We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antillia Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Antillia is a very nice hotel hidden back from the main streets of Ponta Delgada. Yes, it's easy to drive right past the first time but it's not that big a deal. The hotel itself is nice and the staff friendly. I had 2 big complaints: 1) the beds are hard as a rock and very uncomfortable. I'd hope they consider replacing them at some point. 2) My travel plans got delayed by 24 hours because of a cancelled flight but the hotel was not willing to accommodate that by either shifting my stay back a day or refunding the night I wasn't there. Given the hotel was clearly not full that was disappointing.

All in all, nice place. Could be nicer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest,
First, let me thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We are sorry about the situation you faced and we’ll do our best to improve on future situations.
But we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff.
Thank you for your preference.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Antillia hotel is "hidden" from the street behind a short passage that is one of the things that are more commented in TripAdvisor as a negative point. My recommendation is not to take this into account. The passage is not more than 20 mts long and after all you are not going to go through more than twice a day. Once you get to the hotel, you have every possible service (two pools, Spa, gym), excellent service and great rooms. For families it is a Must. We stayed in a duplex for six with two bathrooms, two living rooms, two terraces and one kitchen that made us feel absolutely at home. It was thoroughly cleaned and set every day, so we had a perfect holiday. Two minutes walking distance from the port, the promenade, and the market, and five from the beautiful town center. Couldn't ask for more, if you consider the price difference for a big group and similar services.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank lola760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Estimada LoLa,
Antes de mais quero agradecer por ter dedicado um pouco do seu tempo a nos escrever este seu comentário, extremamente positivo ao Antillia.
Ficamos muito satisfeitos por saber que conseguimos satisfazer as suas expectativas e que contribuímos para que tivessem umas boas férias na nossa magnífica ilha.
Pode acreditar que é para conseguirmos satisfazer as necessidades dos nossos clientes que trabalhamos dia após dia.
Teremos todo o gosto em voltar a recebê-la no nosso hotel, ou em qualquer outro hotel do nosso Grupo, Ciprotur. Certamente que ficaria igualmente satisfeita.
Tudo de bom,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very tidy and clean with lovely accommodating staff. It seems big but is quiet and calm; that's just right for us! The pool area is pretty and away from the noise of Ponta Delgado hidden as it is down an arched entrance.
We'd really like to thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Lisa,
It is we who want to thank you for choosing us!
Everyday, our staff makes everything as possible to give a wonderful experience to our guests. So, it is with great pleasure that we read your review.
We hope to see you again.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Located downtown, a five minute walk to the marina with free parking, beautiful landscaping, and excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms perfectly adequate. Would tate 4 or 5 stars but for the bar, where I was served shoe polish-tasting greenish liquid poured from a Pernod bottle. It was not Pernod nor any other similar drink: did not turn cloudy when water added. I do not appreciate this fraudulent behavior. It also tasted disgusting. This was not unusual in the bar: my daughter (age 27) was given a gin martini apparently made with pineapple gin instead of the real thing. Was undrinkable. Later she tried a gin and tonic and was charged nearly twice the listed price. Not good.
So, stay at hotel but keep away from bar and you will be fine on this lovely island.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank afainberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gerente de relações públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing Antillia and thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel but we’re sorry to hear our bar service did not meet your expectations.
We’ll check with our staff in order to ensure our quality service is present at all times.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for six nights and really enjoyed it. During low season, so it was nice to have it a little quiet.

Free parking, free wifi (spotty at times, but wasn't terrible), fitness centre (part of a public club) kettle in room with mugs and spoons (but no coffee or tea). In room safe (charged per day and a 15euro deposit for key that you get back). Mini fridge.

Room was very clean and tidied up nice everyday. All of the staff was amazing - we had a few baggage issues with one of our airlines and they helped us call and speak in Portuguese.

Since it was low season, we filled out a form and breakfast was delivered to our room. It was quite good. Since there was two of us, we did a continental style and a more healthier option. Again, staff was great in helping us decipher items on menu. We did not eat here for any meals apart from breakfast.

Hotel tricky to get t by car, but after a few tries easy. And is walkable to "downtown" through the cobble streets. Felt safe.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kateaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you liked your stay, in particularly our room cleanness, breakfast, free parking, fitness center and our staff.

Our team will be very pleased knowing that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope we have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel.

Greetings from Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Not sure how this place receives such great reviews, we were thoroughly disappointed. We drove around the city for 2 hours trying to find the hotel and finally a nearby shopkeeper had to show us where the small tunnel access was. We arrived to find this was not even close to being a 4-star hotel. The fitness facilities are shared with the community, and busy when we were there, and the pool was not very warm. The room was clean but the smell of it was a mixture of sewage and a musty basement, we all had stuffy noses within an hour or so. The mattress was extra firm to say the least with dollar store quality pillows. To top it all off we went for the breakfast buffet the morning of checkout only to find out a booking the day before was required. A beautiful, big restaurant sat empty at 9 am on a Saturday morning and we weren't allowed in - definitely not 4 stars! We stayed in 2 other hotels on the island and they were both amazing so there are much better choices.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyfamilytrave2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed at this property for two weeks over Christmas 2016. The room was spacious and clean. Fit our family of four needs perfectly. A few notes:
1. Housekeeping staff lovely and accommodating.
2. Front desk staff not overly friendly but efficient.
3. Indoor pool was chilly and high chlorine levels but very clean and not so crowded.
4. Nice room for kids to play and pool table.
5. Always found a parking spot, although the access is a little tricky.
6. Great central location.
7. Decor is a little dated but not bad. Could use some updates.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room with patio access which was a huge plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carriehuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.4 km away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
697 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
725 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Ponta Delgada
#10 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
513 reviews
1.5 km away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
831 reviews
30.6 km away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antillia Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antillia Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Peru 105, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-340, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $85 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antillia Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antillia Aparthotel is located at the center of the city of Ponta Delgada, São Miguel Island, in a priviledged area in harmony with the existing landscape. Ideal for families, business and leisure. In this Aparthotel there are 47 apartments, one of them is wheelchair acessible, 6 rooms and 1 suite. All rooms have air conditioning, free wifi access, cable TV and private WC with amenities such as shower gel and champoo. Antillia Aparthotel has wide common spaces, gardens, terraces and balconies with magnificent views. It offers iddylic conditions for events. Furthermore, it has free private parking, a gym, indoor and exterior pool and a Spa. Smoking is only allowed on outside areas. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antillia Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antillia Aparthotel Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing