We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Nice Villa but nothing exceptional”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax and take in the awesome views from our pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax and take in the awesome views from our pool!
Cool off in the Infinity pool or soak up some Vitamin D before lunch! Pool and BBQ terrace, even the garage enjoys views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Relax and take in the awesome views from our pool!
Cool off in the Infinity pool or soak up some Vitamin D before lunch!
Pool and BBQ terrace, even the garage enjoys views!
Villa. pool, garage with covered terrace below.
Front part of the villa and infinity pool
Private and sunny garden with covered BBQ area, lounge area and dining for 8
Al Fresco dining area for 8, Gourmet BBQ and drinks/wine fridge. Power points for PC,s music, etc.
Dine and relax with friends and chat about the days adventures
Outside covered lounge seating, ideal for chatting away those last hours of the day.
Covered seating area and BBQ at night. There's also a gimbaled captains bed in the lower garden
Formal dining room, seating for 8, TV in cabinet music centre and recliner.
Gourmet kitchen for those nights you don't eat out at one of our many local restaurants
Hall, showing back of suspended stairs.
Lounge showing double sided fire place, HDTV, DVD, etc.
Light and spacious lounge with doors to pool and garden and Juliet balcony with views of the coast.
Stairway to heaven!
Super King master suite, TV, Air-co, Juliet balcony and private sun terrace
King master suite, TV, Air-co, Juliet balcony and private sun terrace
Twin bed suite, TV, Air-co, Juliet balcony with views to the garden and surrounding mountains
One of the shower and bath rooms featuring travertine and natural stone tiles.
Enjoy views from every room, balcony and terrace
Front door and in the distance the natural spring and grotto with fish! Stairs to the car park.
Plenty of secure parking, for 7 cars!
Side entrance showing some of the many hand painted tiles around the villa.
Winter in the Algarve brrrr only 12 Deg C!
Christmas Time at Villa Vida Nova
View of the infinity pool from one of the bedroom balconies.
Orange Juice for Breakfast
Beautiful Rose
One of the many Hand painted tiles around the villa.
Local hand painted tiles
Bouganvillia
A gift from one of our guests
Piri Piri peppers
Hibiscus
Morning Glory?
Al fresco dining in beautiful garden setting
The lane is steep and winding in places but easily navigated even by big trucks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Monchique, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AustinSpe...
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Nice Villa but nothing exceptional”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Villa Vida Nova is a very nice house; we booked in 2016, and stayed for all of September 2017. The location is particularly good in the high summer months, being pleasantly cooler than the coast. From the end of September until May, there's a chance it will be in cloud, (it's over 1500ft above sea level) and it can also get very windy, it was possibly the wind that caused the frequent (but short) power outages during our stay.

There is a good Intermarche supermarket and other small shops in Monchique, only five minutes away, the nearest large shops are in Portimao, half an hour away. A good tip is that near the Portimao Aqua shopping centre there is a British "Iceland" Overseas supermarket that sells UK products including some Waitrose ranges, but the best quality supermarket is Apolonia on the road between Lagoa and Carvoiero.

The website description needs qualifying; the "coastal view" from the villa is 15 miles distant, the website photos benefit from wide-angle lenses, the infinity pool looks enormous but is actually only 8m x 4m. The aspect is south facing, but the hillside to the west cuts off the evening sun around six o'clock in September. The "short leafy lane" leading down from the main road is a steep single track with two very tight hairpin bends. As other reviewers have mentioned, the house is not entirely private, it is overlooked to the east by a neighbour and parts of the pool area can also be seen from the villa to the north. The listed garage is not for guests.

The original website mentioned bicycles, possibly meaning they could be hired, not that we would have used them, cycling in the Serra da Monchique is only for the seriously lycra-clad, neither would we have used the non-existent tumble drier. The acre of gardens is a series of very dry terraces and flower beds suffering from lack of irrigation.

The description quite correctly says that the villa is wheelchair inaccessible; there are 15 steps down from the drive to the front door, a serious challenge to some.

The house is comfortable, the main bedroom suite is spacious and there's plenty of wardrobe space, the other two bedrooms are a little smaller. The kitchen is large and bright and the entire ground floor living areas are open plan.

The TV system is dated, there is satellite TV, but the main UK channels are not available and the Sky box does not include any sports subscriptions. The owners suggested the FilmOn app, which is ok if you're happy to pay and view on an iPad or laptop, but most rentals aimed at UK visitors provide the IP TV system we used in our own villa for many years. The peak-time broadband download speed we experienced was around 8Mbps, more than adequate to handle IP TV.

Midweek visits by the cleaners to replace towels were irritatingly random, twice we went out for the morning putting used wet towels aside for replacement only to find them still there when we returned because they had changed the day without informing us. The cleaner also spent Sunday mornings working in the basement laundry room.

All in all, a very nice place to stay, but don't be misled by the hype, there are too many superlatives such as stunning and awesome. Giving anything a rating is subjective and always coloured by one’s own previous experiences, but in our view Villa Vida Nova merits 4 stars not 5.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
We regret that our villa didn't quite meet your specific needs. We try our very best which is attested to by almost 100 consistent 5 star reviews across 10 independent review sites. This doesn't mean we are complacent, far from it, and is the reason for our continuing success. We take on board all suggestions and criticism and implement necessary changes swiftly and efficiently.

Thank you for your suggestions about shopping. We welcome advice but your unique criticisms, even though you admit are subjective, may mislead the reader. To this end, and so that the reader is not misinformed I will clarify a few things:

As you are aware there are actually two TV Satellite systems, (not one), and not dated, one is less than a year old. There are over 100 TV channels, 70 in English, catering for guests from Europe, Canada and USA, not just UK. It would be impractical to try to provide bespoke channels for every nationality. As I explained to you by email our neighbours tried using IPTV which was unsuccessful because the bandwidth is marginal in our area for that particular system, this was confirmed by the internet provider. Notwithstanding this IPTV infringes both copyright in the UK and broadcasting law in Portugal. IPTV is a grey area even for private users. There are many free video sites but I suggested Filmon because it gives the most comprehensive choice for less than €10 per month.

The stairs from the garage are 1.9 meters wide consisting of two separate spans of 7 shallow and broad steps. It has a landing in the middle which is 1.9 meters wide and 3.5 meters long. It has a metal railing and handrail for its entire length. The stair is built to code and cannot be regarded as a challenge, see photos.

The garage has never been advertised for guest use, your implication is misleading. We advertise "secure parking for 7 cars" which is behind granite walls and steel gates, not a garage. Staff parking and staff entrance are separate.

The lane to the villa is about 300 meters long and is a cul de sac with no through traffic. It is a well maintained single track tarred road with several passing places and a turning circle at the end. It has two bends in it neither which are hairpin. It is not difficult to navigate and is wide enough for large trucks including the propane gas truck that delivers to our property, see photos.

September is the least prettiest month for the garden made worse this year because we have just had one of the hottest and driest summers on record.

We respected your request to have staff visits limited to when you were out and apologize for the one occasion that she had to vary the "advertised midweek day" from Tuesday to Wednesday. Our staff have other villas to attend to so some flexibility is required in order to be considerate to other villa owners. We also accommodated your request to reschedule her hours on the day you went to the airport to collect friends.

The cleaner uses the laundry room in the basement which is separate from the guest area and has its own staff parking and entrance. She uses this room to wash, tumble dry and iron linen and towels for your use. We are very fortunate that we have an independent basement laundry as many rental villas have only the guest area to perform this task.

You state, "As other reviewers have mentioned, the house is not entirely private". There are absolutely no other reviews that state this, this is untrue and misleading. The villa is very private. The house to the east is occupied by a single man in his eighties, has no windows and is on the back staff entrance side of the villa and partially hidden behind trees. He is a gentleman who tends his peach and olive trees and often leaves a tray of peaches at the front door for our guests. To the north west there is cream coloured private villa, see photos, which is occupied intermittently. It is over 100 meters away and only someone standing on their upstairs bedroom balcony can see the very far edge of our infinity pool.

We used a professional photographer who used a variety of lenses, this is normal and acceptable in the hospitality and real estate industry. The exterior photographs of the pool are not distorted to make the pool look "enormous" nor does our description portray this notion either.

The "superlatives" that you call "hype" only repeat what reviewers say about the villa. I stand by my descriptions. The most recent TripAdvisor review headings: "Wonderful villa in stunning location", "Superb villa with breathtaking pool and views", "Beautiful house and pool, perfectly maintained, in a private setting with stunning views", "Genuine 5 star villa in beautiful setting".

"Coastal views" are simply that, nothing else is implied, the location maps show where we are and distance from the coast. The descriptions concur and photographs attest to this. Extracts from recent Tripadvisor reviews: "amazing views of the surrounding valley and down to the coast", "The infinity pool is great and the views down to the Algarve coast are tremendous", "The views from the villa were amazing, looking out over the valley below & the coast line".

Bicycles are listed along with other activities available and our advertising states that they are "available for hire". Monchique is a popular venue for mountain biking and famous for cycle road races. We have guests who bring their own or rent from companies who deliver all types of cycles to the door. There are companies that deliver bikes to Monchique, to allow people a relaxing down hill cycle all the way to the coast and then are ferried back to Monchique.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunterwoo...
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa in stunning location”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the third time that our family have visited Villa Vida Nova and it impresses us more each time. The spacious, light filled villa is beautifully furnished and has all the amenities expected in a luxury home.The relaxing outside space is both practical and functional with the immaculate infinity pool providing a welcome refreshing dip. The barbecue and covered seating areas are well appointed giving amazing views of the surrounding valley and down to the coast. This wonderful villa truly gives you the opportunity to relax away from it all and also the base to explore the treasures of the Algarve.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djw1963
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Villa with Breathtaking Pool and Views”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Villa Vida Nova. What a stunning location and a beautiful villa. As has been commented in other reviews there is everything you could possibly need and more. Four of us have visited Portugal many times before, staying in hotels and villas on the coast but none of them match up to the accommodation or location of Nigel and Bev's property, for us it was ideal, remote enough to be private but with facilities within walking distance if we wanted, otherwise only a short drive away. Our holiday was purely for 3 siblings to relax by the pool while two "husbands of" went off to play a couple of rounds of golf. What a pool to relax by - the spectacular view down the valley, watching the swifts, swallows, house martins, buzzards, etc. We had a scorcher of a week with regards to temperatures and the air conditioning came in handy for our last two evenings. If you are considering booking this villa, do it - you won't be disappointed, we couldn't believe our luck - I do a lot of research before picking a holiday home and even I was shocked at how lovely it was. Highly Recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you for kind words, we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and pool, perfectly maintained, in a private setting with stunning views.”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I stayed at Villa Vida Nova with another couple during the last week of September 2016. The villa met all of our expectations and is accurately represented by the photos on the website -- a spacious home, furnished to a high standard, perfectly maintained; a beautiful pool, fully functional BBQ, comfortable outdoor eating areas and stunning views. Easy access to the Algarve coastal towns and beaches but a welcome respite from the busy tourist centers. Weather in the mid-80s (F). Nigel was responsive and helpful. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, pool, setting.
Liked least: Washing machine was slow. No dryer (although outdoor clothes line worked fine).
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phorkya
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
“An amazing, beautiful holiday spot”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is one of the best holiday spots we have ever been in - few compares to it! The villa is beautiful, very luxurious and spacious. It was very clean and in an awesome shape both in and outside – perfect service done by the owners and their local staff. 
Our hosts have been very welcoming and attentive – from the booking to preparing the trip to quickly taking care of a special request during our stay – a very professional service. It literally was like staying in a nice hotel. 
The kids enjoyed the pool and spent ages in it – the grown ups loved the trips to the amazing local restaurants – all cherished the beautiful beaches and the countryside.
Monchique is an excellent place to explore the Algarve with good distance to South and Westcoast, historic villages and the Sierra.
We look forward to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumelow
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Vida Nova, " a new life", that's what we had during our 2 week holiday, a very well appointed villa with excellent pool and a patio area with far reaching views. Nigel's directions to the villa were accurate, we found it straight away and no problems taking our 9 seater minibus to the large parking area. Everything in the villa was easy to use with plenty of information on hand. You can opt to chill at the villa or go site seeing locally, we did both and our 2 weeks passed far too quickly. We found everyone very friendly and became fond of the cleaner who never stopped working on her visits, excellent. We had a couple of BBQs but enjoyed all the restaurants more so they "won", they are all very reasonably priced, the one at the "top of the hill" was our favourite. I fed the fish as suggested in the info pack and by the end of the first week they were coming up to say "hello" or "bom dia" of course !!! We found the villa and the area very special and it won our hearts, we have no hesitation in recommending Villa Vida Nova. Happy holidays to any future guests. Pete Sue Don Vron Ian and Andrea

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing