We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
61
85
46
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
85
46
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry items front desk staff large bedroom small mall balcony overlooking the harbour bread double bed small fridge main lobby daily maid service hotel lobby living room perfect location bad coffee bacon an excellent hotel bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 210 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The staff was professional and helpful; the breakfast offered varied choices and the location of the property is convenient for walking to sights of interest.

The property is rated and the signage above the property name indicates 4 stars, I do not agree with the rating for the following reasons: no refrigerator in the room, more importantly the condition of the room. No floor transition piece from the bathroom floor to the room living space; bathroom tub tile screwed (yes, screwed) to the bathtub; floor between the toilet and bathroom requires cleaning (black substance along the tub base); water line under the sink did not have a wall plate; both window black out curtain (not curtains) were one half the width of the window; the same is true for the window sheer; upon entering the room look to the far right wall and follow the (for example language only) blisters in the plaster/dry wall; lastly the noise from the dining area/bar, front desk area, and elevator/stair well can be clearly heard on the first room level (rooms begin just up a short flight of stairs; the elevator door opens to the right of the flight of stairs).

Again, my lesser rating is based on the room, the property location; food offerings and the staff all receive a better rating.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank cperibanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Cperibanez

Thank you for your review and rating on Tripadvisor.
We have made a record of your comments, but it's quite difficult for us to know in which room you were staying as we are not able to find your name or the date of your reservation. If you could please provide us this information it would be much appreciated.
Considering the well being of all our guests, the Hotel is planning a remodeling in the beggining of 2019.

Kind regards,
Victoria Medeiros (Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Recently returned from an amazing family vacation in Sao Miguel. We set up our “home base” in Ponte Delgata as we had read this was central on the island. On this trip we’re two 70- something’s, a 45 year old and a 21 year old. Thanks to Henrique at the hotel, we all had amazing dinners each night and fabulous intel on things to do to please each family member. We cannot thank him enough- and thank Carolina for our favorite dinner spot as well!
Yes, the rooms are older- we had two one bedroom apartments. But the cleanliness and atmosphere more than made up for it. Breakfast was superb and the staff tried to vary it a bit each day. To repeat what others said the location was unbeatable!
We would only stay here again on a return visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear, Marley B.
Thank you for your comment and rating and for staying in our hotel. We're very satisfied that we could help you to have the most enjoyable experience on S. Miguel island.
We'll see you again in a near future, hopefully.
Our best regards, João Craveiro (Frontdesk - Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We were there for a week in July and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the front desk went out of their way to help book tours, give directions and offer good advice on local restaurants. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the marina.

Room tip: Make sure you book a room with a front viewing balcony
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear rowean5.
We want to thank you for selecting our hotel and for your comment. We're very happy that you had such a good stay with us. Hope to see you again in a near future.
Our best regards, João Craveiro (Front Desk Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in the perfect location for experiencing Ponta Delgada on foot. It is located on the waterfront close to the main attractions of the city and to many fabulous restaurants. Our room was very large, comfortable and spotless complete with TV, fridge, safe. The daily breakfast offerings in a spacious dining area were delicious including breads, cheeses, fruit, eggs.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We recommend a stay in this hotel and would book here once again while in Ponta Delgada.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ariafugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

It was the best price around the town for what it is.Old fashion and dated rooms in need of a touch up,especially the balconies.Make sure to ask for a double bed if you want one.
Staff were really helpful, breakfast was very good and a lot of variety.Room is spacious and bathroom is nice.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 689nealf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Neal,
Thank you for your review and for your comments. We are planning to renovate and improve our facilities in a near future but we are pleased to know that you still had a good stay with us. Thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel.
Best Regards,
Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews