We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect local experience

What a great way to discover the lovely city of Faro. If you only have two or three days to... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2020
sterretheunisseb
via mobile
Wonderful tour, above and beyond!

This is the best activity you can do in the Algarve! We felt like we understood so much more about... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2019
ericostlund
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Faro
from US$36.99
More Info
from US$50.59
More Info
from US$39.53
More Info
from US$12.87
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 142 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2019

Every year we travel with my family in Europe, visiting different regions, cities, wineries, meeting people and looking for new experiences. So I can say with confidence that we are spoiled tourists). Our group consisted of 4 adults, from 50 to 70 years old. Antonio met us in the center of the city and we immediately plunged into the history of Faro.
The first imagination we got in a small cafe-bar, where the cafe's owner and same time cooker serves something new every day. Early in the morning, he simply goes to the local market and chooses those products from which he wants to cook something for his visitors. This cafe is like a trip to history, where with a help of the ancient map we learned the history of Portugal from Anthony and enjoyed our first tasting.
After that we continue out trip to visit old city center and got a lot of interesting information from Antonio as well as marvelous lunch in local restaurant.
In a road we make a stop in the restaurant we we enjoined ousters and sea food tasting with local sparking wine. It was yummy!!!
We finished our tour an hour later than we should do in a great bar, which was opened spatially for us to try great cocktail in accompany with local desert which Antonio bough in the morning to this bar specially for us! Fantastic!!!.
Everything was so tasty, sincere, simple and interesting. We are already thinking about the next trip to Portugal and a meeting with Antonio in some nearby region. Deep knowledge, the ability to create an atmosphere, charm and ease of communication - this is what Antonio share with his guests. Thank you Antonio! Hope to see you again!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank khrabraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatingalgarvetours, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

My visitor, my client, my new friend: thanks a million for this beautiful, honest and well-detailed review. As this was a special tour design for you and your group, I had the opportunity to accommodate your wishes and your high expectations. Being able to accomplish it, makes me feel very happy and even proud. It is a great feeling knowing I was somehow a kind of ambassador of my own region and country. It also helps to have a wide, local and professional network of partners to create the best experiences possible. My heart is full of light and your review will strengthen the will to keep doing the best Food & Cultural Tours in Algarve!
Thank you, once again.
Your new friend:
- António

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Our guide (Juana, lovely , full of energy, vivacious and pretty young lady) was above excellent. We visited the fish market, numerous tasting places and ended in a fab cocktail bar.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Dear Robin,
What a compliment!!! Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review on our Fisherman Food Tour.
It was a great pleasure meeting and guiding you & Daphne.

The warmest regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Our family of four (two parents/two adult children) really enjoyed our tour with Joana. She was very personable, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour was well-paced and each stop was a pleasure. We had many wonderful dishes and great wine and beer. This tour is a great way to get to know Faro.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mkdsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Dear Mary Kay,
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review on the tour you and your beautiful family had. Such a compliment!!!
It was a great pleasure meeting and guiding you all!

The warmest regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We lucked out and had Antonio all to ourselves for the evening. This tour was a wonderful way to both see a bit of the old town in Faro, learn about the food culture in the Algarve plus you get to try a bunch a food and local wines.

Intentionally we did this tour at the beginning of our visit to the area and it set us up for things to do, see and eat in the area.

Antonio was great and we learned a lot about the area as well as life in Portugal. He has done his homework and is very proud of what the area has to offer. I suspect if you have specific interest, and give then enough advanced notice, the group will try and accommodate.

Each stop is brief but not rushed. The portions are modest so eat up. If the restaurant opens up a fresh bottle you might be able to take the balance with you for later.

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatingalgarvetours, Owner at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Hello! Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with other travellers, and also for recommending our Old City Food & Cultural Tour, in Faro!

As this 5-hours tour is a mix of food and culture with visits not only to restaurants but also to historical sites, you did the perfect thing of doing this tour at the beginning of your visit to the area. I have great pleasure in sharing our traditions and culture, not only from the region but also from the rest of the country.

Thank you once again, and hope to meet you at another opportunity.
Your new friend:
- António

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2019

A tour of the city like no others. Joana is passionate about Algarve lifestyle, history, gastronmy and the history of the city of Faro. Our group loved every minute of this 6 hour tour. You will see and experience and enjoy Portugal all the more after this tour!
Thank you!!!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana M, Manager at Eating Algarve Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review and recommendation on our Fisherman Food Tour!
It means the world to us knowing that after the tour you all saw, experience and enjoy Portugal much more!
It was a privilege to guide the 4 of you.

Wish you all the best in the world and a long friendship!
Warm regards,
Joana

Sharing Tasteful Experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews