We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home on Faial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Quinta da Meia Eira
Ranked #2 of 14 Horta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales/Cymru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home on Faial”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you want to stay in a quiet, beautiful, homely and relaxing place, Quinta da Meia Eira is the B & B for you. We spent 4 very happy days here in April in a well furnished, comfortable room with a sea view. The garden is a delight and it felt very special to be able to sit looking out at the sea in one direction and the Monte da Guia and Pico Volcano in the other. Francisco and his family have created a real haven at their small-holding. It's lovely to have a dog and cat for company as you explore. There are also cows, goats, chickens and turkeys which would be fun for children to see too.
There's a little swimming pool for a morning dip and after a bit of exercise, you are really ready for the wonderful breakfast. Much of the produce comes from the small-holding and includes home-made yoghurt, scrambled eggs and delicious fig jam.
Franciso is extremely kind, helpful and patient and ready to provide all sorts of information to enhance your stay. We had a great time travelling round the island and particularly enjoyed walking around the rim of the Caldeira as well as our interesting visit to Capelinhos

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RigantonaPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We are a family (a couple with two children 12 and 9). We have stayed 5 nights and we loved every moment. We were given two very spacious linked rooms, ideal for families with two or three children. The furniture is antique and very typical. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and gave us all the information we needed to visit the surroundings. Francisco, the owner has booked us the whale and dolphins watching, which we recommend for all. He also informed us about the time table for boats that cross the channel to Pico and São Jorge (other islands that you can visit in a day trip).
The farm is big and so there are a lot of animals that you can see such as cows, chickens and rabbits. We loved the Labrador dog and the cats.
There are amazing sea views, especially from the swimming pool area. The breakfast room is very cozy. We highly recommend this place for families or couples who love the quietness, the sea, the nature and an authentic place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiguelSintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We are a family of four: two adults and two girls. We have spent our holidays in Faial: the blue island of Azores at the “Meia-Eira” farm. This House of Land and Sea offers the blue of Faial Island, the green of Azores and the life style and the history of the Azoreans.
Between the warm welcome of Ribeiro family (the owners) and the evolving nature we feel that we are in a special place, were times falls slowly and life is full.
We have sighted Wales and Dolphins sitting in the balcony, we have sweated ourselves with homemade jams and refreshed our bodies in the Azores Sea.
In the bedrooms´ of “Meia-Eira” we have seen details of the sea and the boats of Faial. In the gardens there are corners of flowers and in the Land the cows pasture unperturbed looking to us.
From “Meia-Eira” we can travel quickly to the see all the Faial Island and also to the surrounding islands: Pico and S. Jorge.
We and the children enjoy it tremendously.
We have brought the will to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitoriagemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Wonderful view over Pico. Lovelly for children. Simpathy! Highly recomendable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amftrgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Excellent location! The location is both good because is near the airport and near Horta and but also due to the amazing sightseeing.

The owner, Susana, is extremely friendly and so are the pets, namely their dog who very sweet and always ready to play with a ball.

Breakfast was very, very good.

The bed is a bit hard, and the furniture is quite old. But this is a minor issue.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeQ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horta hotels
8.9 km away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
9.0 km away
Pousada Forte da Horta
8.8 km away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
9.1 km away
Vila Belgica
Vila Belgica
#1 of 14 in Horta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.2 km away
Apartamentos Kosmos
Apartamentos Kosmos
#1 of 13 in Horta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Quinta da Meia Eira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Quinta da Meia Eira

Property: B&B Quinta da Meia Eira
Address: Rua dos Inocentes 1 | C. Branco, Horta, Faial Island 9900-323, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Quinta da Meia Eira 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting in front of the Atlantic, Quinta da Meia Eira has got 8 rooms and 60.000 m2 of gardens and pasture fields reaching the sea. Renewed in 2013 and 2014 rooms has king size beds, luxury mattress 100% latex, Internet Wi-Fi, Smart TV and 600 satellite channels. Guests can enjoy a swimming pool totally heated by the sun and an especial breakfast with farm and local products. Committed with deep environmental and social practices Quinta da Meia Eira is a family business Eco labeled by the Azorean Government and Turismo Rural Association, and is certified as "agroturismo". Around the house, guests can find Natural swimming pools (1,5km), Ecological reserve of Morro de Castelo Branco (3 km), Restaurant and Mini-market (<1km). Faial Island is a special island in Azores with mountains and beaches, perfect for trekking in sleeping volcanoes, whale and dolphin watching, sailing, and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your B&B Quinta da Meia Eira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Quinta Da Meia Eira Horta, Faial Island, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing