We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Best welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Best welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We came to Dom Bernardo by default. Staying on the Island of Armona I broke my ankle, returning there was impossible as I was immobile. Phone calls to two other hotels nearer to Faro airport revealed that they could not offer me any help with a necessary wheelchair. Lisa Canada ,the American born manager of the Dom Bernardo, was kind and practical . We arrived having spent 6 hours in Faro hospital, she warmly welcomed us in, diffusing anxieties and arranged the hire of a wheelchair and even offered to bring in some crutches of her own from home. She lent me a wheeled office chair in the interim and she and her staff were very mindful of our condition during our stay. Its gold dust to find treatment like this from an international chain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks for the lovely comments! Considering the conditions which sent you to our hotel, you and your husband were such a joy to serve during your stay. We hope that you are getting better and will be able to return under better circumstances!

Kind regards,
Lisa V. Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    153
    85
    34
    9
See reviews for
56
175
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rogers222
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Best Western Hotel in Faro, in Portugal's Algarve region, is not a five-star den of pampering and luxury. It's a simple hotel that does it right, for a fair price. I was there in the off-season and had a pleasant stay.

Plus: Free parking, at least for the first half-dozen cars. Helpful, friendly front-desk staff, Good, clean rooms. Nice breakfast included. Fair price. No hassles at check-in or check-out. A couple of simple restaurants nearby.

Minus: Hotel is several miles from the beach and from the city center, so there's not much to do or see without getting in the car. A yapping dog is locked on a rooftop next to the hotel and barks all night -- it is seriously loud and indefatigable. Faro is an ugly town, though of course that's not the hotel's fault. It's badly laid out, deserted in the winter and overcrowded in the summer.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is over the traffic, back of the hotel has the yapping dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you were able to appreciate our hotel for what it is, a simple, clean, three star, family run property. Our goal is to provide excellent service and a clean environment! Sorry that you did not care for our city, however rest assured that our local mayor is working feverishly to improve the city and installations. Unfortunately the dog is an on-going work in progress and we have made some progress, but not as quickly as we wish. Thanks again for selecting our property for your get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just returned from a week in Faro where I stayed at the D.B. I found it a lovely hotel situated ten minute walk from the marina, bus, train station and numerous bars and restaurants. The staff were VERY friendly and helpful and answered all my questions in perfect english!! the room was clean and comfortable, I did hear the much talked about dogs barking one night for a while but I wasn't troubled then or any other night, maybe the wine helped! I took bus trips to Tavira (beautiful) Loule (highly reccmnd) Albufeira (not for me, too touristy) and Quarteira (lovely beach and prom but nothing else) and from behind the old town walls a catamaran left for Isle Deserta (10euro) which has a beautiful beach and is well worth a few hours of your time. most of the bus return trips were between 6 and 9 euro. busses are on time and comfortable. Faro was lovely but VERY quiet as I went out of season. I saw ,heard or did nothing that would make me tell you not to go. I wish I was back there now!!

Room Tip: I had a rear facing room on the first floor so the view wasn't great but otherwise I could'n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doolish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words and review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return again the future. It is so important to hear what our clients have to say, it really helps us improve our product. We are currently adding energy savers in all guestrooms and completing an overall maintenance program. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Excellent, worth every Eur paid. I did not expect extremely high service, but I was satisfied with almost everything.
Positive: Location, pricing policy, room clearness, overall service
Negative: I'm not native English speaker, but sometimes it was quite annoying that service specialist (room service) can't undersand single word... but that's ok

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITexperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about is on trip advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,
Lisa Vieira Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

having read previous articles by contributors,i can confirm that this fine reasonably priced,well positioned hotel,met all my expectations of a three star hotel.as i walked everywhere during my 6day visit,everything is within a10minute stroll.the hotel staff all spoke perfect english and gave me valuable advice,which i really appreciated.breakfast was fine and the number of eateries nearby meant that the lack of a restaurant within the hotel was unimportant to me.the room was spacious and clean but i could not see any of the dogs that were constantly barking

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your fair review. We do our best to provide a comforatable, clean and friendly hotel at fair prices. Our staff truly enjoy meeting our guests and we want you to enjoy our quaint city! The staff from Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo wish you a happy holiday season and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Lisa V. Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Spent six nights here and found it sufficient for our needs. Location is great, with only a brief walk to the harbour. Car parking is not so good - only five or so spaces, but having said that there is sufficient parking in nearby streets. We chose this hotel based on the (lowish) price so we werent expecting too much, however our experience was far better than we could have expected. Staff were very friendly, especially the check in lady (a home from home almost) and the room was bigger than we had hoped for. We had a room facing the back of the hotel, and whilst the dogs in neighbouring properties were audible they didn't stop us sleeping or cause any issues.

The room was clean and sufficiently well equipped, not seen a 14inch TV for some time, but you don't go on holiday to watch tv anyway. Bathroom was always clean and couldn't fault the room service.

Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular, but it was sufficient for our needs, and remember this is at the lower end of the pricing scale.

We found it to be a peaceful break and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Martin, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business and hope to weçlcome you again in future. Our goal is to provide a reasonably priced, clean property with excellent service. Thank you again for reviewing us.

Lisa Vieira Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I was billed twice due to a failure in the reservation system. The hotel refuses responsability and did not react to my calls or emails. I had to enforce action through best wester. Worst service I have ever seen... The room wad dirty and even after complaining not cleaned well. The air conditioning smelled as if it had never been cleaned. Not sufficient parking space at the hotel. Breakfast is not up to the standard. Hotel location is acceptable. Its better to stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theinternational85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
I would like to address your review regarding our property. It is my understanding that you made two reservations to stay at our property, for the same night on two separate sites. Unfortunately we cannot control your online reservations and contracts, therefore have no way of refunding your payment. In regards to your review, it is very unfair and it is certainly not accurate. We have just installed new plasma televisions, electronic locks are currently underway and we have a very extensive housekeeping schedule. If your air conditioner did not work property during your stay and if you have advised the front desk, where I work on a daily basis, please be assured your room would have been changed or we would have had our maintenance department fix the issue. Please consider your comments and try to understand that you booked the reservations and therefore were bound by the contractual terms and agreements on the sites that you selected. Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and would be happy to discuss further. Feel free to contact me at the hotel or via e-mail at lisa@hoteldombernardo.com.

Kind regards,
Lisa Vieira Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
9.1 km away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.4 km away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#10 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
Address: 20 Rua General Teofilo da Trindade, Faro 8000 356, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the heart of the city, Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo is a three star, family run property. We provide you with a very high level of personalized service, our hotel is your home away from home. Our 43 guestrooms have LCD TVs with +30 cable channels, complimentary WiFi, minibars, direct dial telephones, individual air-conditioning units, radio clock, private bathrooms with hair dryers, ample closet space, two pillows per bed and in-room safes. Let us help you experience the best that Faro has to offer with our professionally trained, bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dom Bernardo
Best Western Faro
Faro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing