We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
224
187
47
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
187
47
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinner buffetsao miguelponta delgadaplenty of sunbedsprivate balconybeautiful hotellarge poolpace of lifegood sizea la carte menustayed here for nightsmass tourismcliff toprelaxing vacationhired a carking sizelots of parking
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 466 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Peaceful, secluded, beautiful. What more could you want?

The hotel overlooks the ocean and every room has a balcony and a great view. There are many family/group areas on the main floor, a kids play area, several open use balconies, a library with books in 6 or 7 languages, a pool, a second floor bar for after dinner use, a pool restaurant with a lighter menu, a great breakfast buffet, and a dinner buffet at 28 euros per person. The location is great too. It's out of the tourist and cruise ship hustle bustle of Ponta Delgado and within reasonable driving distance of the rest of the island. The only slight downside is the dinner buffet. After one night, we had our fill of buffet entrees and ate elsewhere at much lower cost that better suited our taste buds. But there were plenty of others that filled the dining room every night, so decide for yourselves.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jazzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalouraHotelResort, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Caloura Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for you sharing your experience while in our company.
We are glad to know you had a peaceful holiday in our Resort and we hope to welcome you once again soon!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Just spent a wonderful week at the Caloura Hotel Resort. Perfect location right on the ocean with every room facing the gorgeous view. Sunsets were spectacular!
The entire staff at Reception, in the Restaurant and Cafe and Housekeeping were all superb! Everyone was very attentive and very helpful and always had a smile to greet you. There is lots of parking, a beautiful pool and tennis court. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Sao Miguel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andram27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalouraHotelResort, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Caloura Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments! We really appreciate it and will pass them to all of our team.
We will be waiting for you in your next visit to the Azores :)
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

The hotel seemed pretty good when we booked it but we were even more surprised when we got here. The ocean view rooms are amazing. The room is pretty good with big windows. Even at night the room is amazing. Just crack open the window and let the ocean noise in.
The staff were all pretty nice and the breakfast is above average.

The pool is also great. Right on top of the ocean.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank LourencoRsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalouraHotelResort, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Caloura Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Dear Mr. Lourenço,
It was with a great pleasure that we read your review.
It's really nice to know that you felt surprise :)
We really hope to welcome you again.
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Caloura is in a beautiful spot right on the water with amazing view of the sea. They also have a nice garden walk down on the way to the ocean. We had a great stay here. The staff are very nice and helpful. Check in was super easy and quick. The hotel is located about a 20 minute drive from the airport and its in a very queit location which we liked. It is also situated sort of middle ground for hitting all the best tourist spots on the island. I would definitely recommend renting a car if staying here though, there is tons of free parking at the hotel. The rooms are big, clean, and all have gorgeous ocean views. The breakfast buffet was good and had a fair variety of choices. We ate one dinner at the hotel and it was good but much more expensive than meals elsewhere. The wifi could be a little slow at times but it was free so no real complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalouraHotelResort, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Caloura Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much in behalf of our staff :)
We are happy to now that you enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel and that you are planning to return.
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Had two pleasant nights in November. Room was clean and with breathtaking seaview. the bed was comfortable. Left the Hotel at 4:45 and they arranged a breakfeast buffet from 4:15. Price at the bar was moderate. You must have a car to get there. Taxi to Ponta Delgada was about 40 €

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank friedberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalouraHotelResort, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Caloura Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews