We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Hotels.com
US$109
US$83
View deal
SAVE US$26
Expedia.com
US$109
US$83
View deal
SAVE US$26
PricelineUS$109
eDreamsUS$109
Agoda.comUS$109
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
74
8
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
8
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews almond tart spent three nights yogurt countess island accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2020 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but everything about the hotel was amazing. The decor throughout is fantastic, the beds comfy, breakfast is delicious and plentiful, the staff are really charming and attentive. It’s in the centre of town so really close to everything and only a €10 taxi from the airport.

I was unwell during our stay and the staff were perfect - really friendly and knew exactly what to do. I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough. 10/10.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T18643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduarda MESQUITA, Gerente geral at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Thank you so much for your review.
It is really important for us and the whole team is super motivated!
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2019 via mobile

On my first visit to São Miguel I had the pleasure to stay at this lovely and charming house.
The island has plenty of things to do outside the city however and despite the excellent location of the house, we found an extremely clean bedrooms, beautifully decorated where you can rest comfortably and quietly in the night.
In the morning the breakfast is waiting for you with many tasty products from the region, tasty homemade cakes and every day you have a different variety showing the extra care from the staff up to the smallest details.
Another detail which made the difference is the care and tips you receive from Dra. Eduarda or any other staff in the breakfast, reception ensuring you have a perfect vacation.
What I valued most is the cozy feeling of being like at home, was difficult to leave the breakfast calm and tasty moment! And was a pleasure returning ‘home’ at end of day!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CrisP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is the former home of a countess and it is absolutely lovely and sparkling clean. All of the staff here goes the extra mile to be friendly and helpful with everything. Morning breakfasts are delicious with a wonderful variety of pastries, yogurts, and hot items. The almond tart was a favorite. The hotel is in a perfect location for touring the city. We enjoyed a fabulous vacation! We’re coming back when the hydrangea are in full bloom.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SharonC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

We'll be waiting for you next year ... and the hydrangea too!
Thank you so much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2019

We spent three nights at this wonderful guesthouse in August. The location is perfect for exploring Ponta Delgada and is only a few minutes stroll to the seafront or into the centre. Despite the almost continual rain we enjoyed our stay. Our flight was delayed and despite arriving about 2 in the morning we were greeted at the gate and assisted to our room without any fuss or formalities. The friendly service continued throughout our stay ad was initiated by them receiving and accommodating our two hire bikes on the day of our arrival. The buffet breakfast was delicious and varied every day of our stay. The whole house and been recently very tastefully refurbished and everywhere was kept meticulously clean. I cannot praise this guesthouse enough and highly recommend it for a stay in Ponta Delgada.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

It was so good to receive you in our House!
Thank you so much for your review
We always want to improve our service and your opinion is very important to us.
We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2019

My wife and I were in room 3 and my sister was in room 1. Both rooms were really cute. Breakfast was top notch (and we stayed a lot of other places in Portugal with good breakfasts, but this was one of our favorites). But the people working there were just so cool. Loved talking to them, and hearing the story of this wonderfully renovated building. Also they talked to others which then led to different guests coming together and discussing fun things to do in Ponta Delgada. And there are some great things within walking distance like the FREE botanical garden which was incredible. (We didn't make it to the paid botanical garden but it is hard to believe that it could be better than the free one!)

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDUARDA-MESQ, Gerente at Casa das Palmeiras Charming House - Azores 1901, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
We love to prepare for our guests a delicious and super fresh breakfast.
There is no better way to start a day with a smile on your face!
Come back, you are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews