We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Looked after us like family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sally Guest House

Sally Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sally Guest House
Ranked #15 of 23 Faro B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looked after us like family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Sally, the owner of the Tivoli Pension, looked after us so well; it's as if we've been friends for years! She gave us so much information about Faro, from where to eat to how to get about and what was going on in the city. She was able to recommend where to eat and the restaurants gave discounts because we were staying at The Tivoli. This really helped as Faro can be expensive.
I really recommend the Tivoli hospitality to everyone. The rooms are clean and are nicely decorated. It is very central, being only a few minutes walk from all the action and the marina.
If you're from the UK and can get hold of a few sherbert fountains, I know they'll go down well! ;o)

Room Tip: E-mail Sally and ask her what she has got. If you stay more than a few nights, you may be able to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments Andie and I am glad you liked my recommendations for the restaurants. I have discovered more great places to eat and I am able to warn my Guests about the over-priced tourist restaurants (and cafes!). And you are right, if people book directly with me, i offer discounts for longer stays at all times of the year, even in August! Thanks and best regards, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were in Faro for one night and this pension was absolutely perfect for our needs. Very clean, a tad on the small side for two people, and in an excellent location in Faro. The owner, Sally was absolutely fantastic - very friendly, gave us the lowdown on all the 'right' ad cheap restaurants - two of which we tried and were too knotch, and told us where to get the best coffee in town. We would definitely recommend this pension and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethansparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Hello Ethan, thank you for your kind words. I remember you both very well and I hope that you do return . Bestest, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived at Tivoli Guest House not quite knowing what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The guest house is situated in an excellent location overlooking a small square lined with trees. Practically within the 'Old Town' area of Faro and a short walk to the cathedral and marina, this guest house is surrounded by typical Portuguese cobbled streets and pretty architecture.

Our room in Tivoli was the special double room which was smaller than we expected with a small shower cubicle and sink and shared toilet. Although this room is small and basic, it was clean and had double doors to a balcony over looking the square which was very pretty. Quite noisy outside with all the hustle and bustle but the double glazing was amazing!!

The owner Sally was extremely welcoming and helpful and pointed us in all the right directions with regards to using local transport and places to visit. We took a local bus along the coast to Alburfeira where the beach was lovely but the place generally catered too much for the British with plenty of 'English breakfast' and 'Guinness here' signs. We were quite pleased to get back to sleepy Faro where we actually felt like we were in Portugal.

Would definitely recommend the Tivoli Guest House which was excellent value for money with basic but clean rooms and perfect for a base to explore the city and surround areas.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
I would like to thank you for your comments Emma and I am pleased that you also find that Faro is a lovely place to visit - and very Portuguese. Thanks a lot, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

hi, we stayed 1 week in the faro tivoli and the owner (sally, an english woman) is great! she is extremely helpful and nice and will give you tips and tricks about the town and surrounders. the only bad point about this hostel is that there is no heating whatsoever and we were so unlucky to get there when it was cold on the evening and even though sally got us a radiator, it was a bit chilly for us. the rooms are also a bit small and there was not much on them...

anyway, great service and great location. if you are looking for a cozy and friendly hostel, here it is!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Thank you for your valued review. It was a shame that it was cold for you, normally we are trying to cool the place down!! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Faro. Thank you, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

During our stay in Lagos we ran into a bit of trouble with a hotel in Faro changing our booking.
Faced with nowhere to stay for the evening, we called The Tivoli.
Sally (the proprietor) was lovely and welcomed us in. We only stayed one nigt but we enjoyed the experience greatly.
Would definitely recomment The Tivoli for young people staying in Faro.
Great value too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Thank you for your lovely review girls - although you stayed 5 years ago so you are now young ladies!! I remember you well and you gave me my first ever review on Trip Advisor. I hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#10 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Residencial Same
#20 of 27 in Faro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sally Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sally Guest House

Property: Sally Guest House
Address: Praca Alexandre Herculano 6, Faro 8000-159, Portugal (Formerly Tivoli Guest House)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great location in Faro with all the best amenities close by. We have Economy bedrooms on the ground floor with shared bathrooms and Standard and Special rooms on the first floor with small verandas, private shower cubicles and hand basins (with shared toilets). Wi-fi is available throughout the first floor and hopefully on the ground floor soon. Write to me direct for special offers and pricing and I will always try and do a good deal for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing