We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Hotels.com
US$109
US$88
View deal
SAVE US$21
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-18
PricelineUS$109
Agoda.comUS$109
eDreamsUS$109
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
74
8
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
8
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews almond tart spent three nights yogurt countess island accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 88 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2019 via mobile

On my first visit to São Miguel I had the pleasure to stay at this lovely and charming house.
The island has plenty of things to do outside the city however and despite the excellent location of the house, we found an extremely clean bedrooms, beautifully decorated where you can rest comfortably and quietly in the night.
In the morning the breakfast is waiting for you with many tasty products from the region, tasty homemade cakes and every day you have a different variety showing the extra care from the staff up to the smallest details.
Another detail which made the difference is the care and tips you receive from Dra. Eduarda or any other staff in the breakfast, reception ensuring you have a perfect vacation.
What I valued most is the cozy feeling of being like at home, was difficult to leave the breakfast calm and tasty moment! And was a pleasure returning ‘home’ at end of day!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CrisP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is the former home of a countess and it is absolutely lovely and sparkling clean. All of the staff here goes the extra mile to be friendly and helpful with everything. Morning breakfasts are delicious with a wonderful variety of pastries, yogurts, and hot items. The almond tart was a favorite. The hotel is in a perfect location for touring the city. We enjoyed a fabulous vacation! We’re coming back when the hydrangea are in full bloom.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SharonC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

We'll be waiting for you next year ... and the hydrangea too!
Thank you so much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2019

We spent three nights at this wonderful guesthouse in August. The location is perfect for exploring Ponta Delgada and is only a few minutes stroll to the seafront or into the centre. Despite the almost continual rain we enjoyed our stay. Our flight was delayed and despite arriving about 2 in the morning we were greeted at the gate and assisted to our room without any fuss or formalities. The friendly service continued throughout our stay ad was initiated by them receiving and accommodating our two hire bikes on the day of our arrival. The buffet breakfast was delicious and varied every day of our stay. The whole house and been recently very tastefully refurbished and everywhere was kept meticulously clean. I cannot praise this guesthouse enough and highly recommend it for a stay in Ponta Delgada.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

It was so good to receive you in our House!
Thank you so much for your review
We always want to improve our service and your opinion is very important to us.
We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2019

My wife and I were in room 3 and my sister was in room 1. Both rooms were really cute. Breakfast was top notch (and we stayed a lot of other places in Portugal with good breakfasts, but this was one of our favorites). But the people working there were just so cool. Loved talking to them, and hearing the story of this wonderfully renovated building. Also they talked to others which then led to different guests coming together and discussing fun things to do in Ponta Delgada. And there are some great things within walking distance like the FREE botanical garden which was incredible. (We didn't make it to the paid botanical garden but it is hard to believe that it could be better than the free one!)

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
We love to prepare for our guests a delicious and super fresh breakfast.
There is no better way to start a day with a smile on your face!
Come back, you are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2019

We went on a big family vacation to celebrate my in-laws' 50th anniversary. The first leg of the trip was on Sao Miguel Island in the Azores. I found THE MOST AMAZING tour guide there, who booked us this bed and breakfast. (The tour guide is Lisa Ringelberg, and if you are planning a trip, you would be immensely relieved you asked her for help - her email is ring7lisa@hotmail.com; you will NOT be disappointed.) So the bed and breakfast itself is in Ponta Delgada, a short drive from the airport. We arrived very early in the morning (7 a.m.-ish) and were extremely jetlagged. We received the warmest welcome from Martha and Anna. Also, we were able to reserve one room for our entire party for the night prior so that we at least had somewhere to freshen up and hang out while we waited for everyone's rooms to be prepared on the morning of our arrival. We had breakfast that morning there as well. (This was a big family trip ... so needless to say, not everyone necessarily cooperated, hahaha; some of us were ousted from the room while others took the space for their own ...) Long story short, Martha and Rafaela knew the rest of us were all so tired, and they did their absolute best to work hard to clean the rooms for the rest of us so that we were able to get in by 2 p.m. We were thrilled. The building itself is beautifully refurbished. There is coffee, tea from the island, fruit infused water, and little cookies in the foyer to anyone take at any time. The breakfast room on the first floor has comfortable chairs to lounge around in if you like during the day/evening. Breakfast itself is deeeeelicious - homemade cake or torte of some kind every day (the almond tart was completely amazing); homemade breads and rolls; beautiful little egg tarts; Azorean cheeses, fresh juice, island fruit - just awesome. The beds were comfortable, the vibe is very homey and cozy and friendly. The bathrooms are a little bit tight and short on counter space, but the shower itself is great. If you need anything (washcloths, extra towels), just ask. The staff would call us taxis when we needed them to get somewhere beyond walking distance; they were always friendly and warm. Most of all, they coped with my husband's very rowdy, very large group of family members. I KNOW we were partying a little too hard some nights (!), so I want to say thank you for making us feel comfortable and welcome. Eduarda, we miss you very much and send you hugs, to you, to Josef, to all the ladies who work for you and do such an amazing job. It is an absolutely magical place and we would return in a heartbeat. THANK YOU!!

Room tip: The room with the balcony right out front is lovely and cozy!
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdionjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

So good, truly good, read your review ....
The whole team really worked hard to always make our guests' stays fantastic!
We want everything to be very special,
The whole team says thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews