We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good value. Very friendly reception staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice location and good value. Very friendly reception staff.”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here mid October in two 1 bed apartments for 2 nights at the bargain rate of £24 per night per apartment and we just loved it.

Reception staff were amazing and could not be more helpful and will organise all sorts from airport transfers (Faro is about 45 miles and less than 1 hr), car and scooter rentals, water sports and so on.

The grounds are spacious with outdoor pool and an attractive modern cafe/bar complete with big comfy chairs and and full blown espresso machine.

The apartment rooms were sparsely but adequately furnished and of a good size including the bathroom which being honest was a little dated but perfectly adequate. Did not use the kitchen other than the fridge but it looked fit for purpose. Decent size TV with free English cable channels plus Europsort. The downstairs room had a large patio and the upstairs a decent size balcony. Modern quiet effective air con was little used due to highly effective double glazed windows and shutters. Rooms cleaned and towels/linen changed twice per week. One downside was the noise from adjoining apartments from the chairs being dragged across the stone floors which is a shame as this seems an easy fix.

The delightful old town is a 15-20 minute downhill walk or a 4-5 Euro taxi, or take the free shuttle bus which runs 3-4 times per day to the town and the local beech which looked delightful.

Free spacious car parking right outside the apartment.
There is an excellent grocery store right opposite the entrance selling all the basics including fresh bread and fruit plus a small deli for cheese and meets, not to forget a range of wines and beers. A larger Intermarche a little further afoot.

Lagos is at the end of train line from Faro adding another travel option.
Reminder- The A22 is probably an electronic toll road by now.

Room Tip: Take a boat trip from the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good stay with us.

I do confirm that the Toll is now working. The price from Faro Airport to Lagos is 6.6€.

Please do not hesitate in contact us if you have any queries.
Kind regards,
Tiago Espinho
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    244
    65
    10
    10
See reviews for
218
312
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our first self catering holiday booked as a package.

The bar on site was still open when we arrived and we able to eat and drink before we went to bed.

What can you say about the staff? courteous, ever helpful, nearly always smiling and pleasnt.

The apartment itself was amazing with tiled floos. Large bath room, bed room and a large dining/lounge area plus a balcony.

Just across the road is a mini mart and that had everything we needed at very comparable prices to the rest of europe and some items which to us were a "steal".

There was a regular free bus service to the beach or town or you could walk. It is however quite a climb even if gradual from the town but to the beach it is at points quite steep. Not wholly recommended for people who struggle walking. There is an hourly local bus service as well as the free bus.

There is easy access to other bars and resteraunts in the area and there are loads of them both locally and in the town. Prices are good as well and if you need a taxi back from the town it is about 4 euros.

Enjoyed the apartment, Lagos itself and the baches. Even went on a Dolphin trip. Wow that was fun. Because we went at the end of the season we didn't pay as much as advertised but what an experience. There are loads of companies offering these trips so look around and see who gives the best deal.

The ONLY downsides, besides losing our camera at the end of the holiday, was the trip from the airport to the apartment because it was a trip that went on every back road it could find and we were the 2nd last off the coach.

Also watch out for beggars. They more an annoyance rather than a threat and a polite NO! usually does the trick. One thing I did notice is they seem to meet in teams

The apartments are excellent - recommended

Lagos itself is recommended.

And would we go again?


YES!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank League F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were more than happy to re book Villabranca at a good price, and were delighted with what we got. Went for a 2 bedroomed this time - it was massive ! Huge sitting room, 2 big bathrooms, big kitchen, and best of all 3 big balconies ( I believe most of the 2 bedroomed apts have 2 balconies). The rooms are slightly sparsly furnished for thier size so it can be a bit echo-y but that is really splitting hairs . Yes the tv is a bit basic, and 'crackly' but thats not what we go on holiday for - nice just to catch up with the news ( or , lets be honest 'Strictly')
If anything we thought the complex was better than 2 years ago - all the public spaces are very spic and span - quickly resored after a huge storm. The pools are lovely but a bit chilly , it being October. Apartment cleaned twice during our stay, clean linen etc. Manger and staff very pleasant. We like the location as its quiet and a bit residential, so feels a bit local rather than a tourist zone. Very safe - the teenagers can do thier own thing.
Overall - if you want a good no-frills apartment then it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review.
I truly hope that after you next stay your comment can be" Even better the 3rd visit" ;)
We keep trying our best to deserve a future visit from you.

Please do not hesitate in contact us if you have any queries.
Kind regards,
Tiago Espinho
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We returned from a very enjoyable 14 day holiday in the Vilabranca apts on the 26 October. The apartments are set in their own extensive grounds in the middle of an upmarket residential area within 15 mins walk from both the beach and the town of Lagos.
The accommodation we occupied was end apartment 310, a first floor one bed overlooking the pool. First impressions were of a large clean, bright and airy apartment, which offered a generous size lounge, kitchen and bathroom, decorated in neutral colours with clean comfortable furnishings.
The bedroom was large with a king size bed and plenty of storage space. There is air conditioning in both the living space and the bedroom which is both quiet and very effective. The balcony which over looks the pool is a good size and is complete with modern and quite stylish table and chairs which match the loungers and tables around the pool. The kitchen is well equipped with everything necessary for self catering and has an excellent multi purpose oven, grill/microwave. the only surprising thing we found is that there is no electric kettle, just a whistling version. The grounds and pool areas ( there are two ) are clean and well kept as are the buildings themselves. We had four changes of bed linen and five towel changes during our stay which was good for 3 star accommodation..The staff are second to none and are always willing to go out of their way to help whatever the problem. They are pleasant and seem to enjoy their jobs with always a smile and a friendly greeting.
Just opposite the entrance is a small supermarket which stocks most items which you may require during your stay. If you wish to visit a larger and cheaper alternative there is an excellent Spar about 500 mtrs further down the road into Lagos on the left hand side.
Lagos ( pronounced Lagosh ) Is a charming place with narrow cobbled streets leading out into piazzas or squares which is very Romanesque in flavour. the old town is walled and evidence of this still exists, with gateways and large portions of the original wall still in existence. We have been to many towns on the Algarve over the years and know the area well and found Lagos quite expensive in comparison to similar areas, both for food and drink, so shop around for the best prices. Altogether we had a very enjoyable holiday, with great weather ( 24 to 30 degrees ) and most of all great accommodation, in a nice area of the Algarve.

Room Tip: Shop around in Lagos for the best prices as they vary quite a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank hadden23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at Vilabranca apartments at the end of August for 2weeks. We read lots of reviews and decided this would suit us the most.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager, who could not have been more helpful. He was eagr to show us where we would find beaches, activities etc...
He showed us to our apartment and we were very happy. We were on a budget and I was worried that would mean a small room, but we had a large apartment with, big living room, and nice kitchen. It was spotless and the sheets and towels were changed everyother days.

The hotel pools were lovely and had ample sun loungers, it was a perfect family area. Which brings me to my first downside, we are a young couple without children and it was very quiet and nothing to really do at the pool, it is very much geared towards families. This is by no means a downside to vilbranca, just unlucky that we chose a quiet area.

Secondly the only other bad point was the distance to town and main beach, it is quite a walk each day. It took around 30min to get into town, across marina and to the main beach. The upside to this we found is that we ate exactly what we wanted and gained no weight! Which was great!

The food at vilabranca was good. The food at several other places in town was not good. Choose carefully, we could count on one hand the amount of place that we really enjoyed.

Try - Linda's bar on the beach ( book or you won't get in)
The patio - very tucked away but worth it and again book.
There are others but these two are best.

All in all, vilbranca is for you if you have a family, maybe rent a car?

But great apartments great service - very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sososo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just spent a lovely 6 nights at Vilabranca. The complex is just the right size, with well kept gardens and two pools. We had a one bedroom apartment and was furnished in typical holiday apartment style i.e. solid pine 3pce suite and dining table etc. Yes it had an old fashioned CRT television, I would say approx. 20" screen, but it had a good choice of satellite channels available including ITV, BBC etc for those that want that type of thing.

We ate out for lunches and dinner, however the kitchen had everything that could be needed, including a combi microwave/grill. Yes an electric kettle would have been nice, however the stove top one served its purpose perfectly well for what we required.

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom a very good size. Everything in the apartment was very clean and despite only being there for 6 nights the apartment was cleaned and bed linen and towels changed twice.

As for the staff, they were all very friendly and efficient. We had a power failure during one night caused by heavy rain shorting an outside connection. One phone call to reception at 8.30am and we were told the person to deal with this was due in at 9am and would be there straight away. I had already identified the problem trip/fuse and isolated it, but at 9.10am the guy was there to fix it. To the person who complained about cigarette ends on the balcony, yes they ought to have been cleaned up, but come on it would have taken you all of 30 seconds to do it yourself and is not worth worrying about.

As for location, we found it a nice walk into town and there were some nice local bars/restaurants in the area to break the walk back uphill.

Vilabranca will definitely be on our list of places to stay when we next visit Lagos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gbpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed as a couple with grown up children - we booked 3 rooms and got 3 enormous one bedded apartments with the following: lounge/diner, kitchen, bathroom, twin-bedded bedroom plus balcony/terrace. For a holiday let we thought they were quite well equipped. The beds and settee were comfortable. The kitchen had a hob kettle and a coffee maker, a full-sized cooker, a toaster and a large fridge/freezer plus sufficent plates, cutlery etc. The TV was a fair size for a holiday let and had 10 English speaking channels. Wi-fi was available in the bar if you wanted it for a nominal charge - the kids had it and I think it was 5 euro for a week. The only extra we had to pay for was the safe which was 15 euro. Air con was included. The rubbish was collected 3 times while we were there at 6.30am so that was annoying, but at all other times it was very peaceful there. On the first morning 2 of the 3 apartments had lots of ants in their bathrooms - we reported this and it was dealt with and did not recur. We spent quite a lot of time sitting on the sun loungers, but had lilos on them - they were made of fabric and quite hard to sit on otherwise. There were plenty of parasols. The pool (mid October) was pretty chilly but we still swam. The sea was about the same temp. We booked bed and breakfast and had we known what was for brekkie we wouldn't have bothered - we got tea or coffee and orange juice, lovely fresh rolls with butter, jam and honey and cheese and ham and sometimes fruit, but nothing cooked. We had a hire car so used this to go to the beach. There was an infrequent minibus provided. We walked to town but that was a fair way. Best beaches for body boarding - Zavial and Castelejo. Best restaurant - Chiccas in Luz. Every review seems to mention No Patio - it was, in our view, good but not excellent. Don't go to Dom Luis unless you like undercooked Piri Piri Chicken (yes they did cook it some more when asked but that shouldn't be necessary). As well as the supermarket just outside the complex there is an Intermarche 10 mins walk away which has lots of stuff to buy.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got 501 which was at the end of a building so it was close to the bins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sausageEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.6 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,093 reviews
2.8 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,351 reviews
0.5 km away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 51 in Lagos
291 reviews
0.6 km away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
2.3 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Property: Vilabranca Apartments
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing