We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak”
Review of Alcides

Alcides
Ranked #72 of 398 Restaurants in Sao Miguel
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best places in Sao Miguel to try the regional specialty (Steak). I ate the steak at the alcides and it was divine. The space and the service are also very good. Highly recommend without a doubt!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 696 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018

The restaurant is known for their steak so that’s what I had. I thought it was good but it was too salty for my taste. The restaurant does not typically offer vegetarian options but they cooked up a plate of veggies for my companion who enjoyed them tremendously.
There were a number of people turned away because they didn’t have a reservation. It’s another restaurant with seatings at 7pm and 9pm.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 1finesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Alcides was recommended by our travel agent as a great place to get a traditional steak so we decided to try it for dinner. The person who sat us and waiting on us was horribly rude and unwelcoming. There was already bread sat out on the table, which we found odd and we were unsure how long it had been there.
We all ordered the steak and it was tender but way too salty and not very flavorful (other than the salt). It was served with fries (like everything in the Azores) which were ok.
We were all very disappointed in the food but the rude service was the reason I would not recommend eating here.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenV65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

After a full morning at sea we decided to have a late lunch at Alcides. Steak for everyone! It was delicous! Very soft and moist and the french fries were homemade which was great.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaquelGouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Great service, reasonably priced, and delicious food in a pretty setting. Steak is a must order. Located in central Ponta Delgado.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nkeshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcides also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Alcides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing