We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
221
149
40
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
149
40
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely campsite large site well stocked shop on site restaurant the toilet shower block golf buggies sanitary facilities paddling pool local resort camping place excellent shop hotel standard entertainment staff praia da luz reasonable size great facilities children's play area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 432 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We stayed overall 4 nights here. Staff is very friendly, very flexible on plot locations you can choose from. It has a swimming and a nice restaurant serving salads, fries, fish, sandwiches .. all you might be craving for. This site is not too big, I like its structure that's giving you privacy at your plot.
Internet was OK.
Has really great restrooms and showers. Very clean and modern. Same applies for the area where you can wash your dishes. Everyone was very civilized keeping all there areas clean.
Its located closely to Luz - nice distance for a morning run.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

This is a mixed chalet, towing caravan and tent campsite. We stayed right next to the larger of the toilet/shower blocks. Campsite was clean & tidy, there is plenty to do on the site, but the pool is rather small pool for the amount of people on the site. This appears to being remedied as they are building another pool opening in 2018.
The best thing about the site is the staff. They are friendly and helpful, and their English was better than my Portuguese!
The only negative was being overlooked by people going to the toilet/shower block, so if we go back we won't go on that pitch.
The shop on site had a pretty good range and supply of items, of course more expensive than the local supermarket. The surprising cost was a replacement gas cylinder (907) for my cooker, this was about 20 euros which was the cheapest I have ever paid in Europe. The only food we had from the site was take away pizzas, which were great.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Haggis_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We stayed for a week in one of the mobile homes. The mobile home itself was very good - new, and with everything in good condition. However, it was squeezed into an area with other mobile homes, and felt very claustrophobic. The decking area was completely covered on 3 sides with canvas - the sides could be rolled up (which we did), but it would have been nice to have a half-length roof, so we could have the choice to sit in the open air if we wished.

The campground itself is good. It is very clean, and there are staff around all the time. The pool is nice, but not big enough to support all the visitors in peak season. It is also not deep enough to have a proper swim - it's definitely a lounge pool rather than a swimming pool! The gym facility was very expensive - €5 per visit meant that I didn't bother, and went for a run instead!

The bar and takeaway (we didn't visit the restaurant) was unnecessarily expensive, and I can't help feeling that it would be busier if the prices were lower! Food was ok from there, though. The shop was also relatively expensive - even for a campground shop!

The entertainment was distinctly average. On our visit to other campgrounds around Europe, we found that the entertainment staff were always approaching us, greeting us and making sure we were ok - and inviting us to various sports / fitness / children's / evening activities. Not here. I wasn't greeted once, and we couldn't confidently identify anyone from the animation team when we left.

Finally, we asked the reception staff to book a taxi to pick us up on our final day - and it didn't turn up! We were on a timeline to get to the station, and had to make an emergency phone call to another taxi company, who did a great job to get us to our train on time. This was probably not the campsite's fault - but they may wish to change their normal taxi firm!

All in all, we had a nice relaxing time at the campsite - but it could have been a lot better without too much effort!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheCoastAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

Our welcome after the long drive from Faro was very warm indeed, well organised and YVT is completely up to YELLOHS always high 5* standards in overall service and cleanliness.

The guy who showed us to our location was cheery, friendly and enthusiastic. We are Western Europeans, but prefer to do like the "locals do" when we can. I had my Portuguese recipe book with me, fresh from AMAZON.

It is well worth to say that YVT is inland from the beach. We liked this being well away from the local resort heave-ho.

Stayed in the premium section of YELLOHs village -very good value it was too, with a dedicated jacuzzi and easy access to the main facilities. This campsite thinks that it is an hotel -I mean by that we were treated like proper guests and the facilities were up to hotel standard -quite incredible (..really).

The onsite restaurant was 10/10 the first time we tried it, based on local Portuguese cuisine -perhaps due to a big party of locals in at the same time? The second visit was not so good, as the restaurant tried to cater for Western European pallets. Enough said. At both sittings we were entertained by a local (classy) act -cool jazz, nice.

The local area and sights spanned gorgeous beaches; amazing fish markets with restaurants; incredible day trips and Portuguese efficiency that leaves a broad smile.

Something all travel writers seem to miss, is the simply endless range of cakes and pastries that are on offer. I thought the French held this high honour, but they face emerging competition from the temptations on plates that we encountered!

Conclusion: YVT is a camping village that thinks it is an hotel (brilliant).

LVD.

Room tip: Choose the Premium section if available, we enjoyed it greatly.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesVacancesDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We have just returned from a two week holiday at this most lovely campsite - very well tended and clean and the most friendly and welcoming staff.

We booked a Bali mobile home via Vacansoleil, but I wish now that we had dealt directly with the campsite. Unlike other operators we have used when on similar holidays in Spain, there was no Vacansoleil representative on site at all, no branding of the units in any way and no indication of the slight extra charge for booking this way, as opposed to directly with the campsite!

Despite the lack of Vacansoleil courier etc, the mobile home was wonderful - best we have ever stayed in. It was modern, well equipped and very clean. The area we were in was quiet, but that seemed to be a feature across the park - it really was most peaceful. The only noise we heard was the wonderful sound of nearby peacocks!

There was plenty to do onsite with a lovely, well tended pool, play areas for little kids, evening entertainment and the best campsite restaurant we have ever eaten at. There would appear to be a new pool being built and the images of it look stunning.

All in all this was a wonderful campsite and one we would be more than happy to return to and the only (slight) criticism is not at the campsite, but at the Vacansoleil end of the contract. Otherwise, we loved it - especially the restaurant!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews