We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
407
277
152
42
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
277
152
42
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sir henry cotton cotton club pro shop mountain view le grill snooker table practice facilities locker room water hazards driving range star resort rooms are small public areas private beach tea and coffee kids club main bar
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 891 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Family holiday - grandparents, parents and 2 children. Hotel itself is lovely and traditional. Furnishings very nice. Grounds beautiful. Pool area huge and just fab! Good children’s club. Breakfast - great choices of everything. Hot food - not always very hot at all - lukewarm at best mostly!! Rooms - the smallest I think I’ve been in for a long time in an hotel and then we also had to have a camp bed in each for the children so this made them extremely difficult to move around and wardrobe and drawer space was very limited. However, the rooms were always clean and bathroom nice, and adequate. Our rooms looked over the car park and road though noise of traffic didn’t affect me, being a light sleeper, and we did have trees to look at so view wasn’t all bad. As for staff - reception staff seemed abrupt at times - not smiley - and we queued numerous times there far too long to get information, book restaurants or order taxis. The restaurant staff were quite inefficient at times - in the Henry Cotton where we ate twice, both evenings drinks were forgotten and we were asked if we wanted bread and after saying ‘yes’ it was then forgotten and we had to ask for it. The best staff member In the whole place who smiled and chatted and made a fuss of the children was ‘Andre’ who worked in the various bars and restaurants during our stay. The Italian restaurant was probably the best for menu and quality of meal . The Dunas was also nice, on the beach and handy to have the shuttle bus there and back. The Henry Cotton was like an English pub menu - only soups on the menu as a starter, so we ended up sharing a salad one night. Chicken and chips - with a lettuce leaf on the side, fish and chips - no salad dressing! Pork shank- meat fell off the bone, but sauce was just ‘gravy’, and served with a few new potatoes - no veg! Not 5* food! Didn’t eat in the grill. The men in our party were impressed with the golf and courses. The hotel is 15 mins from anywhere so if you’re staying I advise to hire a car as you can’t walk anywhere and we had booked a restaurant one evening in Ferragudo and went down to reception at 6.50 to ask for a taxi at 7pm and we waited until 7.45 for one which was the time we were meant to be at the restaurant so had to ring and apologise! Not the hotels fault - but had to get them to ring to find out where the taxi was a few times- but every time we went out we waited quite a while for taxis and the cost was approx 10€ out and approx 15€ back or more. Then we come to the beach shuttle !! First time we used it in the afternoon it was ok, the 2nd time we got to reception at 10.50 for the 11am bus. It was already full and about to set off, with a fair few other people waiting, so the driver radioed for another, which took about 10mins to arrive. That too filled up, leaving a few of us behind, so they radioed another - and again another 10min wait! This is where the problems really started as there were 3 people in front of us - and 6 of us next inline - the bus takes 8, so the 3 in front of us got on, and there wasn’t room for the 6 of us too, so everyone behind us got on - and - you’ve guessed - we had to wait again, with 2 children getting very fed up by this time!! The first bus arrived back eventually and finally we managed to get on it- after a 40min wait! On arriving at the beach, we were then told the last sun beds had just been taken just to add insult to injury!! So, the same thing was going to happen with the 4.15 bus when we wanted to return to the hotel but I insisted we got on as the children were so tired - which meant other guests had to wait for another bus and they probably thought I was rude. One suggestion would be a bigger mini bus !!!!!! So, to summarise, we did enjoy our week generally, but this hotel has issues which need addressing and it’s definitely not a 5*. I personally wouldn’t stay here again as it’s too far away from everything else if you don’t want to hire a car and don’t want to sit by the (very nice) pool all week. Staff also need some customer relations training!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RuthieD1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear RuthieD1963,

We have read your review, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your views and opinions after your recent holiday.

On a positive note you have mentioned that the Hotel is lovely and traditional, the beautiful grounds, huge swimming pool, the nice beach club and restaurant Dunas, and also the exceptional attitude of André at our restaurants and Bars, who always had a smile. Your praise was forwarded to him, for motivation.

We have also noted your comments regarding the areas that could have been better, namely the shuttle service, which we have shared with the Management. Our guests feedback and constructive criticism is for us an opportunity to take action and improve our services and facilities.

Thanking you once again for your comments, we hope that you will reconsider your decision of not returning, and give us an opportunity to change the less positive impression of this stay. Please kindly contact us directly when you plan your next visit, allowing us to ensure all details for a pleasurable holiday.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We went for a long weekend in July. A 30 minute drive from Faro but the roads are so good it’s very easy to get to as it’s just off the main highway.
The rooms are not that spacious but functional with good bathrooms which are well stocked with toiletries and very clean.
We had a lovely view overlooking the pool and the golf course beyond. Breakfast was served in a lovely airy room with plenty of room between tables. The staff were very good but the person cooking the eggs seemed rather reluctant to cook anything fresh for you and had a bit of a grumpy attitude to guests. The outdoor areas are very nice with fabulous gardens, the pool extremely large and the outdoor seating at the bar area was really pleasant.
We ate at the Italian restaurant the first night which was very poor. The main restaurant was much better, the food and wines were of a very high standard and the service like stepping back in time having crepe Suzette cooked at the table!
A nice hotel, not amazing but good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear Sue S,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Resort for your golfing weekend in the Algarve, and for taking the time to share your review “Good for golfers” on Tripadvisor.

On a positive note you have kindly mentioned the lovely functional rooms with a view overlooking the pool and golf, breakfast, wonderful outdoor areas and fabulous pool and gardens.

We are also extremely happy to read that your dining experience at Le Grill was most pleasurable, and that you have treated yourself with the crepe Suzette cooked at the table.

The staff was very good, and we regret to read about one less positive interaction. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused. We usually receive good comments on the helpfulness and attentiveness of our staff at the omelette station. The language barrier can sometimes cause communication issues, however we will investigate what may have happened, and take any appropriate action.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, we remain at your service.
Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We love this hotel and took my children here for the third time this August. The buffet breakfast is amazing (gluten free options available) the beds are so comfortable and bathrooms clean and practical, the hotel has Portuguese rustic charm, the kids club is fantastic and even lets children swan between the pool area and kids club area (if parents allow them the free flowing green wrist band option), there are reliable free shuttle mini buses to the nearby (and fabulous) Alvor beach with free sun beds and beach towels. The restaurants serve high quality food and wine. I especially like the Grill and then Dunas beach restaurant. The best thing is the lovely staff, such as the leisure manager Nuno, who makes sure that everything is spot on and is always friendly and professional. The only thing I dislike is the Sunday BBQ buffet which is a disappointment by Portuguese cuisine standards and not value for money. It would be nice to order things straight off the BBQ or at least serve food hot? The puddings were good though. Kids under 12 eat free which is great and happy hour at the wine bar is nice. Management can the pool stay open another hour or two please? It's still warm and sunny at 7pm... did I mention that the pool is THE best thing about this hotel? It's enormous (apparently the largest in the Algarve) and so you do not need to fight for space or worry about your kids (or others) ruining your lengths swimming. Plenty of sun beds too! We will be back next summer! Thank you Penina! :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Natalie H,

How delightful it is to learn that your stay with us was up your expectations! We are truly grateful for your words and for having taken the time to review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read your compliments regarding the buffet breakfast, food options, the resort facilities, the beach club, and the fantastic kids club. Your wonderful feedback was shared with our teams, for motivation, as they are committed in providing attentive service.
We have also noted your comments regarding the Buffet, and the swimming pool opening hours, and this constructive observations were forwarded to the management.

Thanking you once again, we look forward to welcome you back in a near future for your 4th visit.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

A Monday to Friday vacation to celebrate two friends 60th birthdays with our wife’s playing golf, spa and relaxation. Rooms allocated had great views of the pool and golf course, not massive but good and clean with facilities. Each day started with an excellent breakfast buffet, fantastic choice available.
Played the nine hole resort course, nine hole academy course and two rounds around the Sir Henry Cotton Championship course, well maintained and in good condition, well worth a visit, excellent/ friendly staff in pro shop. Spike bar very handy.
Pool is massive and again in good condition, plenty of beds, no early starts to secure one.
Our wives enjoyed a relaxing session in the spa and I used the Gymnasium which is well equipped but lacks air con, very warm.
We dined in all the restaurants, first night Ristorante L’Arlecchino was superb, with good food and attentive staff, second night was in Ristorante Le Grill, please see my review on the evening which was absolutely appalling, however the next day the Duty Manager communicated in writing apologising for the service and offered to recompense us for the extremely disappointing evening we had. He personally met us the next evening in the Sir Henry Cotton Club and explained the action he had taken. We had an excellent meal and evening in a more relaxed dining room. Would express all our thanks and regards to the Duty Manager for a really good positive response, communicated very well ensuring our stay in his hotel continued to meet our expectations and celebrate the birthdays. Well done.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone albeit our Le Grill fine dining experience was so poor hence the rating.
Visited Portimão via taxi with no problems, small but found a lovely ristorante for lunch.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Foxy1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Foxy1550,

We have read your review, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your views and opinions about your overall experience.

We have noted with satisfaction that you have pointed out a few pluses, such as the location, view from your room, golf course, superb dinner at L´Arlecchino restaurant, huge swimming pool, and relaxing treatments at our Beauty centre.

Nevertheless, on this occasion one of your meals was not as enjoyable, as you had expected, which we sincerely regret. We appreciate the fact that you have immediately spoken with our Manager on Duty, allowing us to take action and to provide a gesture as our response to the situation. We would like to assure you that this was definitely a one off issue, since we are constantly receiving very high compliments both in service and food.

Thanking you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

The hotel promotes itself as 5 star, in my opinion it is certainly not 5 star but at most 4 star. The public areas are spacious and never busy, the reception staff pleasant, our bedroom described as mountain view ( in other words not looking over the golf course but rather the car park) was small but clean and had most things you would expect, there is good WiFi and plenty towels. The biggest concern was the attitude of the breakfast waiting staff who are really letting down an excellent buffet, the food and drink quality is high , but the staff make no attempt to have any chat or interaction with you whatsoever ,, not even a good morning! They never come over and ask if you wish coffee or tea you have to attract their attention and in turn their response is never friendly but rather why have you disturbed me. One older waiter had a daily habit of dragging tables and chairs over the outside terrace whilst we were sitting trying to eat ,, no apology for his noise, and he did this every morning . The hotel really need a manager in the breakfast room to see what is going on, there is absolutely something odd about the waiting staff attitude( as other reviews state),,

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anguscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear anguscc,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your views and opinions after your recent holiday.

On a positive note you have mentioned the pleasant reception staff, the cleanliness of your room, with all the amenities you would expect, the variety and quality of breakfast and the good wifi.

We have also noted your comments regarding the areas that could have been better, namely the service at breakfast time, which we have shared with the Management. Our guests feedback and constructive criticism is for us an opportunity to take action and improve our services and facilities. We regret any inconveniences caused, and this is not an excuse, but as we are running a high occupancy the breakfast service from 7 to 10.30 am is probably the only area of the Hotel where all guests meet during this relatively short period. During the day, some of our guests are at the beach, other by the pool, or playing golf and the public areas and various dining outlets are never crowded. Many reviewers mention the relaxing ambiance and the tranquility of spacious public areas.

Thanking you once again for your comments, we look forward to greeting you back,
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews