We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
402
274
151
43
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
274
151
43
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pro shop cotton club henry cotton bar mountain view le grill snooker table practice facilities driving range water hazards rooms are small star resort buffet restaurant public areas private beach kids club tea and coffee pool view
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 882 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

The hotel promotes itself as 5 star, in my opinion it is certainly not 5 star but at most 4 star. The public areas are spacious and never busy, the reception staff pleasant, our bedroom described as mountain view ( in other words not looking over the golf course but rather the car park) was small but clean and had most things you would expect, there is good WiFi and plenty towels. The biggest concern was the attitude of the breakfast waiting staff who are really letting down an excellent buffet, the food and drink quality is high , but the staff make no attempt to have any chat or interaction with you whatsoever ,, not even a good morning! They never come over and ask if you wish coffee or tea you have to attract their attention and in turn their response is never friendly but rather why have you disturbed me. One older waiter had a daily habit of dragging tables and chairs over the outside terrace whilst we were sitting trying to eat ,, no apology for his noise, and he did this every morning . The hotel really need a manager in the breakfast room to see what is going on, there is absolutely something odd about the waiting staff attitude( as other reviews state),,

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anguscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear anguscc,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your views and opinions after your recent holiday.

On a positive note you have mentioned the pleasant reception staff, the cleanliness of your room, with all the amenities you would expect, the variety and quality of breakfast and the good wifi.

We have also noted your comments regarding the areas that could have been better, namely the service at breakfast time, which we have shared with the Management. Our guests feedback and constructive criticism is for us an opportunity to take action and improve our services and facilities. We regret any inconveniences caused, and this is not an excuse, but as we are running a high occupancy the breakfast service from 7 to 10.30 am is probably the only area of the Hotel where all guests meet during this relatively short period. During the day, some of our guests are at the beach, other by the pool, or playing golf and the public areas and various dining outlets are never crowded. Many reviewers mention the relaxing ambiance and the tranquility of spacious public areas.

Thanking you once again for your comments, we look forward to greeting you back,
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

My comments about Penina Hotel is contradictory. From one side hotel has stunning golf fields, gardens, swimming pool; from other side rooms are very small and outdated.

Hotel has really small rooms although it has nice balcony. As 2 person, you cannot open your luggages comfortably. Air condition is really old and working loudly. It is not possible to make good adjustment either. In contrast bathroom is very clean and spacious. There is safe in the room.

One of the main disappointment was lack of internet apart from the front desk area. There is wi-fi coverage in the rooms, and swimming pool area but internet is not working. This need to be fixed immediately.

Hotel has plenty of parking place and it is free of charge. Golf area is very beautiful and relaxing. Hotel's landscape is stunning. Swimming pool is large, clean and fun to spend time. They provide you towel near the pool area.

Penina Hotel provides one of the most diverse breakfasts I have ever experienced in many other countries. All the items have quality and are enough for all guests. You never disappoint in the breakfast.

If you want to go to beach, hotel provides access to "Dunas Restaurant & Lounge Bar" which is in Alvor Beach. So you can use sunbeds and umbrellas free of cost. However I would go to much better beaches in Lagos and Lagoa instead of Alvor.

Hotel has 3 different restaurant options and I was satisfied with the one I tried.

In conclusion, if you can tolerate limited internet connectivity and decent size room, you would have pleasant stay in Penina Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Murat S,

We have read your review, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments further to your holidays. We have noted that overall you had a pleasant stay, and we are happy to receive your compliments regarding the resort, the stunning gardens, the swimming pool, beautiful golf area, a beach club with complimentary umbrellas and sunbeds, and a great breakfast with quality and variety.

On the other hand, you were not entirely pleased with the size of the room, and we are honestly sorry that although the public spaces and terraces are large, some of our rooms are not the most spacious. As we have various room types, we may allocate you another room in a future visit.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you once again, and we remain at your service for any requirements related to your accommodation.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Stayed here for a 3 night break in August, very friendly staff and reception. Nice pool area and clean. The bar and snack bar around by the pool provided poor service, the staff were always arguing and disagreeing with each other, and took over an hour just to get drinks and a burger. There also was not enough seating in the area.

The breakfast was very good with lots of selection and a good omlette station, however, some of the staff waiting on the tables were slow bringing tea and coffee.
The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, however, the pillows were a disgrace, again being an advertised 5* hotel you would have thought it would have had a pillow menu.

We did not use the golf facilities, so can't comment on this service. The transport to the beach area was good and frequent.

In general staff were pleasant and friendly, the Portugese hospitality was also good. Shame about the pool bar and food also facilities.

Room Tip: We had a studio room at the top of the hotel so quite
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Vivrow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent holiday at our Resort. On a positive note you have mentioned the very friendly staff, the nice pool area, and the quality and variety at breakfast. It is rewarding to see your observations about the pleasant, friendly staff and the Portuguese hospitality.

Your comments regarding the areas that could have been better, were also appreciated, as this feedback is for us an opportunity to improve our services and facilities. We regret any inconveniences caused by delay in some of our outlets, as we are running a high occupancy, in some occasions there can eventually be some busier moments.

Thanking you once again for your comments, we look forward to greeting you back,
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a great relaxing family break at the Penina , lots of space, amazing pool with plenty of sun beds. Service from all members of staff was consistently good . Rooms are comfortable and spacious and Rooms looking over pool have beautiful views over the golf course and beyond. Several restaurants serving good quality food especially The Grill. The kids menu is available in all restaurants enabling adults to eat wherever they choose. Kids club looked great with good facilities even though our children are too old for that now . The other half played the golf course and said it was fantastic. We will definitely be returning here .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank kak328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear kak328,

We have read your review “Perfect relaxing family break”, and we have shared it with our teams for motivation, as it is most rewarding for everyone to read that we have achieved our main objective, the satisfaction of our guests.

Facilities, swimming pool, comfortable rooms, restaurants and kids menu, golf experience and staff - all those have contributed to a great stay, and we are happy to see your intention to return and recommendation to others.

Our teams look forward to welcoming you again soon, and remain at your service for any assistance.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before and enjoyed our visit. The hotel was ok but the golf course was a disaster. Most of the holes were flooded and really the course should have been closed. It’s old and needs a total revamp. We won’t be going back again. Plenty of fabulous golf courses to choose from.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lacha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear lacha13,

We would like to thank you for your visit to our Resort in April this year, and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Further to previous golfing holidays with us, when you had enjoyable experiences, this time the conditions of the golf course were not up to your expectations, which we sincerely regret.

The weather has been changing worldwide, with for example the unusual warmer temperatures in Ireland, England, Sweden and Holland. This year, we had unusual rainfall in the Algarve, and although our Headgreenkeeper and his teams were doing their best, the course conditions were affected by the inclement weather.

We honestly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you once again, and we remain at your service for any requirements related to your golf booking.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews