We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Bella Vista

Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Ocean & beach Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Ocean & beach Views
Only Minutes Walk to the Beach
Frequent Dolphin Views from the Villa
Daily Views from the Villa
Luxury 5 Bedroom Beach Front Villa with Panoramic Sea Views
En-Suite Bedroom leading to Pool
En-Suite Bathroom
En-Suite Bathroom
1,5km Protected White Sand Beach
Porto de Mós Beach Sunrise
Sports Activities on the Beach, Picture taken from Kayak
2 Quality Beach Restaurants within a Short Walk of the Villa
'Cataplana' from the Local Beach Restauarnts
Kayak Trips to the nearby Grottos & other beaches
Quality Beach Front Restaurants within Walking Distance from the Villa
Lagos Town can be Walked to
Lagos Beach Fort
Many Restaurants within the Town
Lagos Marina Closeby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmeru51
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a beautiful house. Nicely furnished. Easily accommodated 4 couples. I gave it a 4 for location since it said steps away from the beach but didn't say just how many steps. There were quite a few. However if you like to walk on the fabulous cliffs above the beaches you are halfway there and don't need to start way down at the bottom. We had a problem with a plugged up shower drain but it was fixed the next day. Otherwise no problems. I would stay again. The beach below the house is beautiful. The pool is very nice. It is quite expensive to heat it so we didn't but it wasn't too cold. John was very good about replying to queries. The house was very clean. The description states washer and dryer but 8 of us never figured out if the washer also had a drying cycle. European appliances are confusing to us Americans. Very energy efficient compared to ours. The house comes with 1 towel per person. Unless you pay for cleaning service mid week you need to wash towels so we had to hang them out to dry. It is humid at night and in the morning so that is my only complaint. I would gladly stay here again.
There are two restaurants on the beach. Campimar is just OK with not very nice waiters. I would go to Antonio's instead.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Villa”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks again for everything. We had a great trip and really enjoyed Lagos. Already talk of a return trip.

Unbelievable ocean views, large villa, lovely pool

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Trowb...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very expensive extras”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

READ THE BOOKING FORM and get accurate prices for all the extra cost as they are very expensive.
Greeted by John and told the front door had been broken by previous guest and it was to mended in the next day or two (no one mended it during our stay). So we could only use the garage door as entry and exit. We didn't realise until a few weeks before our stay that the outdoor pool heating (£250 for a week), a hair dryer (£10 per hair dryer), using each iPhone and iPad on wifi (£10 per item using wifi that didn't work down stairs or by the pool) and other items were not included in the cost of the Villa. On asking for our £300 deposit back we also found out that the final clean for a family of 6 would knock £125 of our deposit return (no breakages). Maybe this is our fault for not understanding those terms and conditions, not asking the exact cost, but still they are to expensive.

The pool heating was not on on our first day (we had to phone to get it turned up), I had to ask for the hair dryer and wifi passcodes (that were all booked and paid for before arrival), no tennis table (again had to phone to chase, we had paid £50 for it for the week).

No tea, coffe or sugar or anything what so ever is provided to get you started. The property is very much over looked by the next door detached property. Bits of tiles in the pool were chipping off on children's feet.

The Villa it's self was smart and modern looking. good quality bedding, blinds were all electric and built in, wifi was rubbish, satellite tv channels were also rubbish with no BBC or ITV or other popular channels.

Beach was lovely and the restaurants were ok ish food wise but with very good service and were very child friendly.

Lagos was a let down so we went to Luz mainly. Luz is 5/10 min drive away and is a lovely place - geogeous beach, many great places to eat, fab boat rides with dophins watching (we saw loads of dophins) and grotto trips. Great family child friendly activities. Sadly, the police were digging up wasteland when we visited Luz looking for evidence in the McCann case as that's were she went missing from. This is a desperately sad situation for the locals as the area is heavily reliant on tourists.

So low rating due to the cost and value for money which were terrible in our opinion. No apology for,slate arrival of extras, broken door, bare wires,on a heated towel rail. Also,waste land to the other side of the property and a building site opposite entrance (although not overlooked) made it he are feel a bit unfinished.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you for this, we take every review very seriously

Firstly check in times are normally 3 pm in the afternoon & you arrived at 9 am in the morning when our previous guests had only just left, we did manage to get you in very quickly at 11 am hence items that you had ordered from us were not waiting for you in the villa but were all in the process of being delivered prior to 3 pm

We do provide extras & these are not obligatory, some guests have them whilst others do not. We have recently ordered American Pool tables to make games rooms, in our villas with space for this, these will be an option therefore clients who simply want to use the villa & relax do not need to pay for them. All extras are itemized with the respective prices

The villa does have BBC, ITV, etc, Sports Channels as well as German, Spanish & some French TV

The WiFi works with the TV and is located as close to this as possible however can be moved around the villa to any room if the signal is a little weak somewhere

With regard to a door handle, this has been repaired & there was absolutely no need to go in & out through the garage unless you were parking your car there as the garage has direct access to the villa

The pool is very easy & super quick to heat but the cover has to be used in the evenings and/or when the pool is not in use, as you know we had to keep getting toys out of the pool cover so this didnt help

The villa is self catering, we do leave items like soap powder, salt & pepper, sugar etc when a guest leaves them however sometimes we are requested to remove these items

Lagos is not very vibrant but more of a relaxing calm town so all in all maybe Lagos in general was not the place you thought it would be, in fact you did try to cancel your holiday only a few weeks before you arrived, I hope that you manage to find a town or even a country that suits
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tevodan
Bourne End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Villa”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

So I have spent so many holidays in the Algarve I have lost count and always in the Lagos / Luz area. This location was the best by far. Why? Well hopefully this will tell you!
Starting with Porto de Mos, it is a well kept civilized area that still attracts locals as well as holiday makers. It has 2 fantastic beach bars that offer a wide range of choice for food and drinks at good prices. It is still only a quick bus or taxi ride to Lagos which offers much of what you should ever desire from a holiday town.
The beach is beautiful with a stunning coast line.
The villa, the good points: It's better than the photos even suggest! It is large, comfortable and well equipped.
The minor negatives points (and they are minor). Two of the ground floor bedrooms are linked, i.e. you must walk through one to get to the other and this bedroom was the only one not equipped with air conditioning. If you have a large group and intend to spend an evening in the sitting room, the seating is only really equipped for 6 people at a squeeze. The only other quirk was the limitation of light bulbs in use, (I noticed a previous review also stated this) which I guess is a subtle way to reduce energy bills!?
Anyhow, don't focus on these points because the good points of the villa outweigh these snags tenfold.
I hope to return to this villa again in the future as it has provided me one of the most enjoyable holidays in a very long time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & view
Liked least: The comfort of the bed & bedding
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiffainBi...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing villa in stunning location”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This villa looks outstanding in the photographs used to advertise it, but please trust me when I say that they really don't do it justice. It is breathtaking. The size of the villa, the quality of the villa, the grounds and the pool are amazing. I stayed with my family, a total of 10 including 2 toddlers. We used the pool everyday
Communication with John Griffiths from my initial query regarding availability of the villa, through to leaving to return home has been easy, friendly, accommodating and timely.
We did not have the use of a car whilst at the villa, but taxis are prompt, very clean and friendly. It is possible to walk to the nearest Intermarche supermarket, but it does involve walking up a fairly steep hill and will take 25 minutes.
On the topic of walking, there is a cliff walk shown from Porto De Mos to Lagos. The path does go very close to the edge in places and does not appear to be overly safe, as is usual with any cliff path. However, this path does not go anywhere now after a section of the cliff collapsed last year. There is no warning that the path has collapsed and you just appear at the top of an extremely high drop, then have to retrace your path.
The beach at Porto De Mos is awesome and during October was never anywhere near crowded. It really is a 2 or 3 minute walk, down a short series of steps and a small incline. We had a 70 year old and a 69 year old in our group, together with the toddlers and they all managed it fairly easily.
We only used the 1 bar/restaurant on the beach to eat at and this was the one on the left as you look down from the villa, called Campimar. The warm welcome, accommodating manner, standard of the food and friendliness of the staff resulted in some or all of our group visiting this bar at least once a day. Two of our group did try the other bar twice, called Antinios, and received a totally unfriendly welcome and were made to feel as though they were unworthy and a nuisance to the staff.
Lagos is a lovely town, again very friendly staff in bars and restaurants, regardless of which ones we visited.
We all had a brilliant time staying at this amazing villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Felt at home and the views from the villa were wonderful
Liked least: There were a lot of stairs for a two year old boy which was worrying
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing