We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay, excellent house, fantastic...”
exterior of villa showing pool fence around pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior of villa showing pool fence around pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
exterior of villa showing pool fence around pool
proximity to beach
double bedroom
ensuite shower room
exterior and view
kitchen
twin bedroom
dining room
master bedroom
living room
ensuite bathroom
garden
beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sagres, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
migueland...
Lisbon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful stay, excellent house, fantastic location”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the second year that we have stayed in this house. It is very spacious and fits extended family, with protection of the pool for young children as was our case. The location is excellent, close to the Martinhal beach and the amenities (restaurantes, beach support, etc) associated with it. It is also close to Sagres village, a very friendly low-key place on the tip of Europe. Great beaches nearby both facing south, with no waves, and also west, exposed to the Atlantic with more waves for surfers or anyone who enjoys a wilder coastline. Definitely a great holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 1) location, 2) space of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acajard
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really lovely holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with my husband and three children five and under.

The villa was immaculately clean, the rooms are massive, kitchen had everything you could want and the showers amazing! The pool was really clean, and nice temperature. The pool guard was sturdy and secure which is essential with three little ones.

We had been to Sagres before but not Martinhal. Martinhal beach was a family beach, which was quiet, nice sand dunes to play in, clean sand, mostly not much waves but some waves on one or two of the days. There was a lovely fish restaurant on the beach. If you like running, there is a lovely run along the beach, through sagres and along the cliff to the beaches on the other side.

We found there was some nice things nearby for little ones, our children loved the local zoo, we treked one day to Zoomarina (huuge sealife entertainment park - which was pretty draining!) and they loved the fort - with its cannons. Some people complain about the wind in sagres, but we found it helpful in the heat. It wasn't the wind that blows sand in your face kind of a wind, more of a pleasant cooling breeze.

There were a couple of negatives.

Firstly they charge for the use of a high chair and a travel cot. Mostly in my experience elsewhere these are free. Ive forgot the exact price they charge, but it is more than either of our cost new. So on principle I trudged our travel cot and travel high chair seat (along with three car seats, a buggie, and four suitcases, and 3 young children), through airports to find the travel cot they had in a wardrobe and the high chair sat in the front room looking at us the whole holiday. I atleast thought they must charge as they hire them in for us, as it doesn't feel right to pay for child essentials - especially if they are already there!

My only other negative was to do with security. I am pretty security conscious and had triple checked all the doors were locked at night. However, my first night I woke up as I thought I heard someone open the sliding door. I presume it was my over active imagination, but when we checked, despite it seeming like the lock is down the lock doesn't actually work. When I told the lady, she suggested using the shutters - which in fairness worked and was pretty secure. I am sure they have rectified this lock now, but feel I should mention it, just incase others are coming with young children.

Other than these two minor negatives, it was a really lovely villa, in a beautiful setting and wonderful part of the world.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Hi Amelia

Thank you so much for posting a positive review on Trip Advisor as we feel these honest reviews are really helpful for future bookings.

I hope you dont mind me replying regarding the point you made about security, as we do take this very seriously. Sometimes when previous guests slam the patio doors, it can cause the locking device to break (sounds like this happened in your case), and our advice to shut the exterior shutter was only meant for you to use this till we could have the repair made to the door. Apologies if this wasn´t communicated clearly enough, as we like to solve any minor maintenance issues as quickly as possible.

With regard to the cots and high chairs, it isnt unusual in the industry that we charge for these items, but we completely understand that you chose to bring your own.

We are really glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in the future. If you do - as a returing guest, next time i would be happy to throw some of the childrens equipment into the deal!

Best wishes
Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place for peace and quiet”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our first experience of a luxury villa... the sheer amount of space took a wee while to get used to but we managed it :-) The living space was comfortable and once the underfloor heating had time to warm the space, it was a great space to rest up in after a day out and about. I guess hearing the telly was a little difficult.. With little in the way of soft furnishings about, sound bounced off all the walls making listening awkward. Then again, if you plan to be out until the small hours, I suppose the telly will not be on much anyway :-)

The kitchen was simply equipped... though, like most self-catering places, the knives could do with sharpening :-) Nonetheless, we managed to look after ourselves well during our stay.

The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and to have underfloor heating in the en-suite was pure bliss :-)

In a sentence, it was a great place to stay.. Martinhal was great... the Algarve was great :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHARD T
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great for family with young children”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

No sea view BUT FENCED superb swimming pool-heated!!- great for toddlers.
Wonderful quiet luxury villa with lovely garden and only 8 minutes walk to beach.
Definately would book again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fenced pool
Liked least: no sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauloMRam...
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Hollidays with a capital "H"”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As I do every almost year, I rented a 4 bedroom Villa in one of my favourite places in the all world: Martinhal beach in Sagres, Algarve.
I went there with my family and some friends and, as always, we all had a great time.
At my arrival I found a clean villa, equipped with all the gadgets I needed. A lovely terrace with a beautiful swimming pool (equipped with a safety fence for children) at a 5min walking distance from the spectacular Martinhal Beach.
The place is lovely and away from the fuss that you can sometimes get in Algarve (specially in August). In "Sagres" and "Vila do Bispo", you can also find the most beautiful beaches in the all word and excellent restaurants.
My definition of family beach holidays

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacations”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is amazing and the location top top! 3 minutes walking to one of the most beautifull beaches in Portugal!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafemaya
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great for big families”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a great week with our kids and grandparents in Villa Jota, were very warmth received by Jose and Hope, who gave us all necessary explanations for our stay. This villa has four tastefully decorated BR, each with its own bathroom. A quite big living-dining room, a small but good equipped kitchen, and if you are traveling with kids, it's excellent to have wash- and dry machines. The villa has a partly covered terrace with sun loungers, a beautiful little garden and a table + chairs, where we had our meals most of the time. Grilling was fantastic. The typical Sagres wind was not annoying at all, as many tourists say, but was comfortable against the heat! The private pool was a highlight, the kids loved it as the ocean's water was too cold for them. The pool is fenced what we really appreciated having a toddler in the family. A team of maids came once in the week to make the cleaning. A pity was the orientation of the villa (critic for the architect!) because it doesn't have a sea view. The distance to the Martinhal beach was very good though, only 5 minutes walk. Want to buy groceries? Minimarket in Sagres reachable in 20 min. walking distance along the beach to Sagres, at the main street, opens at 8:30 am. The fish market opens Tue-Fri 9-12:30 h (not sure if on Sat.), with plenty of tuna, dorade, sardines and sword fish… We grilled everyday! This is also within 20-25 minutes walk, situated next to the town’s church. For more fish and groceries is the big Supermarket, 20 min. by foot from Martinhal walking along (uncomfortable but feasible) the country road in direction to Sagres. We had our holidays in June, the ocean water was about 18° C, weather 27-30° C/ day and about 16°C/night, windy. The locals recommend traveling at the end of September, as the water temperature rises and the wind gets better. We didn’t rent a a car, as we loved our walkings and the landscapes. We only hired an airport transfer with the yellowfish transfers from Faro to Sagres (110 Km) which we highly recommend, had it very comfortable, clean and punctual.

->Payment: the recommended payment system from martinhalbeachvillas is suitable for UK residents, but for Euro countries a 2.6% charge will be made. Our solution was to transfer directly to the portuguese bank account of martinhalbeachvillas. It was safe and uncomplicated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the terrace, the grill and the pool
Liked least: lack of sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing