braun,

Placing Eating Algarve Food Tours on the TOP of YOUR LIST among so many you´ve tried is simply priceless for us.
I couldn't be more pleased with your review!!!
I´m so glad to know that our Petisco Food Tour was the perfect way for you to experience the Algarve and Portugal on your first visit.
It is was a great pleasure to guide you and your wonderful friends.

The warmest regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2019

What a wonderful experience. We were a small group led by Antonio who showed us around Olhão for about six and a half hours. To be honest seeing the main road of Olhão when we first arrived I was a little concerned what was awaiting us (the centre has a wide variety of restaurants and is being renovated at the moment) but Antonio's enthusiasm and knowledge immediately put me at ease. We started out with a Bifana (which we had again the next day!) and a tour of the markets then a variety of restaurants, cafes and the cannery (which I found especially interesting). It was a fantastic way to spend the day in a thoroughly interesting town with a rich history that Antonio lovingly told - highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank KeithC894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioGuerreiro00, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Keith, thank you very much for taking the time to write the review # 100 on our Food Tours, and this one especially about the Ria Food & Cultural Tour, in Olhão. It is with great joy that I read your feedback regarding our tour. Olhão is a very special place with its unique people and traditions. Glad to know about your wonderful experience with our dedicated partners of history and food. I wish you a magnificent time in Algarve and hope to see you at another opportunity.
Your new friend,
- António

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

If you are visiting Faro the Market and Fisherman tour will provide the opportunity to learn about the Algarve region, Faro and the location of fantastic restaurants in Faro as Antonio share his passion over 6 hours of this fantastic experience.
Walking through the market learning about the important role food and drink plays in Portuguese society and how it is evolving and changing between generations and the potential impact this may have on the future.
As the tour progressed we explored some ‘out of the way’ restaurants frequented by locals who understand it is all about the food, and that decor is to serve a functional purpose and nothing else
The food was tasty having been simply prepared that allowed the food to shine. Nine different tasting experiences, from small little tasters, to plates of BBQ seafood finishing with a unique cocktail.
Antonio knew his subject matter, locations opened just for the group and they waited - (as our group spent more time eating, drinking and discussing - encouraged and facilitated by Antonio), as we fell behind schedule- this showed the respect of the community for Antonio and the value he is bringing.
A fantastic experience, highly recommend and we look forward to going back to the restaurants we visited to enjoy more time and more food.
Some advice, bring your appetite.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank KLMatsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioGuerreiro00, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

My dear, many thanks for your lovely and deep review. It was a pleasure to have met and guided you and the rest of the group in our Fisherman Food & Cultural Tour, in Faro. The tour normally lasts 5 hours, but when we engage with passion in longer discussions while eating and drinking at each location, it turns out easily in 6 hours. Glad to know the pace was perfect.
Thank you once again for recommending our Tours. And please feel free to come to some of the restaurants we visited and enjoy the Algarve´s gastronomy at its best!
Your new friend,
- Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2019

This tour is an absolute must if you are visiting Faro. Joana gave us a wonderful insight into the history of the Algarve which was enhanced by the beautiful food and drinks along the way. Joana knowledge of the area and its history, along with her rapport with the owners of the restaurants represents the allure of Faro. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody visiting the area.

Date of experience: March 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

My dear Evelyn,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words describing the experience you and Jackie had with Eating Algarve Food Tours!
It really means much to us knowing that you've enjoyed the experience that much.
It was my great pleasure to guide you both, and to learn from you as well.

Sincerely,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews