We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
116
178
103
34
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
178
103
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas bar lovely corner room nice square decoration style bottling plant amazing location main building pool bar relaxing break wedding portimao roundabout suitcases
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 461 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Called in here and booked for the night, staff friendly and helpful. Our room was good, very clean we didn't eat here because we know of a good restaurant nearby(10 mins walk down the road) good food and service. Spa is great here and they play films at night in the square. I would definitely recommend here to stay. ❤️

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paul w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Historic spa with thermal water pool, we stayed at a nearby small hotel (Albergaria do Lageado) and were given a small discount to use the spa pool, sauna and steam room. The spa is very much 1980s, clean and with very friendly service. We didn't use any of the treatment services. The pool is clean and warm, not really hot springs. Nice bubbles and water streams. Sauna and steam rooms were clean and the locker areas were clean. Not an upscale spa in any way, but still worth a visit if you are in the area and need to unwind.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

What can I say... this hotel was hard work. In the first 24 hours me or my husband had to speak to the hotel reception 6 times, ive never done that even in a week at other hotels. Our first encounter was a room that smelt so strongly of smoke it was awful, but they did change our room and we got a lovely balcony with a view - great. But that was just the start of our issues.
I had checked before packing that they had a hairdryer and ironing facilities which apparently they did - whilst I did eventually get these items (many thanks to the cleaner) it was an amazing challenge, you'd have thought id asked them to get me a rifle. And the staff (except our cleaner) was let's say less than helpful (putting it politely). We also had problems with our key card, almost on a daily basis (We weren't the only guest who got locked out either) and generally felt the staff didn't really care or weren't interested.

Overall whilst the cleaners do a great job, the rooms are dated and in need of a refurb to the point where our wardrobe door was virtually falling off, curtains were ripped and the shower and grout in the bathroom was in much need of replacing.

Such a shame because this hotel has so much potential and the grounds are really pretty.

Definitely wouldn't stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018

I stayed here 2 evenings - older large rooms were charming. The issue was the bathroom. Tried to hang the water nozzle for a shower and water went all over the
bathroom ! One could tell the hook was not done correctly. Had a good night's sleep.
I was disappointed with the spa which closed at 6 pm. We came in from hiking at 5 pm. We needed to walk to a front building through a muddy walk. Not very nice for a hotel guest. Areas were somewhat dated. The staff was helpful when I had computer issues.

Room tip: Check to see if the bathroom shower works correctly.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisakeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We had a long day driving on our way to Lagos and decided to stop at this establishment and were quite disappointed. Looking at the pics and reading the reviews we thought we had made a good decision ....but on arrival were stunned to find out that the "real hotel" is down at the bottom of property next to a water bottling plant. The fancier rooms are at the top of the hill which is quite the hike from the bottom of the hill.. Their isn't much parking and the hotel is older and needs some upgrades done. The room was adequate for a one night stay. None of the business were open/ / Wine Bar closes at 6pm/ only one restaurant on site which was only open from 7pm-10pm which was way understaffed to handle the amount of people. The service was poor at best although the food and portions were great. This hotel also offers free breakfast....but again way understaffed and a real madhouse to get seated.

Room tip: Spend the extreme $$ and stay in one of the more luxurious rooms at the main hotel /these are the pics posted
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews