We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
231
190
47
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
190
47
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sao miguel dinner buffet ponta delgada plenty of sunbeds every evening large pool pace of life beautiful hotel a la carte menu good size private balcony lots of parking stayed here for nights mass tourism peaceful stay cliff top hire car
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 476 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed the last 2 weeks of August & had a wonderful time at Caloura -
Great balcony room-panoramic Atlantic view, superb big clean saltwater pool, plenty of loungers, calm relaxing atmosphere, set in lovely grounds - all the ingredients needed for a great holiday.
All the staff are terrific, friendly, polite, efficient and extremely proud of both their spotless hotel, and of their island. Their dedication and long hours really make this hotel what it is. The food is uniformly excellent in presentation and variety at breakfast, evening buffet, and also in the snack bar. We liked especially the Azorean Friday buffet evenings, folk dancing one week, the Agua de Pau brass band the next.There are also musicians during the week playing Azorean music at sunset. Also, listen out for the Cagarros :-)
This hotel is, in our opinion, excellent and can be recommended without hesitation, and we would love to return.
Obrigado Caloura.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jim_e_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, every need catered for, contemporary decor, spotlessly clean, helpful staff. Food great - ample breakfast, bar menu all day, in evening choice of buffet or a la carte menu in restaurant. Swimming pool and sun loungers perfect with ocean view. Would definitely recommend for couples or families with older children.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Norts200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the perfect location when visiting Sao Miguel. The grounds were so beautiful and well-maintained. Every room has an ocean view. The morning breakfast buffet is free and had a great variety of foods. The hotel was very clean and the staff is very nice. The pool is huge and beautiful. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 524lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The location of the hotel will take your breath away! In the dining room you can enjoy the ocean view and eat delicious food. What is absolutely amazing is the cleanliness everywhere in the hotel.Tthere is absolutely no problem for staff to help in any situation. I had a problem with delivering a car from Ilha Verde, the receptionist immediately contacted them. We had a room on the ground floor 017, it is better to be upstairs, but all rooms are facing the ocean, spacious, new bathroom. The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent, the food is excellent and the waiters always very professional. A short walk from the hotel is a very nice beach with calm sea and quite acceptable water temperature which surprised us. I thank the all hotel team for my overall impression of the Azores Islands. It is just fantastic. If I get back Caloura will be my choice again.

Room tip: Rooms in the 2 nd floor
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mirka666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

I booked a room here and realized directly after that the location was incorrect (I wasn't going to be on this island) and called the hotel immediately to cancel the reservation. The hotel manager was curt and rude and refused to give me a credit for the room. I find this to be extremely unprofessional and very dishonest. HORRIBLE!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellesmithc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews