We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
70
76
18
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
76
18
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews totally recommend this hotel vau beach free breakfast was great air con praia da rocha swimming pool comfortable stay minute walk nice pool stayed for nights hotel is perfect nearest beach yogurt restaurants and bars walking distance rooms are spacious enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 176 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in August. We arrived early and had free use of the facilities whilst we waited for our room to be ready. Please note that check out is 12pm- this was lovely! Our room was ready an hour early and the receptionist came and got us to tell us we could go to our room early.
The rooms are small and modest but I slept well in the beds. I'm not a fancy person and we didn't intend on staying for long in the rooms. If you wish to stay in your room or like lots of modern touches, look at photos before you book.
Breakfast was included in the price which I really enjoyed- a range of options and the staff ensured food and drink was topped up as needed. Food was kept separate which I appreciated as a vegetarian.
For a small charge we used the safe in our room and asked for a fridge. Whilst it wasn't the coldest it just about did the job. The pool area was clean and burger and the pool lovely to swim in. It wasn't overcrowded and I always found a lounger when I wanted.

The local beach was quite busy so we found ourself walking back to Praia to rocha which was a pleasant walk. There was a local shop and small cafes which served beer but there are many more hotels closer to the centre. There is a car park which was small and I could see the angle of parking could be tricky, especially if you had a bigger car.
I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LozC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was quite quaint and not modern as some hotels but nonetheless clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Check in wasn't until 3pm but the staff were great in allowing us to leave our luggage and sit by the pool until our room was ready. They even managed to get us in an hour earlier than planned which was great.

The room was quite small but ok after a long day at the beach or exploring. We had a balcony but not the greatest of views (over an overgrown patch of land).
We paid extra to have a fridge in the room to keep drinks cold and also there was a reasonable charge to use the safe in the room.

The free breakfast was great - a fantastic start to the day. A good spread of pastries, croissants, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs (you make them yourself in an interesting water bath machine) bacon, mushrooms, cereals etc. There were hot/ cold drinks also. If anything ran out it was quickly replenished.
We had our breakfast out on the patio next to the pool every morning which was really nice.

This hotel had fantastic wifi!!! Whether in the room or by the pool there was a strong and stable connection.

The hotel was a short 5 min walk to the nearest beach (Praia do Vau). We found this beach really busy considering the size and as we had previously visited the Praia da Rocha beach we decided to return there (€10 to hire 2 beds and an umbrella for the day).

Near the beach there are a few restaurants and bars. We had a jug of sangria and a bit of lunch in 2 different places but if you're after a bit more atmosphere I would go into the Praia da Rocha strip which is about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel or short taxi ride (about €5 each way).

The pool is nice by the pool and we never had issues with getting a sunbed. It was reasonably quiet during the day.

We had previously arranged an airport transfer (a large air conditioned coach for €11 each) so we did not need to arrange a taxi through the hotel.

Overall a good stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MissAC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Good location: 10 minutes to the beach and Spar, in a walking distance from good restaurants and main promenade. Nice personnel, good breakfast and cute swimming pool as a good way to end the day. The room is equipped with modern and noiseless air con. As for the things to be updated: British style tap is inconvenient for non-Britons and the TV from the time I was born.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Виктор З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Very nice villa with a charming romantic vibe. Beautiful balconies with view of the wonderful flours they have in the garden.
Nice clean pool with sun beds. The breakfast was also delicious and with a variety of choices warm and cold and you can serve it by the pool as well.
The staff is extremely helpful and kind with a nice smile on their face always.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaDnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

Went for 2 nights for my birthday in May with my best friend.

Gentleman on check-in was extremely friendly and upbeat, even though it was nearly midnight, even got us some glasses and ice for us to have to wine in the room.

Room was spacious, and immaculately clean. Housekeeping were so respectful that if there were valuables on display in your room, they'd ask you to remove them before they cleaned!

All the staff were very keen to help and nothing is too much, even if on occasion we had a little difficulty with the language barrier.

The food was very nice and simple, couldn't fault it for the price we paid!

The hotel is located only a 30min walk which includes some beautiful beach views) from the strip at Praia du Rocha where there are lots of bars, nightclubs, boutiques and shopping.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool often picked up the free Wifi from the lounge below
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews