We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
126
113
50
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
113
50
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff chinese food swimming pool on the rocks whale watching hotel restaurant pico island steak separate buildings this wonderful hotel definitely recommend this place direct access to the sea shrimp asian style local dishes bread beautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 318 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2018

This wonderful hotel is located on the shore above crashing waves on the rocks. The room was excellent and so was the service. An excellent breakfast is included.
There are several trails going down to the rocks, including one that goes to a ladder that goes into the water. we were there in February and it was too cold to go swimming.
If you don't already know, there are very few beaches on any of the islands in the Azores, but there are plenty of places to observe huge waves pounding on the rocks.
We ate all of our dinners at the hotel - there are no nearby restaurants. if you want to eat somewhere else you will have to drive.
One tip: Be sure to ask for a bath mat - the shower/tub is very slippery and difficult to get into. They should really be supplied to all rooms.Also the floor in the bathroom has very slippery tile, so be careful.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tomcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeiadafonte, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Hello Tomcod,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will be sure to transmit your feedback to the hotel maintenence department. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

What a great Hotel in Pico. For me is the best in all island. The service, the food of the restaurant and the rooms are quite big and very comfortable. They have a direct access to the sea, what a great experience to dive directly to the Atlantic from the rocks just inside the hotel perimeter. To return again and again. Congrats for all team!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lourenço T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldeiadafontehotel, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Lourenço T,
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your experience at Aldeia da Fonte.

Thank you on behalf of our team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017

The accommodation is in sort of lodges, rooms set around the grounds amongst trees, close to the sea. Our room was spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little damp as it had no outside window. There was a fridge and a kettle, but no tea or coffee, although we were given tea on request. The setting is beautiful and the gardens are well kept. There is a little trail along the coast and lots of sitting areas to watch for whales or enjoy the sunset. This isolation means, however, that it isn't possible to visit another restaurant for dinner unless you feel like driving. I don't like driving to find my dinner, which is why we ate in their restaurant for the three nights we stayed there.

We found the restaurant food to be of variable quality for dinner. On my first visit, I ordered beetroot ravioli stuffed with goats cheese and olives. I was unable to discern beetroot, goats cheese or olives in any of it. It tastes like cheap pasta stuffed with spinach in a basic tomato sauce, and it was surrounded by soggy cauliflower and carrot pieces. And it was all lukewarm! I complained. The dish was exchanged for the prawn and pasta gratin, which was fine. The next night we selected from the Chinese menu, and the dishes were tasty and generous. On our final night, we opted for a relaxed dinner of burgers in the bar area of the restaurant, which was quite quiet and atmospheric, being dimly lit, with the door open so we could smell the garden and enjoy the gentle breeze. Halfway through our meal, a woman walked in (presumably the owner?), turned on the bright lighting, closed the door, turned on the aircon, and brought in a badly behaved child to eat dinner at one of the other tables. No word to the other guests (us)! Rude.

The breakfasts were quite frankly poor, and brought the idea of self service to a new low. The waitress was rude and unhelpful, refusing to let us or any other guests sit at one of the few tables that were laid with cutlery. Instead, we had to sit at an empty table with crumbs on the cloth, and then go and get our own plates, cutlery and food. The bowls of fruit, scrambled eggs, bread etc were not replenished very often, and when my husband asked for more eggs as the container was down to the last dregs, the waitress glared at him and flounced out to the kitchen, later replenishing said eggs with very bad grace.

Overall the rooms and the setting are excellent. However the restaurant is not of the quality expected, and this, together with the attitude of some of the staff, is disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robonhols466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

For a hotel that does not have air conditioning, this is a super comfortable place to stay. They have ceiling fans over the beds that move the air around quite nice. We also left our window open for fresh air. Our view of the ocean from our veranda, was quite picturesque. Within steps of our room, was the platform down by the ocean where we enjoyed some Super Bock beers and a cigar. The room was great with the mini bar and sink. The bathroom was nice, but their showers are not fully encased with a secondary wall,--it's hard to keep it neat and dry, just need a longer wall lol--. These rooms are not for the handicap due to the hotel grounds and walk ways. You have multiple opportunities to take some awesome pictures on the grounds and walk way's. The food at the hotel was fantastic. We ate there every night and it was awesome every time. Please try the fish skewer. It had a white fish, squid and shrimp on it and OMG it was amazing. It was served with a vegetable, potato and a salad too. Also tried the ravioli, the Chinese menu, black pork stuffed with prawns and sausage, and you gotta have the octopus salad!! --Never thought I'd eat that, but wholly macaroni lol it is something I must learn to make---I also managed to have some on Terceira and Sao Miguel lol. We opted not to swim in the ocean...even though there is access. It was really rocking & rolling but they do have a lovely pool. (see pic's) But I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends. Oh, and Paulo at the front desk, is indeed, an asset to Aldeia de Fonte Nature Resort. He is very helpful and he is a true gift to have. Thank you all for a great stay and a place I can call my 2nd home. We will return. Yay!!!

Room tip: Had a 1st floor ocean view room & veranda. No AC (ceiling fans over beds) They really don't have bugs, so open your window to hear the ocean
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We didn't stay at this hotel because we only made a day trip to Pico, but had lunch at the restaurant and were quite pleased. Although it was raining a little we could still eat outside and enjoy the garden view. The food was pleasant and there was a wide variety of dishes, ranging from local dishes to even Chinese food. I had Chinese and liked it a lot. Would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jill7394u48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews