We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
22
25
31
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
25
31
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sao filipe air conditioning train station one night roof terrace old town guesthouse felipe key reception ensuite lagos marina
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Very close to the bus and railway stations - so handy when arriving - just a few minutes walk. Basic, small room - with our own bath room. Bright and friendly decor - gives it s fresher feel. Fine for an overnight stay. Small roof terrace too.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Not so clean and extremely tiny room. Stayed 2 nights, paid 36euro per night. They accept only cash and you have to bank transfer 1st night cost when booking. Very stiff staircase makes tough for those who need to carry big luggages. 24 hours open reception, however the entrance is locked at all time and you have to ring a bell (noisy again) to open the door. Reception located end of the hall makes constant noisy from every one comes from/to the reception. Rooms are poorly sound isolated and always noise from the hall. I will never stay this hotel again. Breakfast not included. End of the street corner there is a sandwich bar opens about 8 in the morning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sydney_park_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and would not go back. The price is Ok but the rooms are not the best. At least ours. The room was very small with a tiny window and the wi-fi was very slow but those things did not concerne us so much (we thought price-performance is Ok). The problem was that the walls are like made of paper, you can hear everything the neighbours are doing (and ours were not the most polite ones - partying late etc.), also our room was next to the stairway, so everytime someone entered the guest house I woke up since there is like a doorbell/a buzzer - each guest pushes a button and then the receptionist let’s him in - and the sound of the buzzer is pretty annoying if you’re trying to fall asleep. The terrace wasn’t too lovely either, but we were in off-season, maybe it’s nice in summer. There were some small bugs (like ants) in our room when we arrived, but it got cleaned once we complained. We had to leave the water in bathroom running for a long time for it to get warm (at first I thought there will be no warm watter, but in something like 10 minutes it came). Also a weird thing - you have to leave the key at the reception every time you leave the room - I guess they only have one key for each room. Summary - the location and the price are fine but I would not recommend it for people who want to have some rest - it felt more like a cheap hostel than a hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I arrived in Faro after landing in Portugal at 8pm. We were informed by the incredibly rude receptionist that check in was 3pm until 6pm and that our reserved room had been given to someone else so we would have to go somewhere else. Leaving aside from the ridiculous time window for check in (which was mentioned but only in small print on the confirmation) what was really shameful was the lack of any kind of apology or sincere offer to help us find another hotel, at night in a strange city. I strongly suggest avoiding this place as they seem to have very little regard for their guests.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ladamcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospedaria, Proprietário at Guest House Sao Filipe, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

The client has no reason whatsoever in the observation he makes, he is failing the truth when he says that we do not offer to find another place to stay, they arrive two hours after the check in time, they did not contact us to inform that will arrive later, a procedure adopted by the majority of those staying in a hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The Guest House Sao Filipe is perfectly located in walking distance to the train station and also to the city. Simple but nice, clean rooms and helpful staff. They have a roof terrace, too. No breakfast included, but there are plenty of possibilities just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiane-Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews