We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different ...Baroque meets trendy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is not your usual multi national hotel
It is different with the old and new working together although not to everyones taste

The views were great across the valley to Faro and the spacious rooms very modern in stark contrast to the beautifully refurbished palace building.

We enjoyed the restaurant and the staff were good

No complaints !

Room Tip: If having wine with your meal try the pousada ageda ....very reasonable and good quality
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Palacio Estoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

If you are into retro Soviet 60's concrete bunker architecture mixed wth high Victorian this is the place for you.
If you need to stay in a Pousada near Faro Airport use the Pousada at Tavira it is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyNorthernEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had planned a night somewhere far from the madding crowd before we took possession of an Algarve villa with extended family. Arriving on a very hot day, we were charmed from the moment of our arrival. Such a pretty pink and yelllow palace with gorgeous, cool gardens with plinking fountains, and breezy, pale columned terrace commanding a stunning view of Faro and the sea over lemon and olive groves. And then the modern, cunningly designed accommodation, hacked into the side of the mountain. Vast comfortable bed, huge well appointed bathroom, little private patio fringed with wild thyme.....just gorgeous! We had a delicious (set and very reasonable) lunch, a relaxing swim and snooze by the adult's pool (there is also a children's one and a heated indoor jacuzzi-type one) an even more delightful dinner, and finally a splendid breakfast before very very reluctantly making our way towards the hurly burly of the Algarve. Delightful touches everywhere, including a jug of iced home made lemonade with sprigs of fresh mint, on the reception desk as you check out, which my husband declared the most refreshing thing he 'd ever drunk. We would love to return for a weekend and would highly recommend it as a Spring/Late Summer treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Pousada is a beautiful building carefully refurbished - a mixture of old & new. It wil be more spectacular when the gardens open for the public.
Our room was large and comfortable, the pool is worth spending the day! Restaurant is also very good.
At the end of the day we felt that the unit was understaffed for the weekend albeit the hotel was full. Service in the pool area had to be called in by phone although there is a pool bar - no explanation was given. What happened was that glasses and dishes were left on the tables the whole day - noone bothered to pick them up although service was delivering more things to the pool area. Also most of the sun umbrellas were broken which I can only understand (although not accept) because of the time of the year. I suppose they replace the umbrellas in the new season (at least I hope they will).
Overall, the stay was very pleasant. Service was rather scarce but nice, always with a smile. Worth a revisit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnandrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Only six miles from Faro airport and within easy reach of the main coastal motorway this hotel was a great base for a short break. Incredible combination of ancient and modern in the contrast between the public rooms and modern bedrooms.
Agree with others that this isn't a cheap alternative but in my view it was worth the extra expense.
You will need a car to have alternative eating venues assuming you go bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms have small balcony and coast view. Not worth paying extra for higher floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having stayed at the Estoi Palace last week I would echo a couple of comments made by others. Staff at the desk, with one very clear exception, were not interested in helping finding solutions to questions. To be specific, when trying to locate a restaurant, 2 desk staff who did not know of it personally had no thought to Google it on their computer or look in their own restaurant directory (it was there). Third staff member, a pleasant young woman, did both as well as mapping it out for us for the taxi driver. At breakfast, we asked if we could sit at an empty table on the terrace and the attendant answered yes, but he didn't offer to set the table for us-- we filched place settings from another table ourselves. Finally, (and an observation rather than a complaint) this hotel is a long way from anywhere local so if you are without a car there is precious little to do once you have wandered around the little town of Estoi for half an hour. Overall, for the price compared to other #1 in a town places we stayed at on this trip, this was not a standout.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandVVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We took advantage of an offer and made a quick decision to book this hotel. We flew to Faro and took a quick 17 euro taxi ride to the hotel - about 15mins. The hotel was lovely. The offer included a superior room with patio. The views were magnificent - looking over Faro to the sea.
The buffet breakfast couldn't really have been bettered - although the hot food did run out at one point but was probably replenished after we left. We had a lovely dinner one evening. The food was very good, as was the service. We were surprised as another guest had told us that the service had been dreadful on the Sat night. The pool bar was a little disappointing as it seemed to lack proper organisation. The staff seemed to be run off their feet - one simple lunch for four took nearly one hour to be served. Also the pool bar closed inexplicably during our stay when it was very warm and clearly very busy - more efficient operation would have seen sales rise steeply. ( guests could phone from the poolside for service)
The little bar in the old part of the palace was a bit of a mystery. We would have liked a drink and a snack meal but it took a long time to get served the drink and the menu never appeared,
So we didn't eat. The drinks were quite expensive, but we expect that in a hotel of this quality.
The village cafes are very reasonable, some cheap. We ate a couple of times in Vitor and the food was good. We also took advice and walked ( 15-20mins with sensible footwear) to Vterre. It was a lovely experience so made the journey twice.
The Sunday Market was well worth a visit as was a trip to Fuseta and Travira.
In summary, an excellent experience with friendly and mostly very helpful staff - we would go again (if we could get a good offer - full price is beyond our means).

Room Tip: The patios are not private if you have 201 or 202. They are very near the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
9.6 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
973 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,602 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,116 reviews
8.8 km away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
291 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio Estoi

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $136 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Palacio Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing