We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
156
13
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
13
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsavocado toastbeautiful propertylight filledcute storetoilet roomhammock on the balconywelcome drinkthe hotel's restaurantmain buildingcharming towna wonderful stayan upgradewestern algarvesmall poolper nightperfect locationold town
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 179 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful spot in Lagos, the rooms are stunning, the food is lovely, the staff are amazing. However if you are staying in a cabana, the building works are right behind and they start around 8.30am in the morning and finish around 8pm. There is drilling, concrete mixer and general banging. You can hear it when you are at the pool too. This meant we didn't really use the terrace as it was not the peaceful retreat we were promised. Check with them regarding the works before committing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

An amazing stay at an amazing place! The detail and love put into everything on this property shows. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were luxurious, the gardens/ farm was beautiful and the pool area stunning! Would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Absolutely gorgeous hotel, that is designed to perfection. It's slightly out of the way from the very touristy part of Lagos so you can feel like you're in your own oasis. We stayed there slightly before the season, so we had the place pretty much to ourselves. The restaurant is a little pricey but everything we had was delicious. The staff was very kind and helpful - they give you a map of their favorite spots in Lagos and in the Algarve, and the recommendations we checked out in Lagos were all wonderful.

Room Tip: You can see photos of each room on the website so you can check out the layout ahead of time.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfmoonguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Wow. Beautiful property hidden away. Stayed in esplanade suite. Beautiful room. Staff very helpful. Read some reviews that service was slow in restaurant but we never had that problem and there were a lot of people. Had dinner one night and it was excellent. I'm a picky eater and enjoyed freshly prepared food. Would have loved a coffee machine in room but that is not as common in Europe as in usa. Our room looked over pool. Lovely breezes from windows. There is construction of new suites next to this building but it never bothered us as we were gone all day usually. Lagos is a pretty town and very walkable which we like to do.

Room Tip: Stay in case ma e building
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StubbyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Casa Mae is like one of those beautifully designed London restaurants where hype outdoes the experience. My partner and I chose Casa Mae for our honeymoon due to the glowing reviews. Points below:

Pros
- Visually very pleasing and calming, lots of little touches that make this great
- The property is bigger than the photos suggest
- Some incredible hosts/team members, like Helga, who went out of her way to help us and was a true example of professionalism
- Decent starters at the restaurant
- Helga provides an excellent list of suggestions of what to do in Lagos and other areas - the first hostess did not, however

Cons
- No congratulations or anything special to acknowledge our honeymoon - we can assume this was company policy?
- What made this worse was when we arrived in our Cabana on the first night, the hostess mentioned that the two pears and water bottle were a gift from the hotel. Felt awkward and comical.
- We were put into a different Cabana to the one requested months in advance, and the moment the hostess let us in, the key got jammed into the door. The hostess initially suggested leaving the key there through the night as no maintenance was available (it was 11pm at night). We found this unacceptable and finally managed to get the key out ourselves. We struggled for the next day with this door, until we shared our grievances and they moved us
- Such a lack of attention to detail - when we were moved, we found that the main light in our new Cabana didn't work, but by this point didn't feel comfortable sharing any more feedback. They were also missing a hammock in the first Cabana and added one after we mentioned it. Finally, the plant outside our Cabana was uprooted for 2 days without any explanation, leaving an empty pit of soil at our entrance...
- When we were arranging our check out for early the next morning, the receptionist suggested the hotel could arrange coffees on the house for us. We hadn't asked for this and were initially uncertain but she pushed us on this so we obliged. When we arrived at the reception the next day, no lights were on and no coffee was ready as she had suggested. The receptionist on duty didn't help my husband with the bags (two large suitcases) as we arrived there. When we mentioned the coffee, the receptionist said that the team the previous night was new and had got it wrong; he could only offer us espressos and he would have to charge us. After all the time we had spent there, this was such an ungracious and poor note to end our stay on.

To me, Casa Mae is a farce when compared to other hotels of the same standing. It lacks the finesse and hospitality expected. There are some incredible team members and a beautiful aesthetic holding it together, but it has a long way to go and certainly doesn't compare to other places within the same bracket that we hold in high regard.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews