We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but smells of strong detergent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guest House Sao Filipe
Ranked #17 of 27 Faro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It is an ok place ..but noway a super guesthouse. Rooms are cold..clean..strong detergant smell but cheap beer available ..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty11228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel has one bid dissadvantage, the stairs that one has to climb, very narrow and a struggle with two cases.
Apart form that the hotel was very clean, close to the bus, train and train stations. the night porter was very helpfull and spoke perfect English, I was in room 4.
On the recomendation of the night porter I went to a nearby restraught and was very pleased with the stone baked steak. In the mornign I went to the cafe opposite to the railway station 1.35E for a galio coffee (with Milk) and a pastry. Because of the steep stairs, and my age/knees I wil not stay here again - but I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We booked this hotel for one night as our flight got in too late to get the bus to our final destination and it really was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. To be honest Faro itself is a real dump and I wouldn't advise visiting if it can be avoided but the area in which the hotel was located was particularly run down and we felt quite unsafe returning from dinner late at night. Our room was absolutely tiny and the bathroom was even smaller, nothing was very clean, there was really bad mould in the shower and the towels and bed linen had an unpleasant smell. The room we had was right next to reception and the soundproofing was so bad we might as well have been trying to sleep in the corridor. Sleep wasn't something I got a lot of and I was extremely happy when it was time to leave, I wouldn't advise staying here for a holiday and if it wasn't for the fact we literally needed somewhere to sleep for the night we would have left and looked elsewhere. The room cost about £50 which isn't even that cheep, breakfast was not included, credit cards were no accepted. The only plus is that it was only a stones throw away from the bus station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucinda101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were very impressed with this place, everything was so clean and tide! The staffs are very friendly. They have air-condition and television. If I could give them a pontuation I would say 100% perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandoikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just needed an overnight break in a trip from Seville to Lisbon. We were looking for a place close to the bus and train station. Not the best part of town, but it appears the economic downturn has hit the whole city. Not nearly as pretty and inviting as we were expecting but it may have been the area we visited. The hotel is on the second floor with no elevator. Right next to a fish market so the smell coming home late was pretty overpowering. But we had a nice, but very small, room overlooking the street. (no big view there). Older building and facility but worked OK for us for a quick overnight. Very limited dining options in the area, you will have to walk to the downtown (about 5-6 blocks). Breakfast is available at a cafe across the street from the train station (about 2 blocks).

The building is well maintained and the locking front door made us feel much safer but this is not a fancy hotel - just a nice locally owned guest house for budget travelers. I would stay again if I was just staying one night between trains.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlinPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

When we first arrived we were a little worried as the area around the guest house is very run down. However when we went into the hostel we were pleasantly surprised as it was light, clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us advice about places we could go and things that we could do as we hadn't a clue what we were going to do with our holiday. The lady even booked things over the phone for us and made sure we knew exactly where to be and what to do. The location was great, right near the town and actually we did not feel unsafe around the hotel as most of the people around the area were tourists like us. The room was great, you don't expect air con in budget accomidation and we had a lot of tv channels`to watch. It was cleaned daily and they even left little chocolates for us. The room was perhaps a little small but we didn't need it any bigger. It also had a nice terrace to sit on with reasonably priced drinks. It's not 5* but if you're holidaying on a budget it's great. The staff will go out their way to make sure you are looked after. Would recomend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliegirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised with the place. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was clean and had very good air conditioning. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the train station. The free wifi worked perfectl;y and the tv had a good selection of English language channels. Drinks are available from the reception and are well priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,641 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,000 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
176 reviews
0.6 km away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#9 of 28 in Faro
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Sao Filipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Sao Filipe

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 55 10, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range: $51 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest House Sao Filipe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our establishment consists of eleven bedrooms where we offer you tranquility, with a warm and friendly atmosphere,providing our guests to the ultimate personalized service. This is without a doubt our most important attribute.Each of our rooms have ensuite bathroom, wifi, air dryer, cable TV, air conditioned and heating. We have alarm connected to the reception in all bathrooms and even the security system and detection of fire in the building. Breakfast can be taken just below the Guest House in a coffee shop on corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guest House Sao Filipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing