We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We took a bus from Faro to Estoi for the day and managed to find our way on foot to the Palace Hotel. From the outside of the property the accommodation block looks like a prison cell, very odd.

The entrance to the Palace itself (reception/dining/outdoor areas) is not very welcoming but we barged in and asking if we could look around. We were welcomed and left pretty much on our own to explore. The inside of the Palace itself has been lovingly restored and tastefully furnished. The water features and the garden immediately in front of the building were very interesting and the whole place has a peaceful atmosphere.

It is well worth a visit even if you are not staying :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Palacio Estoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We took two of our discerning walking groups to this hotel in April and, without exception, all 40 of us enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We stayed for a total of 2 weeks. The rooms were large, modern and very comfortable, each with its own small terrace, the public rooms splendidly opulent, retaining the ambience of the former palace. The cuisine was outstanding, from the largest breakfast buffet imaginable to interesting and delicious fine dining in the evenings accompanied by excellent local wine. Also outstanding was the service; every member of staff 'went the extra mile' to make our stay a truly memorable experience. Our guests also loved the hilltop location of the pousada, the fabulous gardens and the extensive views. We all enjoyed walking to the village which is large enough to buy essentials and the cafes in the main square are welcoming and good value. On one occasion our groups took the local bus into Faro on their non-walking day, an easy journey to enjoy its fascinating old quarter. The walks in the countryside were varied, totally unspoilt and, in April, featured arguably the greatest number of wild flowers ever seen on a walking holiday. Easily accessible from Estoi are walks along the River Guadiana in the east, stunningly scenic walks on the Barlavento coast, nature walks in the Rio Formosa and hill walks in the interior. We will be returning with more of our groups next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and found they were all very similar. The location is exceptionall...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The design of the hotel is very impressive, combining the original palace with very modern accomodation at lower levels.
Rooms are very spacious, comfortable & quiet.
Breakfast is very good.
There is a large covered car park with easy access, as well as outside spaces.
The only negative is that although bedrooms & public areas have a lot of lights they are not adequate if you want to read in comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Unusual combination of modern architecture with a small XIX century gentry’s palace. The ruins of the palácio de Estoi were recovered and although it presents an architectural kitsch / rococo style all is harmonious.
The services (restaurants, reception rooms and bar) are located in the palace. The rooms are located into the new area. My room had a good dimension, huge window and a front garden. The bed was super king size, excellent toilet provided with every amenities.
High quality reception service. Breakfast was good. The restaurant located in the old kitchen of the palace, with modern furnishings, has an excellent service and very good cuisine fusion style.
Although a bit far from the celebrated beaches of the Algarve is a true five-star

Room Tip: Must have dinner at pousada
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel is in the small village of Estoi, just 10 mins from Faro & 20 mins from the airport. This Hotel has everything for a memorable stay (Including a Chapel !!) Indoor & outdoor pool SPA Gym, every room has an outside area with table & chairs and views to the coast 6 miles away. The rooms are ultra modern with 74 channels on the TV (about 10 in english) very large, great heating/AC, large bathroom, spotless clean.
The Restaurant is top notch (Can't say that for the other Pousadas I have stayed in though)

Oh and the Palace itself, it really is like being a house guest in a stately home.

I only spent my last night of a week stay in the Algarve ( all nights in the Posadas in Sangres & Tavira) this was the best by far in all respects and I WILL return for longer.

Booking on a Tuesday or using a Passport its about 100 to 105 euros a night with brakfast for 2.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of floor 2 sat 215 onwards
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

the setting and scenery is fantastic, makes you wish you could make a big party there; great swimming pool, unfortunetely closed despite good weather, fantastic view; rooms are relatively big and confortably furnished, good view (2nd floor); sauna and steam bath not working properly; great service, very nice and helpful staff, as normally in the Pousadas; breakfast is not outstandig but is standard good; for sure good place to come in the summer;

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisboaFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent 10 nights at this Pousada near Faro and the experience was simply great. From arrival to departure we received excellent service whether at reception, in the rooms, the restaurant, etc.
Room itself (superior) had all the amenities, a splendid view and daily "make-overs" that were just impressive.
the price/quality ratio was optimal. actually, Pousadas have all sorts of offers and promotions that make it difficult to resist pushing the "book now" button.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2 level have the best views and are close to the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
9.6 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
973 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,603 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,117 reviews
8.8 km away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
291 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio Estoi

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $136 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Palacio Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing